We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good All Round” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Woodmans Arms

The Woodmans Arms
Rayleigh Road, Thundersley SS7 3TA, England
+44 1268 775799
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Bistro, Family Fare, Gastropub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: If you are looking for individual pubs with great character, fantastic beer, delicious food and excellent service - look no further than The Empire Pub Company. Our pubs are the perfect place to enjoy a broad and interesting range of fantastic cask-conditioned and craft beers. We offer an interesting range of bottled beers, craft ales and lagers from around the UK and across the world. Whether you are looking for excellent lunches and dinners, or lighter dishes and sharing plates, we have tempting menus of delicious dishes freshly prepared at every pub by our talented chefs and their teams, using only the freshest ingredients, locally sourced whoever possible. We are able to cater for private parties and events which we would be more than happy to give you details for. No great pub experience is complete without great people - and we pride ourselves in offering truly excellent service in all of our pubs. We have well motivated and experienced managers running our pubs working alongside a great team of house, and kitchen staff. We are a great place to work and we are always looking for good talented staff to work in our team. Empire Pubs are focused on providing high-quality service and customer satisfaction - we will do everything we can to meet your expectations. Look around our website and if you have any comments or questions, please feel free to contact us. We hope to see you again very soon
Essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good All Round”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I have visited the Woodmans Arms on a handful of occasions for just a drink, I tend to go more for lunch/ dinner. It provides a lovely pub lunch but with a little bit extra.

The decor and atmosphere make you feel that you are somewhere better than 'just a pub', yet it is not too pricy. You get good value for money, the portions are quite large too! (especially the fish and chips).

Would recommend for a romantic lunch or a catch up with friends.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    22
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Decent pub food at good London Restaurant prices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Dined here on a Friday night just before Christmas with my husband and had high hopes for this place having seen the menu online beforehand and reading the reviews.

To say we were disappointed is an understatement. It was a busy Friday night and the pub section of the Woodman's was packed and there was a singer in the corner crooning out a load of cover songs. It was far too loud for a pub, let alone for a pub with a dining area which acted as a restaurant. When we were seated, we actually asked to be moved somewhere quieter as we couldn't hear ourselves think, but it was still too loud.

The food itself was nice but for the price, we were incredibly disappointed - it was basically good wholesome pub food and restaurant prices. We left with our wallets feeling a lot lighter and to be honest, I'm not sure we would dine there again, definitely not on a night when there's 'entertainment'!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benfleet
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“very very very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This should by rights be number 1, we went today, service very good, choice very good, food excellent, price very good, even though this restaurant is in benfleet, the entire experience was very Leigh (people who eat out in leigh will understand) very enjoyable thanku Woodmans!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor Value and Poor Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The Woodmans used to be a nice community focused welcoming public house. It's now over priced and unwelcoming. The food was little more than average. The menu is not what I would consider 'Gastro Pub' and the service is certainly not worthy of the over inflated prices that are charged for drinks. Arriving in the hope of having a couple of drinks before eating was a waste of time. The seats were full and standing at the bar listening to someone continually use the ''C" word about someone they worked with was pretty off putting. This was obviously a stop off on the way home from work.. There was a spare table where by the easting area which was covering it food crumbs. With no option this was the only place to sit. It was not cleaned for the duration.
Would we go back to this place? Not a chance. The management only seems interested in people who look like they may have money to spend. I certainly wont be spending mine here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

There was 4 of us , went fist week in December on a Saturday night. Warm welcome, had a set menu . Food was piping hot, presentation very good, I had calves liver, was to die for. Music was a man signing, playing keyboard, and guitar, easy listening just a tad too loud for me. Service was good, a very good night had by all

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woodmans Arms also viewed

 
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 

Been to The Woodmans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Woodmans Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.