We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cole Bay
Wyoming, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was an awesome value. Had a nice sized 2 bedroom 2 bathroom condo with full kichen and living room. Nicely decorated with tile floors and granite counter tops. The location was great with a beautiful view of a nice bay area looking out into the ocean and just minutes from the airport!

Drawback was slow check-in service...island time I guess.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are pleased to learn that you have found your apartment well appointed and nicely decorated, and the resort conveniently located for both relaxation and arrivals/departures. We apologise if the check experience has not been as expected, we can assure you that this is not our usual level of service. Nevertheless, we apologise for any inconvenience caused. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    204
    53
    24
    18
See reviews for
158
147
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ledyard, CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just returned from a week here with my husband and another couple. Resort itself is quite run down - balconies and trim in serious need of paint. Beach is rough, although that could be caused by very strong winds. Front desk people are friendly but not knowledgeable at all. Concierge/pool towel ladies are rude and useless. Views are beautiful and rooms are clean and adequate, but none of the clocks ever worked and decorations were pretty bad. Not returning anytime soon!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was our least favorite dinner. The food and service was just okay. With so many good restaurants in St. Martin we probably will not got back. They had advertised Mojitos on the board outside. I had one and it was the worst I had ever tasted. The conch chowder was could and tasteless. My wife’s fish was cold. The Caesar Salad was good. The Bang Bang shrimp was the best food served.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Royal Palms. Now, the area is perfect. Start your day off across the street at the St Marteen Yacht Club. Sid the bar keep is a ball and we enjoyed his company every morning. Also across the street is Lee's Grill. I highly reccommend the ribs. In the afternoon take a 3 minute down the street to Toppers and see Fiona. For dinner I'll reccommend the Palm's just a short walk up over the bridge. See Gregg the owner. Food is fantastic and its a great family run place. Tell him Dave and Joanne from Boston sent you.

Now back to the resort. The people at the front desk are ok but the hospitality ends there. The is a girl who's job it is to hand out towels. The hamper for the dirty ones is just 2 feet fom her but she can be bothered to put them in for you and won't give you a towel ticket back unless you put the towel in the hamper for her. I stood in amazement as she just refused to get off her behind and move 2 feet to put the dirty towels in the hamper.

It doesn't get any better when you get to the pool. At least 3 afternoons they had no bartender on. They did have a girl behind the bar but alll she did was crack a few beers. Did not know how to make drinks. When they called a bartender it took ten minutes for him to show up and he wasn't in a rush to make the drink either. We actually walked away. We smoke ( I know I know) and every time we sat at the bar and had a cigarette it amazed me that the bartenders sat there and until we asked for an ashtray they just watched. They knew we were smoking and paid as much detail to serving us drinks as they did to simply bring as ashtray.

On to the rooms. In the lobby you'll see a picture ot the CEO with the saying " Yes we can" and he also has a infomercial playing on the TV about attention to detail. This man has obviously not been to his resort here in some time. The screen door fell off ever time you open the sliders. They have a gym but after opening the sliders you won't need to work out as they were some of the toughest doors I'm ever opened. A 3.00 can of WD 40 would fix this and since housekeeping has to go out to the deck to clean they should know there is a issue. The windows were dirty, the AC leaked and for a man that boasts attention to detail there wasn't a clock in the whole suite that has the correct time. There were smaller other things that I could mention but if they miss the big stuff like I mentioned I wouldn't expect them to see the smaller things.

The area is great, try the places I mentioned as well as a trip to Orient beach and Cupacoy, my favorite. Plenty of places to walk to which was perfect because I won't want to be stuck on the resort for a week.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
It’s wonderful to read how much you enjoyed the location! Your comments will be very helpful to future owners, members, and guests visiting our property.

We want you to know that our team members strive to make your experience and impression so much more than “ok”. We regret that you didn’t feel our dedication to hospitality during your stay and hope that you will come back to see how we truly operate.

The restaurant and towel service are both operated through a third-party. While this is not an excuse for your experience, we do not have day to day control on the actions of restaurant or towel service staff. Your concerns regarding these services have been reported to our Management team for review and consideration.

We regret that you were having difficulty with the screen door in your room. Unfortunately, WD-40 won’t be sufficient to fix these doors. That being said, we are aware of the issue and will be completely replacing the doors in the coming year.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Royal Palm Beach Resort. We hope to see you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We come here evry year, nd have been able to stay at the Royal Palm. Rooms are clean, ammenitis: i.e.paper towels, dishwahing soap, dishwaher soap.
Staff friendly and helpful. Location ,at Simpson Bay ideal. Many restaurants that you can walk to.

Room Tip: All rooms face the water! No bad room!! we prfer the 1st floor, make sure you bring bug spray. Uppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We go every year to St. Maarten for vacation. Happy to report that both elevators working (most of the time) and there is now WiFi in units!!
This resort is situated in Simpson Bay which is an active area with restaurants, stores, and activities etc. The beach is so calm (unlike other areas of island) and parking is easy. Grounds are nice but not extravagant. There is a decent size pool but not huge for size of resort. Amazing to watch mega-yachts go in and out of Simpson Bay Lagoon. Staff is very friendly and helpful most of the time. Cassandra, the General Mgr, is so great, cheerful and helpful. Jesse James at front desk always has a smile on his face. Glennyth in laundry is a doll and always cheerful. The resort has added more activity personnel and hopefully soon they will add more structured/planned outdoor activities for kids. Audemar is fantastic in getting the kids involved in activities (check out his show at Les Escargot too!). Just wish property had a few more amenities like spa services, room service and cleaning more often. Always a great vacation!

Room Tip: rooms near bridge have an excellent view of mega yachts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The staff were very helpful,friendly and accomodating.The location is perfect,we don't have to rent a car.We were able to experince their public transfortation.The place is clean and great size of rooms with ocean front view.Great restaurants nearby and grocery store.They offer a lot of activities. Great vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.