We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Area is perfect, the resort not so much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Royal Palm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Area is perfect, the resort not so much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at the Royal Palms. Now, the area is perfect. Start your day off across the street at the St Marteen Yacht Club. Sid the bar keep is a ball and we enjoyed his company every morning. Also across the street is Lee's Grill. I highly reccommend the ribs. In the afternoon take a 3 minute down the street to Toppers and see Fiona. For dinner I'll reccommend the Palm's just a short walk up over the bridge. See Gregg the owner. Food is fantastic and its a great family run place. Tell him Dave and Joanne from Boston sent you.

Now back to the resort. The people at the front desk are ok but the hospitality ends there. The is a girl who's job it is to hand out towels. The hamper for the dirty ones is just 2 feet fom her but she can be bothered to put them in for you and won't give you a towel ticket back unless you put the towel in the hamper for her. I stood in amazement as she just refused to get off her behind and move 2 feet to put the dirty towels in the hamper.

It doesn't get any better when you get to the pool. At least 3 afternoons they had no bartender on. They did have a girl behind the bar but alll she did was crack a few beers. Did not know how to make drinks. When they called a bartender it took ten minutes for him to show up and he wasn't in a rush to make the drink either. We actually walked away. We smoke ( I know I know) and every time we sat at the bar and had a cigarette it amazed me that the bartenders sat there and until we asked for an ashtray they just watched. They knew we were smoking and paid as much detail to serving us drinks as they did to simply bring as ashtray.

On to the rooms. In the lobby you'll see a picture ot the CEO with the saying " Yes we can" and he also has a infomercial playing on the TV about attention to detail. This man has obviously not been to his resort here in some time. The screen door fell off ever time you open the sliders. They have a gym but after opening the sliders you won't need to work out as they were some of the toughest doors I'm ever opened. A 3.00 can of WD 40 would fix this and since housekeeping has to go out to the deck to clean they should know there is a issue. The windows were dirty, the AC leaked and for a man that boasts attention to detail there wasn't a clock in the whole suite that has the correct time. There were smaller other things that I could mention but if they miss the big stuff like I mentioned I wouldn't expect them to see the smaller things.

The area is great, try the places I mentioned as well as a trip to Orient beach and Cupacoy, my favorite. Plenty of places to walk to which was perfect because I won't want to be stuck on the resort for a week.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
It’s wonderful to read how much you enjoyed the location! Your comments will be very helpful to future owners, members, and guests visiting our property.

We want you to know that our team members strive to make your experience and impression so much more than “ok”. We regret that you didn’t feel our dedication to hospitality during your stay and hope that you will come back to see how we truly operate.

The restaurant and towel service are both operated through a third-party. While this is not an excuse for your experience, we do not have day to day control on the actions of restaurant or towel service staff. Your concerns regarding these services have been reported to our Management team for review and consideration.

We regret that you were having difficulty with the screen door in your room. Unfortunately, WD-40 won’t be sufficient to fix these doors. That being said, we are aware of the issue and will be completely replacing the doors in the coming year.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Royal Palm Beach Resort. We hope to see you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    222
    53
    25
    19
See reviews for
171
158
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We come here evry year, nd have been able to stay at the Royal Palm. Rooms are clean, ammenitis: i.e.paper towels, dishwahing soap, dishwaher soap.
Staff friendly and helpful. Location ,at Simpson Bay ideal. Many restaurants that you can walk to.

Room Tip: All rooms face the water! No bad room!! we prfer the 1st floor, make sure you bring bug spray. Uppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We go every year to St. Maarten for vacation. Happy to report that both elevators working (most of the time) and there is now WiFi in units!!
This resort is situated in Simpson Bay which is an active area with restaurants, stores, and activities etc. The beach is so calm (unlike other areas of island) and parking is easy. Grounds are nice but not extravagant. There is a decent size pool but not huge for size of resort. Amazing to watch mega-yachts go in and out of Simpson Bay Lagoon. Staff is very friendly and helpful most of the time. Cassandra, the General Mgr, is so great, cheerful and helpful. Jesse James at front desk always has a smile on his face. Glennyth in laundry is a doll and always cheerful. The resort has added more activity personnel and hopefully soon they will add more structured/planned outdoor activities for kids. Audemar is fantastic in getting the kids involved in activities (check out his show at Les Escargot too!). Just wish property had a few more amenities like spa services, room service and cleaning more often. Always a great vacation!

Room Tip: rooms near bridge have an excellent view of mega yachts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The staff were very helpful,friendly and accomodating.The location is perfect,we don't have to rent a car.We were able to experince their public transfortation.The place is clean and great size of rooms with ocean front view.Great restaurants nearby and grocery store.They offer a lot of activities. Great vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had reservations at this resort over Christmas/New Years for 9 people. When we arrived, they did not have room for us, and then proceeded to show us 2 other "sister" resorts as alternatives. One of the other resorts was dirty, and the whole process of finding a place for us took about 3-4 hours. The managers did not offer any compensation for this mix-up, and when pressed offered to give us a gift card to a restaurant on the island. This gift card was never presented to us during our entire stay. I cannot comment on the Royal Palms facilities, since we didn't get to us them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
While guests do need to be relocated on occasion, we ensure that all our owners, members, and guests have somewhere to rest their heads. We’re pleased to note that you were relocated to one of our other properties that evening. According to our records, you and your party were provided with appropriate compensation for this inconvenience.

It is truly unfortunate that you didn’t get an opportunity to experience Royal Palm Beach Resort this time, but we hope you’ll come back to visit us in the future and share a true experience on property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Thank God that we stay there with friend only one night. Room looks like from 80s style. That was quite clean from first sighn, but it doesnt smelt wery well. Bad was not comfortable and bathroom not nice.
The wirst was service. Reception looks like entry in emergency hospital - really and after first communication with night reception clerk we wanted to leave this place. Day receptuon clerk was not so much better - really unpolite, not friendly.
One positive point was beach. That is quite big, clean and has nice atmosphere. Wecwanted to stay ratter on beach, than in room. If you dobt neet to stay there, dont do it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Royal Palm Resort.

It is unfortunate that you didn’t enjoy the room. We hope you notified the front desk regarding the smell, as we are more than willing to move our guests to more suitable rooms when an issue arises, subject to availability on property.

Our team is dedicated to ensuring that each and every guest enjoys their stay. We regret that you had a negative experience with the front desk and can assure you that we will forward your concerns to our management team.

We’re glad that you enjoyed the beach and hope you’ll come back to enjoy it again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire,connecticut
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is our third years on st Maarten at the Royal Palm. The weather is wonderful, the resort is lovely. GREAT LOCATION! Within walking distance of many fine restaurants in addition there is a restaurant on site serving B L D. Swim up bar at the pool. Activities include water aerobics, volleyball, tennis at their sister resort... All rooms have a water view as well as a great view of the draw bridge through which many amazing yachts pass. Most of the units are 2 bedroom 2 bath units. Best value is renting through a time share owner. Access to free Internet now available in unit. A gym is also on site. Use is free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.