We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Royal Palm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
micihigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We stayed at the Royal Palm Beach Resort and we could not have had a better experience. The hotel is a very short drive from the airport. We had Unity car rental pick us up at the airport .Unity's lot is less than a two min. from the hotel (Unity takes you back also). The greeting at the front desk was warm and friendly. Check in was quick and the next thing you know you are in your room with an unbelievable view of the carribean sea. The room was very clean. Two large bedrooms with seperate baths. A fully stocked kitchen. Dining area with a living room....sleep is easy with the ocean surf in the background..
The Resort dining is very good. If you want to step out just walk across the street. Several great dining establishments with in walking distance (recommend Skipjacks and try the tuna). With the rental car you can explore the island and its beaches. A must visit is Orient beach...rated best beach in the world and I would have to seconded that....you can rent two lounge chairs with an umbrella for ($20 and comes with a waiter !!!) The only negative was traffic.....allow extra driving time wherever you go......check airlines for travel deals....we got a good deal on delta....the airport is new and very efficent also......best vacation in a long time

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    233
    57
    26
    22
See reviews for
179
169
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

Stayed here beginning of April 2009 and my wife and I loved it. Exchanged our timeshare in Florida for a week here. 2nd time to St.Maarten, 1st time here. They placed the two of us in a THREE bedroom end suite. I'm talking 3 bedrooms with 3 full baths, full kitchen. We couldn't have been happier. Fantastic view. They only have two and three bedroom suites.
We rented a car for the week, very reasonable prices, no need to set up in advance, you have every rental company at the airport. We had good luck with the two different companies we used both visits. A car is a must. You have to travel the island and visit all the great beaches. Bring a soft side cooler and pack it every day before you leave. Because you have a full size fridge, go to the main grocery store in Phillipsburg and stock up on everything you need. They have all the American beers and wines and food. Prices no different than the states.
There are many restaurants in walking distance from the Hotel. The food at the Hotel is good. We ate there a few times. We have reservations for Feb 19th thru 26th 2010. Can't wait.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

This is the first time I have written a review on any place I have stayed, but my family and I had a terrible experience with the Royal Palm that I wanted to share so that you could possibly prevent something similar from happening..

We did an exchange to this resort through our timeshare (they are part of the same group as our timeshare in Mexico) and when we arrived, we found that the resort have overbooked numerous rooms and that several families were affected. My husband and 1 year old baby had to wait in the lobby for over three hours for a manager who could help us since there was nobody on site that could do anything for us, and we were not alone. There were at least 4 other parties that were experiencing the same thing, all of which who had prepaid or had done a timeshare exchange.

The desk staff was so unhelpful and, after a very long wait by all parties, their solution was to send all of us to another resort, not beachside, for the night and then hope that there might be rooms available the next day, no guarantee. We asked to just be placed in another resort for the entire week, so we did not have to keep switching our rooms, but were even given pushback when we requested this. The only resort available was a casino resort not on the beach, but it was pretty nice.

I am not certain if this is a common occurrence wth this resort, but I would be very cautious with booking here unless you want to take the chance of encountering a similar situation. It was not a good way to start a vacation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We were in St Maarten in Nov. 2009 and had a great time. We have stayed at both Flamingo beach and Royal Palm Beach and prefer Royal Palm Beach. Both are nice but Royal Palm is within walking distance to dining, and night life. Plus they have Jesse James at the front desk. He is the best. We do quite a bit of traveling (4-5 trips a year) to all parts of the world. Always on the water mainly to scuba dive. I have read the reviews and how some people complain about frivolous little things. Some folks just need to stay at only 5 star resorts which are great but not always as fun. So here is my quick review of RPB. The facility is clean, the rooms are big and the views are awesome. Yes there can be mosquitos, keep the sliding doors shut after you go out and bring some bug repellant and you will be fine. The pool is a little small but your not swimming around anyway. The beach is a little rocky going in so just wear some old sneakers if you have tender toes. Splash jewelry is on premises and very competitive with Phillipsburg and you can trust them. CATION: its very easy to spend way more than your hole trip costs in there (I have). You have to go to ZeeBest (Just done the street) for breakfast crepes. Yes the tip when dining can be included in the bill but may or may not go to your waiter (sometimes the owner will take it), it will normally say on the menu or you can ask who gets it.. Do rent a car. There is too much to see to take just local transportation. Most the cars already have dents,you can get around the hole island in a few hours with stops and if you get lost you are never far from the main road. Turn around and go back the way you came. Karaoke night at the pool bar and the upstairs bar is always fun. The scuba diving is good on St Maarten but great on Saba. You can fly winair (15 min.) cheaper than taking the boat ( 1 hr.). They have a pick up at their own dock at RPB if you are going across to any Aqua mania adventure (very convenient). Again, the staff is great. We have lots of options in our travels but will be back at Royal Palms the first of March. Go have fun, relax, your on Vacation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Sk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed 18 nights at the Royal Palm, and had a great time. The room was very clean, spacious, quiet and safe. The staff are very friendly, special tks to Bart, Singh and Jesse, who went out of the their way to make sure we were always enjoying ourselves!!

The resort is only 10 minutes from the airport. We had rented a car from Tropicana Car Rental who were at the airport when we arrived.

There are many great restaraunts in the immediate area; Lee's, Pizza Galley, Green House, Buccaneer, Pineapple Pete's just to name a few.

The beach at the resort is a little rocky when you first go in so it was not our first choice. But there are other beaches only 10 minutes away; Simpson Bay Beach, Mullet Bay and Maho Bay.

The resort provided to us with 'relaxation in paradise' which is what we wanted. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Beautiful accomodations, great location (walking distance to everything you could need.
There with our Son and Daughter-In-Law....we all loved it ! A few rocks going in the water...but no big deal. Good snorkelling...quite bay... breathtaking views and sunsets right from your room...every room! Restaurant on site had great breakfast and dinner..as good as any anywhere we had. Nice room, comfy beds..lots of extra linens, room safe (did get billed $1 a day on bill) A few vendors on the beach.....awesome Aloe (head to toe) massage....got for $20. There were mosquitos....Take some OFF. Weather was picture perfect dispite the long range forecasts before we left home...or in the lobby...if you'd like a more accurate forescast..check the Carribean Weather site....we saw a whole 10 minute downpour the whole week! Pizza Gallery across the road great pizza...Lee's great ribs and cole slaw... (bit pricey menu..but good food) Great little bars for entertainment within walking distance. For $1 you can catch local buses to take you just about anywhere. Fun time at the Simpson Bay Sunset Bar near Airport....planes literally fly "just overhead"...quite the experience ! Cheri's Cafe in Maho Bay...a MUST DO...Great Surf and Turf....and TONS OF LAUGHS (closed Tuesdays) Beautiful Island and people....looking forward to our next visit !!
.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We stayed a week at the Royal Palm. We got a great deal through Expedia with airfare. We found the condo to be very clean but we were on the ground floor and there was a damp murky odor by the door when you entered. We also had a lot of misquitoes. I would suggest asking for a place on a higher floor when you first arrive. I would also suggest bringing some bug repellant. The beds were very comfortable and we had great maid service. The location is good because it's near to a lot of restaurants. The beach is not the greatest. They have quite a few rocks when entering the water. All in all it was a great vacation. The last thing I'd mentioned is to be sure to check at the restaurants if they include the tip. Most of them did and we did not realize it until the third day. It was especially costly at one of the French restaurants in Grand Case. They eneded up with a 40% tip. Ouch!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.