We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot, great into to the island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Royal Palm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Kearney, Nebraska
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Nice spot, great into to the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent one night there and enjoyed the beach front views. Much better than Nebraska in March. Clean, well appointed rooms. Resturants accross a busy street. Suprisingly quiet rooms. Beach is small, but well protected...good for kids.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    233
    57
    26
    22
See reviews for
179
169
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Resort was clean, staff friendly and lovely views. Beds and pillows are comfortable, kitchen well equipped.
The location is ideal for walking to many harbor restaurants and from here you can pick a different beach around the island each day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are happy to read that you had an pleasurable stay here at Royal Palm Beach Club Resort. It is vital to us to ensure that our guests can enjoy they stay in a hospitable atmosphere and we are pleased that you consider our team members helpful and that you enjoyed both, our location and comfortable accommodation. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at Royal Palm 2/3 - 2/10/13. Our unit was beautiful and had a great view from the living room, one of the bedrooms and the balcony. The unit was nicely furnished and the kitchen had everything we needed. There is a small deli on the property and a market within 1/2 mile. The check in staff was very helpful. This resort is located within walking distance of many restaurants, and has a restaurant on the property as well. They clean the unit every 3rd day and our housekeeping staff did a great job in keeping the unit clean. Our only objection is that people go to the beach and put towels out to reserve their chairs and many of them don't come at all. There are signs posted that you cannot do this but we saw some of local outdoor staff actually putting towels down for some of the guests. If we return to St. Maarten, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: This is a timeshare resort, and I don't think you are able to pick a location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The kitchen was fully stocked but the living room area was pretty outdated. One of the bedrooms had molding behind the head board. The room wasn't in tip top shape, but the balcony view was excellent, loved that. not to many activities, no shows, etc. You must have a car, you drive everywhere, but be prepared to drive on the other side of the road (Americans). My most fun was actually being able to catch a ferry ride to the next country over (Anguilla) that was pretty cool. The resort itself so so... The staff was excellent! Front desk handled everything, they were curteous amd nice. The swim up bar is another excellent feature and there the people are great there to!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Royal Palm. The staff was very helpful, rooms and property well kept. The security was excellent. Wonderful location for the regatta and access to all island attractions. We have been traveling to St. Maarten for many years and were very pleased with this property.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are happy to read that you had an pleasurable stay here at Royal Palm Beach Club Resort. It is vital to us to ensure that our guests can enjoy they stay in a hospitable atmosphere and we are pleased that you consider our team members helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed our central location and comfortable accommodation. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week feb 23 - march 2 and was extremely happy with the friendly staff and convenient location. I would definitely return to this resort.
There was a mosquito issues in the beginning but once we figured out running the ceiling fans minimized it we were ok.
Best resort in the area by far!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are delighted to read that you had such a lovely stay here with us and we hope we will have an opportunity to be of service to you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was the only hotel adjacent to the airport available for just one night. All other nearby hotels required two night minimums and we needed to stay close to the airport as we were in transit to St Barths. The room was paid for in advance but when we checked in at 9PM we were required to sign and approve a $250 credit card voucher for "incidentals" Our room was a 2 bedroom apartment, although we had reserved a standard king room. Accomodations were comfortable, but well worn. Small ants were plentiful on the bathroom floor.
When we checked out early the next morning, we were informed that we owed over $300 for a time sharing fee. Eventually, we got the fee waived and the credit card slip torn up, but it was a very stressful 15 minutes. The reservation had been booked and paid for through Travelocity. If I had not been able to produce my Travelocity receipt, I would have lost the argument at check out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for the misunderstanding which seems to have taken place during your check-out and we apologize for any inconvenience caused due to this. Please be assured, this has been addressed with the appropriate department to guarantee that similar situation will not occur in the future.
We regret to read about the occurrence of ants in the bathroom - we would like to take this opportunity to note that such incidents are not common at Royal Palm Beach Club. Should you have contacted the reception with regards to this issue, our team would do their best to rectify this as soon as possible.
We regret that you have been disappointed with your stay with us, should you decide to give us another chance, we would ensure that you have a faultless and relaxing stay. We wish all the best on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.