We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place, nice location..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cole Bay
Marlton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Friendly place, nice location..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Resort was clean, staff friendly and lovely views. Beds and pillows are comfortable, kitchen well equipped.
The location is ideal for walking to many harbor restaurants and from here you can pick a different beach around the island each day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are happy to read that you had an pleasurable stay here at Royal Palm Beach Club Resort. It is vital to us to ensure that our guests can enjoy they stay in a hospitable atmosphere and we are pleased that you consider our team members helpful and that you enjoyed both, our location and comfortable accommodation. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    212
    53
    24
    18
See reviews for
167
149
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at Royal Palm 2/3 - 2/10/13. Our unit was beautiful and had a great view from the living room, one of the bedrooms and the balcony. The unit was nicely furnished and the kitchen had everything we needed. There is a small deli on the property and a market within 1/2 mile. The check in staff was very helpful. This resort is located within walking distance of many restaurants, and has a restaurant on the property as well. They clean the unit every 3rd day and our housekeeping staff did a great job in keeping the unit clean. Our only objection is that people go to the beach and put towels out to reserve their chairs and many of them don't come at all. There are signs posted that you cannot do this but we saw some of local outdoor staff actually putting towels down for some of the guests. If we return to St. Maarten, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: This is a timeshare resort, and I don't think you are able to pick a location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

The kitchen was fully stocked but the living room area was pretty outdated. One of the bedrooms had molding behind the head board. The room wasn't in tip top shape, but the balcony view was excellent, loved that. not to many activities, no shows, etc. You must have a car, you drive everywhere, but be prepared to drive on the other side of the road (Americans). My most fun was actually being able to catch a ferry ride to the next country over (Anguilla) that was pretty cool. The resort itself so so... The staff was excellent! Front desk handled everything, they were curteous amd nice. The swim up bar is another excellent feature and there the people are great there to!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Royal Palm. The staff was very helpful, rooms and property well kept. The security was excellent. Wonderful location for the regatta and access to all island attractions. We have been traveling to St. Maarten for many years and were very pleased with this property.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are happy to read that you had an pleasurable stay here at Royal Palm Beach Club Resort. It is vital to us to ensure that our guests can enjoy they stay in a hospitable atmosphere and we are pleased that you consider our team members helpful and friendly and that you enjoyed our central location and comfortable accommodation. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week feb 23 - march 2 and was extremely happy with the friendly staff and convenient location. I would definitely return to this resort.
There was a mosquito issues in the beginning but once we figured out running the ceiling fans minimized it we were ok.
Best resort in the area by far!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are delighted to read that you had such a lovely stay here with us and we hope we will have an opportunity to be of service to you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was the only hotel adjacent to the airport available for just one night. All other nearby hotels required two night minimums and we needed to stay close to the airport as we were in transit to St Barths. The room was paid for in advance but when we checked in at 9PM we were required to sign and approve a $250 credit card voucher for "incidentals" Our room was a 2 bedroom apartment, although we had reserved a standard king room. Accomodations were comfortable, but well worn. Small ants were plentiful on the bathroom floor.
When we checked out early the next morning, we were informed that we owed over $300 for a time sharing fee. Eventually, we got the fee waived and the credit card slip torn up, but it was a very stressful 15 minutes. The reservation had been booked and paid for through Travelocity. If I had not been able to produce my Travelocity receipt, I would have lost the argument at check out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry for the misunderstanding which seems to have taken place during your check-out and we apologize for any inconvenience caused due to this. Please be assured, this has been addressed with the appropriate department to guarantee that similar situation will not occur in the future.
We regret to read about the occurrence of ants in the bathroom - we would like to take this opportunity to note that such incidents are not common at Royal Palm Beach Club. Should you have contacted the reception with regards to this issue, our team would do their best to rectify this as soon as possible.
We regret that you have been disappointed with your stay with us, should you decide to give us another chance, we would ensure that you have a faultless and relaxing stay. We wish all the best on your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a timeshare hotel and if you go as a "normal" hotel customer (or as a timeshare owner at another resort) you should be prepared to be treated a class below "owners". The maintenance policy of the hotel is to make sure the maintenance man is seen but to avoid anything that requires any capital investment. They painted all the speed bumps in the parking lot when I was there but the back of the property by the pool is cracked and discoloured with loose wires hanging out and broken lights. The artificial beach needs to be resanded - there are areas of it where you can see the underlying concrete the "beach" was built on. WiFi is very spotty and is limited to the hotel lobby.

The biggest insult is the gym. They offer paid membership to island locals. Luckily St. Maarten is the Friendly Island and they are nice but this is pretty pitiful and I can't think of being at another resort/facility where this is the policy. They don't even use the monetary intake to make sure the facility is nice. All the equipment is ancient, the air conditioning in the main gym was broken, and even basic maintenance was completely ignored (one of the mirrors by weight set broken and they haven't even cleaned up the broken glass, the gym needs a good/thorough clean).

Rooms aren't filthy but there is not attention to detail and no apparent checklist to make sure rooms are in order (i.e. food crumbs in fridge/freezer, toilet base that moves when sat on, patio doors that are very difficult to open, no water pressure in one of the two showers in the unit, inconsistent amenities in each room which we discovered after being forced to move for "an owner" with one night's notice that was received at 11pm the evening before for 10am the next morning with no new room ready to be moved into).

There is no resort feel as they have outsourced the restaurant, bar, and towel services to folks that don't really care about being part of a person's overall resort experience. Most of the clientele is 65 and over and have "been there for years" which probably explains some of the resort's complacency. These people seem to get an extra level of service that your average visitor there shouldn't expect to receive.

The location is near the airport/Maho which is nice but you do need a car if you want to get to an actual beach on the island (or alternatively don't want to scrape for poolside chairs with the grandmas and grandpas who get up at 6am to reserve chairs that they don't use). If you are looking for any type of luxury or service-oriented experience and/or are on a couples getaway you should definitely avoid Royal Palm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;