We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cole Bay
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not all that”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Besides having a great view, calm scenic surroundings and nice staff, Royal Palm resort is not the kind of hotel to stay at if you expect the best (especially if on official government or business trip). Check in time is 4 p.m. -- so if you arrive during morning hours, find something to do before you actually check-in. Even when check-in time arrives, the room was (still) not ready to be occupied (since it was being clean). And by the way, check-out time is 10 a.m.. Yes, you got it! (or is it just me?). It's quite annoying to find out that rooms are not automatically cleaned every day. Getting early morning breakfast would be a welcome addition as would be rooms with no mosquitoes. All in all, I would not recommend this hotel for guests that are not time-share participants. There are a couple of better hotels just around the corner.

Room Tip: Do not book your hotel accommodations via Expedia. You may regret not being able to switch hotel aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Royal Palm Beach with us!

Check-in time is listed on our confirmations and all third-party sites at 4pm, to ensure that our rooms are thoroughly cleaned for our guest arrivals. We are more than happy to check our guests in early, if rooms are available before that time. While delays can occur during periods of high occupancy, we can assure you that we are diligent about ensuring that our rooms are clean and ready by check-in time.

Housekeeping is done mid-week for stays of 7 days or more. If you require additional housekeeping, please contact the front desk for the request.

While we understand that mosquitoes are not welcome guests in your room, they are prominent in the area and can be found all over the island. We recommend that you keep doors and windows closed, when not in your room. You can also leave your screen door closed so that you can enjoy the weather and avoid the intrusion.

We regret that Royal Palm Resort did not fit your needs, but we appreciate the feedback from your stay. Every guest comment, good and bad, is a key to perfecting the experience of future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    199
    55
    23
    17
See reviews for
153
146
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week's stay (February 1-8, 2013) at the Royal Palm Beach Resort on Simpson Bay on the island of St. Maarten. The location is absolutely perfect... three miles from the airport and within very easy walking distance of several very good restaurants. We had a one-bedroom completely furnished condo that was absolutely huge. Appliances were modern, king-sized bed very comfortable. The shower was large, but could use a boost in water pressure. All in all, a great room. Unless you have kids and will be in and out on the beach several times a day, I recommend getting a room on the 4th or 5th floor, ideally on the side of the hotel next to the canal leading into the lagoon. It was quite interesting watching the 200' yachts going in and out of the lagoon! The hotel features a huge gym, gift shops, spa and a deli/market. There's also a supermarket about a 10-minute walk from the resort. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We didn't rent a car.... there really wasn't a need to do so. Taxis are plentiful as are the "local" personal vans that go between Marigot, Maho Beach, Philipsburg. On Monday's the resort offers a guided tour of the island for $20 per person. It was a great bargain considering the tour lasted about 7 hours. Adequate time was spent in Philipsburg on the Dutch side (enough time to know that we wouldn't want to stay there with all of the cruise ships coming in and out every day), Marigot on the French side, lunch at a local restaurant in Grand Case, and ending the tour at the beach at the end of the airport runway to get sand-blasted by the jets taking off. We ate a couple of lunches and one dinner at the resort and the food was delicious. The calamari was some of the best I've ever had. We ate several lunches/breakfasts at the St. Maarten Yacht Club across the street. Breakfast at Zee Best (across from the supermarket) was outstanding. We also ate at Skipjacks, Lee's, Caribbean Flavors and Izi's... all very good. A new Italian restaurant also just opened up in January... Luna Rossa in a modern, white building near the supermarket, and it was superb. Don't bother to take your golf clubs, the course on the island really isn't worth the effort. If you want to play, they have clubs for rent. All in all, we were very pleased with the Royal Palm Beach Resort and will stay there again when we return to the island.

Room Tip: Our room, 413, was next to the elevator and two floors above the lounge, but it really wasn't no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We are delighted to read about the pleasant experience you had here at Royal Palm Beach Resort and we are really glad that you had such a lovely time-thank you for your review and all the valuable tips you have shared with your fellow travellers and our future guests. We hope we will have an opportunity to be of service to you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great location in St Marteen- you can walk to numerous restaurants Skipjack, Lee's and eat at the resort. Do not recommend the eatery near the fish market or the Harbor Queen across the street. You can catch a local bus- mini van if you want to go downtown or rent a car and it will be safe at the resort. The beach is rocky and you may want beach shoes. There is some snorkling around the rocks and especially the back side. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bath.
Every morning you wake up with a balcony with a table for 4 and see Simpson Bay and all the yachts and every evening see the sunset. The rooms are very clean with firm beds, living room holds 6 comfortably, with a big screen tv and cable and there is a full kitchen with dishwasher, icemaker and all cookware. There are several grocery stores close by and a mini market in the shopping center where you can get fresh pastries and bread in the am. There is an excellent selection of french and dutch foods in the stores along with reasonable wine and liquor. They have a gym to work out- one of the few on the island.

The traffice does get bad when the bridge opens- but it is fun to watch the yachts go thru- and traffic is bad at 4-6.
We have stayed here several times and always have a relaxing time.
There are many nicer beaches on the island- Mullet Bay, Orient, Baie Rouge- but do not leave anything in your car!!

Room Tip: Try and get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldred, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed at the Royal Palm at least 5 times. This resort is very accessible to many restaurants(IZI, Lee's, Toppers, Pineapple Pete's) and beaches. And a major plus close to the airport. I have stayed in many places but the rooms at the Royal Palm are top notch. Very spacious. Plus it feels very safe. Also the staff is attentive. Only negative is the noise on the strip(especiallly La Bamba). A good night sleep is 50/50. Otherwise recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

It is near one of the best reastarant on the island. Royal Palms St. Maartin is the BEST place on the island. Scenery location is ideal. Clean nice. You can not stay at a better place. The people there are very friendly. Views are great and beach is nice.

Room Tip: Any room above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Making sure that our guests can relax surrounded by picturesque scenery and in a friendly atmosphere is important to us and we are glad to read that you have spent some memorable moments on the island. We hope we will have an opportunity to be of service to you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is our second time here. My cousin comes every year--it's the perfect location! Right on Welfare rd across from about a dozen great casual restaurants! Mini market & stores are on the grounds, as well as, larger stores down the street.
Resort is right on the beach down from drawbridge(fun to watch giant yachts enter)
Condos can be rented thru owners(VRBO) or thru Resort. Nice size rooms. 2 bedrooms (king beds), 2 baths, full kitchen & nice living room with views of water.
Resort is kept very, very clean-- always someone cleaning outside & pool. Everyone is very friendly.
Security is always here walking around.
We think it's the best location on the Island!

Room Tip: We love first floor. Small wall that separates us from beach so noone walks right past your window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife daughter and I came here for the second time. The rooms are clean beyond expectations. The front desk staff went out of their way (Lynroy, Shirley and Roseline) to be more than helpful - they always called me by name and made me feel welcome.

The grocery store near the resort is priced way too high (not on the resort) -I would suggest going to the Grand March or if that's to far there is supermarket in Cole Bay. For one / two type items the small convenience store in the resort is quite good

All the TV's are newer and work well. Fridges are new and ice makers work really well

Laundry machines are no charge

WIFI is in the rooms and works great

The activities is a bit weak if you have kids - they run a bingo which is popular, but its only a few times a week - The Bingo was the only item I saw a lot of participation in (it was free) an they should consider running it more.They try to have good prizes, but even token ones would work just as well (like a diamond cooler jacket, or free drinks)

You can spend a week here and never walk to the same restaurant for dinner. All of the restaurants on the road serve good food

The bridge goes up at least twice a day and the parade of expensive yachts is almost worth the trip in itself

we will come back -- great place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in providing our followers with a detailed review of you and your family’s recent stay here at Royal Palm Beach Resort. We are truly thankful that you made a return trip here, and that our accommodations, amenities, location, and staff contributed to your great stay here and your recommendation of our resort. The tips you have provided, not only for our resort, but for the surrounding area, will truly be helpful for our followers and future guests. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.