We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cole Bay
Eldred, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed at the Royal Palm at least 5 times. This resort is very accessible to many restaurants(IZI, Lee's, Toppers, Pineapple Pete's) and beaches. And a major plus close to the airport. I have stayed in many places but the rooms at the Royal Palm are top notch. Very spacious. Plus it feels very safe. Also the staff is attentive. Only negative is the noise on the strip(especiallly La Bamba). A good night sleep is 50/50. Otherwise recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    209
    53
    24
    18
See reviews for
164
148
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

It is near one of the best reastarant on the island. Royal Palms St. Maartin is the BEST place on the island. Scenery location is ideal. Clean nice. You can not stay at a better place. The people there are very friendly. Views are great and beach is nice.

Room Tip: Any room above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Making sure that our guests can relax surrounded by picturesque scenery and in a friendly atmosphere is important to us and we are glad to read that you have spent some memorable moments on the island. We hope we will have an opportunity to be of service to you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is our second time here. My cousin comes every year--it's the perfect location! Right on Welfare rd across from about a dozen great casual restaurants! Mini market & stores are on the grounds, as well as, larger stores down the street.
Resort is right on the beach down from drawbridge(fun to watch giant yachts enter)
Condos can be rented thru owners(VRBO) or thru Resort. Nice size rooms. 2 bedrooms (king beds), 2 baths, full kitchen & nice living room with views of water.
Resort is kept very, very clean-- always someone cleaning outside & pool. Everyone is very friendly.
Security is always here walking around.
We think it's the best location on the Island!

Room Tip: We love first floor. Small wall that separates us from beach so noone walks right past your window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ont
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife daughter and I came here for the second time. The rooms are clean beyond expectations. The front desk staff went out of their way (Lynroy, Shirley and Roseline) to be more than helpful - they always called me by name and made me feel welcome.

The grocery store near the resort is priced way too high (not on the resort) -I would suggest going to the Grand March or if that's to far there is supermarket in Cole Bay. For one / two type items the small convenience store in the resort is quite good

All the TV's are newer and work well. Fridges are new and ice makers work really well

Laundry machines are no charge

WIFI is in the rooms and works great

The activities is a bit weak if you have kids - they run a bingo which is popular, but its only a few times a week - The Bingo was the only item I saw a lot of participation in (it was free) an they should consider running it more.They try to have good prizes, but even token ones would work just as well (like a diamond cooler jacket, or free drinks)

You can spend a week here and never walk to the same restaurant for dinner. All of the restaurants on the road serve good food

The bridge goes up at least twice a day and the parade of expensive yachts is almost worth the trip in itself

we will come back -- great place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in providing our followers with a detailed review of you and your family’s recent stay here at Royal Palm Beach Resort. We are truly thankful that you made a return trip here, and that our accommodations, amenities, location, and staff contributed to your great stay here and your recommendation of our resort. The tips you have provided, not only for our resort, but for the surrounding area, will truly be helpful for our followers and future guests. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway, Maine
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Second time in St. Martin. First time at the Royal Palm Beach Resort. Great location... Walking distance to several great restaraunts. Grocery store is just a two minute drive. Great bakery a few miles a way. Easy walk or drive to the Casino and to our favorite Red Piano Bar.
We had a two bedroom2 bath condo. It was perfect. Had everything we needed. Was cleaned daily. No complaints. Nice little balcony overlooking the beach. Loved the staff - so friendly and helpful. Take the time to get to know them - it will make your trip worth while. Loved the beach/pool area. No Wi-Fi in the rooms (which I loved). However, my college age daughter went down to the lobby every night and skyped with friends. Tons of fun at the poolside bar. I can not wait to go back!

Room Tip: Would have loved to have been on the first floor so you could enjoy cooking on the outside grills an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We try to come here every year for 3 weeks or so. when we got here this year the kitchen had been completely updated with all new appliances. there were some new lamps and little things. the kitchen has all you need to make what you want. nothing elaborate but it works. the people who work here do everything they can to make your stay wonderful. if i call maintenance they are here in a timely manner and always fix the problem. i can call housekeeping anytime if i run out of paper towels and they bring up a roll. the staff at the desk are helpful. they have upgraded their beach towels so it is nice to not have to travel with one. i the new addition of internet this year has been very welcome.

Room Tip: The entire resort is ocean front so there is really no bad room. if you are on the first floor then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Our aim is to provide home-like atmosphere to our guests and we are pleased to know that you have been satisfied with our efforts - thank you for your words of appreciation. The Royal Palm Beach team are devoted to provide excellent customer service and standard of accommodation to all our guests and we are looking forward to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our first trip to St. Maartin. We were a tad skeptical of the area based on some reviews that we read. What we found was a beautiful island, incredible scenery, and now another destination that we cannot wait to return to. The Royal Palm was a perfect location for us on the island. Our condo was gorgeous, well appointed and had every amenity that we needed. The condo was clean, beautifully decorated and had an incredible view that we couldn't get enough of. The food in the restaurant was great. The location of the resort itself was perfect as many other restaurants, shops etc. were within walking distance. (Don't miss a trip to "Zee Bakery" for the most incredible baked goods.) There is a little beachside bar across the bay that has great food as well. I'm going to concur with what some other people have stated in that the Concierge/pool towel employees were less than enthusiastic in their greetings each day, kind of an "island" attitude. The front desk staff was extremely attentive and helpful however. A trip to Phillipsburg for shopping is a fun day. The trip to the other side is beautiful once you get out of town. A trip to the airport to see the planes land and depart is pretty fun too. All in all we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay here Royal Palm Beach Resort. We are extremely happy to hear about great of time you had here on the island and at our resort as well. Your feedback about your condo, our restaurant, and our location is much appreciated. We’re always glad to see our guests give tips for the area to share with future guests. It was a very concerning to read about the attitude and lack of friendliness shown by our concierge and pool attendants. We will make sure to address this appropriately, since we expect all of our employees, not just those from a certain area to show and portray outstanding customer service. We are very grateful for your recommendation of our resort and the area, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.