We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed up” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Royal Palm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St. Maarten-St. Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mixed up”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had reservations at this resort over Christmas/New Years for 9 people. When we arrived, they did not have room for us, and then proceeded to show us 2 other "sister" resorts as alternatives. One of the other resorts was dirty, and the whole process of finding a place for us took about 3-4 hours. The managers did not offer any compensation for this mix-up, and when pressed offered to give us a gift card to a restaurant on the island. This gift card was never presented to us during our entire stay. I cannot comment on the Royal Palms facilities, since we didn't get to us them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Meighan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
While guests do need to be relocated on occasion, we ensure that all our owners, members, and guests have somewhere to rest their heads. We’re pleased to note that you were relocated to one of our other properties that evening. According to our records, you and your party were provided with appropriate compensation for this inconvenience.

It is truly unfortunate that you didn’t get an opportunity to experience Royal Palm Beach Resort this time, but we hope you’ll come back to visit us in the future and share a true experience on property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Thank God that we stay there with friend only one night. Room looks like from 80s style. That was quite clean from first sighn, but it doesnt smelt wery well. Bad was not comfortable and bathroom not nice.
The wirst was service. Reception looks like entry in emergency hospital - really and after first communication with night reception clerk we wanted to leave this place. Day receptuon clerk was not so much better - really unpolite, not friendly.
One positive point was beach. That is quite big, clean and has nice atmosphere. Wecwanted to stay ratter on beach, than in room. If you dobt neet to stay there, dont do it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Royal Palm Resort.

It is unfortunate that you didn’t enjoy the room. We hope you notified the front desk regarding the smell, as we are more than willing to move our guests to more suitable rooms when an issue arises, subject to availability on property.

Our team is dedicated to ensuring that each and every guest enjoys their stay. We regret that you had a negative experience with the front desk and can assure you that we will forward your concerns to our management team.

We’re glad that you enjoyed the beach and hope you’ll come back to enjoy it again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire,connecticut
Level Contributor
195 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is our third years on st Maarten at the Royal Palm. The weather is wonderful, the resort is lovely. GREAT LOCATION! Within walking distance of many fine restaurants in addition there is a restaurant on site serving B L D. Swim up bar at the pool. Activities include water aerobics, volleyball, tennis at their sister resort... All rooms have a water view as well as a great view of the draw bridge through which many amazing yachts pass. Most of the units are 2 bedroom 2 bath units. Best value is renting through a time share owner. Access to free Internet now available in unit. A gym is also on site. Use is free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Royal Palm Beach Resort between Dec. 23 and Jan. 1st. at a 2 bedroom apartment. The weather was perfect, but the water was extremely cold (not sure if it is like that during the rest of the year, since it was our first time in St. Maarten). A serious and disgusting problem on all the beaches was that many people took their dogs to the ocean, even at beaches with signs saying that dogs were not allowed. It seems that all the apartments have ocean view, which is really beautiful, and we could not stop admiring it. The staff was just OK, but the "entertainers" at the pool area were very funny and nice. The housekeepers were nice too, but they cleaned the apartment only once during our 9 day stay, and it would have been much better if they could have come every 2 or 3 days. Our kids had lots of fun, got tired and slept comfortably. We loved the food all over the island, especially the sea and creole food. Note that most of the restaurants already charge 15 percent service on your bill. Restaurants and supermarkets are very expensive, so be sure you will pay much much much more for everything than in the US. One thing that really disappointed us at this hotel was that almost all the time all the palapas were reserved and the guests just disappeared for hours. There were signs on the tables or umbrellas saying that after one hour their pesonal items would be taken by the staff (which would be fair), but as the staff actually never did that, people ignored the signs and reserved the chairs and umbrellas during all day, everyday. The location of the hotel is great, you can walk to a lot of good restaurants or take a bus ($ 1.50 per person) to Phillipsburg to shop. We rented a car for only 3 days to visit other beaches (I recommend Mullet Bay and Friars for calm waters and Baie Rouge for a gorgeous view) and it was good enough for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbaBrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The location of this resort is great if you want to walk to restaurants, bars, yacht club. The resort itself is a little old, the sliding door on my terrace fell of its tracks, the cheese grater had crusty cheese and I was missing a bottle opener in my room. I am on West coast time, so, the fact that the restaurant was closed when I got there was a bummer. It is a resort, so, drinks/food are both expensive. A little grocery store is at the base for basic items - go the market though if you need something and do not want to pay an exorbitant amount for basic items.
There is a laundry room at the resort and they have detergent and dryer sheets for $0.75; the laundry is not in your room though, so, bring something to carry your clothes to the laundry room. When I asked the front desk for some change, they said sorry - go to the bar to get some change. That took forever, and, remember you're on island time now.
I did have the stuffed Grouper at the beach cabana bar one night; the nice lady guided me in placing my order and I subbed fetuccini with white sauce for the rice, not bad, not overwhelmingly great. Overall, this place was fine, spacious 2 bed room, easy walk-able location. After my bad car rental experience, I doubt I'll get a car next time. Oh! Go to Carita's down the street if you need a mani/pedi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a large resort located very near the airport, so it's easy to get to and located near many restaurants, lots of shopping and many casinos. The units are 2-bedroom with full kitchens and wonderful views of the beach and bay. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the resort was kept very clean. This is a great place for families or people who like to gamble. However, if you're interested in a low key relaxing vacation, this is not a good choice.

Room Tip: All the units appeared to face the water with beautiful views. Request a room not too close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Each year as soon as school gets out, we take the family to St Maarten for a 2wk vacation. It is a great way to kick off our summer. The Royal Palm is pretty centrally located. We rent a car because we like to head to different beaches on the island during our stay. There are great restaurants within walking distance, a grocery store close by, 2 scuba places, etc. so if you did not want the added expense of a car it would be no big deal to not have one. I really like the fact that they have a pretty nice gym onsite that opens early. If you are a gym rat- you should stay here! The beach is nice, water is calm, snorkling pretty good. They have lots of activities for both kids and adults- crab races, bingo, video games, arts and crafts, movie night out by the pool. The one slightly negative thing is some of the restaurants have live entertainment at night, so it can be a little loud at night- not a big deal but we have 4 kids so putting them to sleep can be a little tricky with the loud music.
I rent from an owner, so I don't deal too much with front office. I pay the gentleman, show up to the resort, pick up the keys and that's it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doclink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cole Bay
0.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
#4 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 788 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
5.7 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.6 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, West Indies and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing