We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cole Bay
Denville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The staff were very helpful,friendly and accomodating.The location is perfect,we don't have to rent a car.We were able to experince their public transfortation.The place is clean and great size of rooms with ocean front view.Great restaurants nearby and grocery store.They offer a lot of activities. Great vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    202
    55
    24
    18
See reviews for
157
146
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had reservations at this resort over Christmas/New Years for 9 people. When we arrived, they did not have room for us, and then proceeded to show us 2 other "sister" resorts as alternatives. One of the other resorts was dirty, and the whole process of finding a place for us took about 3-4 hours. The managers did not offer any compensation for this mix-up, and when pressed offered to give us a gift card to a restaurant on the island. This gift card was never presented to us during our entire stay. I cannot comment on the Royal Palms facilities, since we didn't get to us them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
While guests do need to be relocated on occasion, we ensure that all our owners, members, and guests have somewhere to rest their heads. We’re pleased to note that you were relocated to one of our other properties that evening. According to our records, you and your party were provided with appropriate compensation for this inconvenience.

It is truly unfortunate that you didn’t get an opportunity to experience Royal Palm Beach Resort this time, but we hope you’ll come back to visit us in the future and share a true experience on property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Thank God that we stay there with friend only one night. Room looks like from 80s style. That was quite clean from first sighn, but it doesnt smelt wery well. Bad was not comfortable and bathroom not nice.
The wirst was service. Reception looks like entry in emergency hospital - really and after first communication with night reception clerk we wanted to leave this place. Day receptuon clerk was not so much better - really unpolite, not friendly.
One positive point was beach. That is quite big, clean and has nice atmosphere. Wecwanted to stay ratter on beach, than in room. If you dobt neet to stay there, dont do it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Royal Palm Resort.

It is unfortunate that you didn’t enjoy the room. We hope you notified the front desk regarding the smell, as we are more than willing to move our guests to more suitable rooms when an issue arises, subject to availability on property.

Our team is dedicated to ensuring that each and every guest enjoys their stay. We regret that you had a negative experience with the front desk and can assure you that we will forward your concerns to our management team.

We’re glad that you enjoyed the beach and hope you’ll come back to enjoy it again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire,connecticut
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is our third years on st Maarten at the Royal Palm. The weather is wonderful, the resort is lovely. GREAT LOCATION! Within walking distance of many fine restaurants in addition there is a restaurant on site serving B L D. Swim up bar at the pool. Activities include water aerobics, volleyball, tennis at their sister resort... All rooms have a water view as well as a great view of the draw bridge through which many amazing yachts pass. Most of the units are 2 bedroom 2 bath units. Best value is renting through a time share owner. Access to free Internet now available in unit. A gym is also on site. Use is free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Royal Palm Beach Resort between Dec. 23 and Jan. 1st. at a 2 bedroom apartment. The weather was perfect, but the water was extremely cold (not sure if it is like that during the rest of the year, since it was our first time in St. Maarten). A serious and disgusting problem on all the beaches was that many people took their dogs to the ocean, even at beaches with signs saying that dogs were not allowed. It seems that all the apartments have ocean view, which is really beautiful, and we could not stop admiring it. The staff was just OK, but the "entertainers" at the pool area were very funny and nice. The housekeepers were nice too, but they cleaned the apartment only once during our 9 day stay, and it would have been much better if they could have come every 2 or 3 days. Our kids had lots of fun, got tired and slept comfortably. We loved the food all over the island, especially the sea and creole food. Note that most of the restaurants already charge 15 percent service on your bill. Restaurants and supermarkets are very expensive, so be sure you will pay much much much more for everything than in the US. One thing that really disappointed us at this hotel was that almost all the time all the palapas were reserved and the guests just disappeared for hours. There were signs on the tables or umbrellas saying that after one hour their pesonal items would be taken by the staff (which would be fair), but as the staff actually never did that, people ignored the signs and reserved the chairs and umbrellas during all day, everyday. The location of the hotel is great, you can walk to a lot of good restaurants or take a bus ($ 1.50 per person) to Phillipsburg to shop. We rented a car for only 3 days to visit other beaches (I recommend Mullet Bay and Friars for calm waters and Baie Rouge for a gorgeous view) and it was good enough for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The location of this resort is great if you want to walk to restaurants, bars, yacht club. The resort itself is a little old, the sliding door on my terrace fell of its tracks, the cheese grater had crusty cheese and I was missing a bottle opener in my room. I am on West coast time, so, the fact that the restaurant was closed when I got there was a bummer. It is a resort, so, drinks/food are both expensive. A little grocery store is at the base for basic items - go the market though if you need something and do not want to pay an exorbitant amount for basic items.
There is a laundry room at the resort and they have detergent and dryer sheets for $0.75; the laundry is not in your room though, so, bring something to carry your clothes to the laundry room. When I asked the front desk for some change, they said sorry - go to the bar to get some change. That took forever, and, remember you're on island time now.
I did have the stuffed Grouper at the beach cabana bar one night; the nice lady guided me in placing my order and I subbed fetuccini with white sauce for the rice, not bad, not overwhelmingly great. Overall, this place was fine, spacious 2 bed room, easy walk-able location. After my bad car rental experience, I doubt I'll get a car next time. Oh! Go to Carita's down the street if you need a mani/pedi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a large resort located very near the airport, so it's easy to get to and located near many restaurants, lots of shopping and many casinos. The units are 2-bedroom with full kitchens and wonderful views of the beach and bay. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the resort was kept very clean. This is a great place for families or people who like to gamble. However, if you're interested in a low key relaxing vacation, this is not a good choice.

Room Tip: All the units appeared to face the water with beautiful views. Request a room not too close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.