We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great week in St Martin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Royal Palm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Carlinville, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Another great week in St Martin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent the week of Thanksgiving at the Royal Palms for the second time in the last three years and it was fantastic again. We love the location in Simpson Bay which offers enough privacy and variety whichreally allowed us to enjoy our vacation. There are numerous places to eat, grocery store, casinos and plenty to do all within walking distance. No reason to rent a car - we caught the local "buses" for $1.50 whenever we needed to do a road trip and went to downtown Phillipsburg a few times for shopping, Maho Beach / Sunset beach bar to watch the planes and Maho area for resteraunts and casino. The resort is right on the beach and all rooms have a view of water. The pool and exercise room were very nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was a very well laid out 2 BR apartment with 2 bathrooms and balcony. it was comfortable and had all the ammenities you would need for your visit. Cant wait to go back again in another 2 years.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    223
    53
    25
    20
See reviews for
171
160
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We choose this island/resort for our honeymoon and no doubt it was the perfect resort. We had zero complaints about this resort; the service was wonderful and our room was very comfortable. The pool and beach area was never crowded and the beach was very clean.

The location of the resort is perfect. We were able to walk to almost everything we needed and traveled to several different beaches via buses/taxis. We stayed the first week of October and all of the restaurants across the street and others in walking distance opened back up that week from their down season.

My husband and I will be going back to this resort in the near future; we miss it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Palm Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
We are very happy to have been able to offer you a perfect setting for your honeymoon and we are pleased that you had a memorable time here at Royal Palm Beach Resort. We hope you will enjoy all your future travels together and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Spent two nights at this hotel before meeting up with a friend for another 4 nights on the lovely island of St Maarten. This hotel was amazing and much better than I was expecting! The facilities within the room were excellent, including a fully equiped kitchen. Lots of small supermarkets within easy walking distance of the hotel and so easy to stock up. The hotel is located on a main road with lots of places to eat and drink. I would be happy to return to this hotel and think it represents good vale for money.

Room Tip: I was allocated a room on the fifth floor, which over looked the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a perfect spot on the island. The bay is perfect for snorkeling, sunbathing, and floating in the ocean without any big waves. We travelled all around the island and found that this is the best place to relax. If you go, you have to go to Cheri's Cafe by the airport....they have a great dinner show! also, you get free drinks at the Airport Bar (where everyone gets blown away by the engines) if you go topless (women only...sorry guys).

Also, if you're smart you'll go the week before the high season. You'll be able to do everything that you would normally do but without the wait. The weather was amazing as well.

We went zip lining, Rock N Roll snorkeling, and scuba diving. They were all great trips.

You also have to try the Guava Berry Rum drinks....they're amazing. I already miss them.

Room Tip: Make sure to check out the beds...the first one we got was really hard but when we switched it was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stef4174
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We purchased our hotel stay through easyclicktravel.com which had this hotel cheaper than all the other travel sites. We booked a studio but when we arrived I was very friendly with the staff and was given a complimentary upgrade to a two bedroom. The room was gorgeous. We stayed on the 4th floor, had a great balcony with views of the ocean, a full kitchen, a separate dining room, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. We were extremely pleased with the hotel itself.

The beach on the other hand wasn't as impressive. Yes, there were always free beach chairs, but the sand wasn't very soft (lots of shells) and the water was clear on our first few days but not on our last two. Beware, about every 20 minutes someone will wake you up while you're sleeping in your beach chair and try to sell you jewelry/a massage/clothing etc.... very annoying.

The pool bar and restaurant on the resort have a staff that pays little to no attention to their customers. We waited a while to get our next rounds, to get our bills, etc. It was frustrating. Even though we were standing at the bar staring at them, they would walk away from us and go sit down at a table and play cards.

The entertainment staff was fun. We had a great time doing music trivia night and won a free 30 minute massage.

As for what to do when you're there just message me- we went to every bar/club. Latin night at La Bamba on Tuesdays which is right next door was GREAT, Soggy Dolla Bar on Fridays was lots of fun too. As far as restaurants go I recommend Bamboo Bernie's (asian fusion) and Izi's (italian) and both are walking distance. We also took the Heinekin boat to Anguilla. Def a must see!!! Most beautiful beach I have EVER seen.

In the end we had a great trip. If you're looking to have a great room, okay beach, and lots of close nightlife this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia.com
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed here 4 times and we love it for many reasons! The location is perfect and the views are awesome! We always get a room on the 2nd floor and the entire wall facing the water is a window that slides open. Amazing place. The pools are super. The entire facility is clean and well maintained. You can't go wrong if you stay here. I promise!

Room Tip: Request a second room floor facing Simpson Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I want to start by saying the staff here is amazing. They are helpful and friendly. If you need anything, just ask and they do their best to accommodate. The resort has a swim up bar/pool, and a semi private beach. It was Halloween, and my fr year old som was one of abut ten children staying there. The activities team put together an impromptu trick-or-treating for the kids, and it was one of the highlights of my child's stay. We stayed in a two bedroom room. Since it was a time share, we only got cleaning service once when we were there. My two complaints about this place- NO water pressure (that may be an island wide problem), and because the are a time share they are furnished by owners- we had one small sauce pan that was a pain in the rear to clean, which made cooking hard. I would definitely stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Keep doors closed at night- Mosquitos love to come snack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.