We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cole Bay
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We try to come here every year for 3 weeks or so. when we got here this year the kitchen had been completely updated with all new appliances. there were some new lamps and little things. the kitchen has all you need to make what you want. nothing elaborate but it works. the people who work here do everything they can to make your stay wonderful. if i call maintenance they are here in a timely manner and always fix the problem. i can call housekeeping anytime if i run out of paper towels and they bring up a roll. the staff at the desk are helpful. they have upgraded their beach towels so it is nice to not have to travel with one. i the new addition of internet this year has been very welcome.

Room Tip: The entire resort is ocean front so there is really no bad room. if you are on the first floor then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Our aim is to provide home-like atmosphere to our guests and we are pleased to know that you have been satisfied with our efforts - thank you for your words of appreciation. The Royal Palm Beach team are devoted to provide excellent customer service and standard of accommodation to all our guests and we are looking forward to see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    209
    53
    24
    18
See reviews for
164
148
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our first trip to St. Maartin. We were a tad skeptical of the area based on some reviews that we read. What we found was a beautiful island, incredible scenery, and now another destination that we cannot wait to return to. The Royal Palm was a perfect location for us on the island. Our condo was gorgeous, well appointed and had every amenity that we needed. The condo was clean, beautifully decorated and had an incredible view that we couldn't get enough of. The food in the restaurant was great. The location of the resort itself was perfect as many other restaurants, shops etc. were within walking distance. (Don't miss a trip to "Zee Bakery" for the most incredible baked goods.) There is a little beachside bar across the bay that has great food as well. I'm going to concur with what some other people have stated in that the Concierge/pool towel employees were less than enthusiastic in their greetings each day, kind of an "island" attitude. The front desk staff was extremely attentive and helpful however. A trip to Phillipsburg for shopping is a fun day. The trip to the other side is beautiful once you get out of town. A trip to the airport to see the planes land and depart is pretty fun too. All in all we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay here Royal Palm Beach Resort. We are extremely happy to hear about great of time you had here on the island and at our resort as well. Your feedback about your condo, our restaurant, and our location is much appreciated. We’re always glad to see our guests give tips for the area to share with future guests. It was a very concerning to read about the attitude and lack of friendliness shown by our concierge and pool attendants. We will make sure to address this appropriately, since we expect all of our employees, not just those from a certain area to show and portray outstanding customer service. We are very grateful for your recommendation of our resort and the area, and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Four of us stayed at the Royal Palm Beach Resort between 1/11/2013 and 1/18/2013. We had a two bedroom ocean view. The resort was clean and the staff VERY friendy. We rec'd a cleaning once during our week, but could ask for fresh bath towels every other day.

Beach was nice, pool on the small side but with the ocean right in front of us who can complain. Beautiful view with all the anchored boats and you could watch the larger yachts come through the channel when the bridge was opened.

Whenever we had a question they staff was very friendly and helpful. We went to breakfast and lunch a few times at the resort which was reasonably priced. We went out for dinner. A must if you like pastries is "The Taste Factory" which is great for breakfast, lunch and desserts. Very pleasant staff as well. Right across the road from resort (kitty corner)

Our favorite restaurant was IZZI Italian Pasta lounge.

Room Tip: I think all are ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was an awesome value. Had a nice sized 2 bedroom 2 bathroom condo with full kichen and living room. Nicely decorated with tile floors and granite counter tops. The location was great with a beautiful view of a nice bay area looking out into the ocean and just minutes from the airport!

Drawback was slow check-in service...island time I guess.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are pleased to learn that you have found your apartment well appointed and nicely decorated, and the resort conveniently located for both relaxation and arrivals/departures. We apologise if the check experience has not been as expected, we can assure you that this is not our usual level of service. Nevertheless, we apologise for any inconvenience caused. We hope to see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard, CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just returned from a week here with my husband and another couple. Resort itself is quite run down - balconies and trim in serious need of paint. Beach is rough, although that could be caused by very strong winds. Front desk people are friendly but not knowledgeable at all. Concierge/pool towel ladies are rude and useless. Views are beautiful and rooms are clean and adequate, but none of the clocks ever worked and decorations were pretty bad. Not returning anytime soon!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was our least favorite dinner. The food and service was just okay. With so many good restaurants in St. Martin we probably will not got back. They had advertised Mojitos on the board outside. I had one and it was the worst I had ever tasted. The conch chowder was could and tasteless. My wife’s fish was cold. The Caesar Salad was good. The Bang Bang shrimp was the best food served.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Royal Palms. Now, the area is perfect. Start your day off across the street at the St Marteen Yacht Club. Sid the bar keep is a ball and we enjoyed his company every morning. Also across the street is Lee's Grill. I highly reccommend the ribs. In the afternoon take a 3 minute down the street to Toppers and see Fiona. For dinner I'll reccommend the Palm's just a short walk up over the bridge. See Gregg the owner. Food is fantastic and its a great family run place. Tell him Dave and Joanne from Boston sent you.

Now back to the resort. The people at the front desk are ok but the hospitality ends there. The is a girl who's job it is to hand out towels. The hamper for the dirty ones is just 2 feet fom her but she can be bothered to put them in for you and won't give you a towel ticket back unless you put the towel in the hamper for her. I stood in amazement as she just refused to get off her behind and move 2 feet to put the dirty towels in the hamper.

It doesn't get any better when you get to the pool. At least 3 afternoons they had no bartender on. They did have a girl behind the bar but alll she did was crack a few beers. Did not know how to make drinks. When they called a bartender it took ten minutes for him to show up and he wasn't in a rush to make the drink either. We actually walked away. We smoke ( I know I know) and every time we sat at the bar and had a cigarette it amazed me that the bartenders sat there and until we asked for an ashtray they just watched. They knew we were smoking and paid as much detail to serving us drinks as they did to simply bring as ashtray.

On to the rooms. In the lobby you'll see a picture ot the CEO with the saying " Yes we can" and he also has a infomercial playing on the TV about attention to detail. This man has obviously not been to his resort here in some time. The screen door fell off ever time you open the sliders. They have a gym but after opening the sliders you won't need to work out as they were some of the toughest doors I'm ever opened. A 3.00 can of WD 40 would fix this and since housekeeping has to go out to the deck to clean they should know there is a issue. The windows were dirty, the AC leaked and for a man that boasts attention to detail there wasn't a clock in the whole suite that has the correct time. There were smaller other things that I could mention but if they miss the big stuff like I mentioned I wouldn't expect them to see the smaller things.

The area is great, try the places I mentioned as well as a trip to Orient beach and Cupacoy, my favorite. Plenty of places to walk to which was perfect because I won't want to be stuck on the resort for a week.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
It’s wonderful to read how much you enjoyed the location! Your comments will be very helpful to future owners, members, and guests visiting our property.

We want you to know that our team members strive to make your experience and impression so much more than “ok”. We regret that you didn’t feel our dedication to hospitality during your stay and hope that you will come back to see how we truly operate.

The restaurant and towel service are both operated through a third-party. While this is not an excuse for your experience, we do not have day to day control on the actions of restaurant or towel service staff. Your concerns regarding these services have been reported to our Management team for review and consideration.

We regret that you were having difficulty with the screen door in your room. Unfortunately, WD-40 won’t be sufficient to fix these doors. That being said, we are aware of the issue and will be completely replacing the doors in the coming year.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Royal Palm Beach Resort. We hope to see you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.