We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Visit to Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Royal Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 6 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cole Bay
CT
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Another Visit to Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We have been going to the Royal Palm for several years and have never been disappointed!
The rooms are set up so everyone has a veiw of the ocean. The staff are always helpful and friendly. Have a problem? See Benito at the front desk, and if it can be fixed, he will get it done.
They have expanded the activities. More children games and activities. My granddaughter did a craft and loved it!
Emanual and Ademar do the water arobics! Emanual sure makes this a great work out!Both are very personable and everyone loves them!!!

Bar and Restaurant offer great drinks and food. Denise and Kretca always are happy and friendly.
Location: At Simpson Bay which allows many restaurants within walking distance.

My only complaint is that their wifi is limited. You need to be near the lobby (pool and bar) to log in.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    186
    54
    21
    17
See reviews for
140
135
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We spent 1 week at this hotel at the beginning of January. We absolutely loved the island, and recommend it without hesitation to anybody. The best way to visit the island is to rent a car (much cheaper in the long run than a cab), traffic is not so bad, and it is very easy to drive around this small and friendly island. We liked the French side a lot more as it did not seem as commercial or crowded as the Dutch side, we also felt very safe everywhere we went, and people are very friendly. We took side day trips to St Barth and Anguilla. Tip: don't forget your passports and if you plan on buying your tickets at the ferry (rather than in advance at the hotel) make sure to bring cash as they don't accept credit cards at the ferry.
Hotel
Pros: beautiful beach, large room (2-bedroom suite with fully equipped kitchen, living room, dining room, 2 baths, 3 TVs, air conditioning, small balcony (just enough for 2), very good free Wi-fi in lobby, laundry room in hotel.
Cons: very dated hotel, not very clean (our maid did a great job but the rooms get cleaned only once a week as per hotel standards),one pool, one restaurant (independent of hotel so you can't charge anything to your room), very average food. Close to airport (but luckily that did not prove to be a huge problem). Staff is adequate but lacks a certain professionalism (they do their jobs without any enthusiasm, a regular guest mentioned to us that they are very badly paid...)
Beware: make sure that when you return your pool towels at the end of your stay you get back your pool towel cards as the hotel will charge you if they are not returned at check out (they will charge as well for any lost room key or the one gym card they gave you at check-in). We don't have a huge problem with that rule but they should let the guests know at check-in (and not at check-out like they do).
Note that check-out time is 10 a.m. on weekends and at our request to stay later, they allowed us an 11.00 a.m. check-out. However at 10:30 we received an irate call from housekeeping (?) stating that we would be charged $100 for staying past our check-out time (we straightened it out with the front desk but it was not the first time that there was a communication failure between hotel departments during our stay).

Room Tip: all rooms have an ocean view: some (but far from all) 1st floor (ground floor) rooms look out to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in June 2010. It needed major updates, from paint jobs, to faucets, to light replacements. However, the beach of the resort is beautiful, non crowded, very inviting with gorgeous waters. It was lacking more chairs to sunbathe, though.
They do not offer much of a menu to it at the resort. However, it's very well located, right across the street there are lots of little and lively restaurants where you can taste most of the typical fish and seafood than the area has to offer. Look at prices and go to the crowded ones, though. The empty ones might be cheaper, but for a good reason.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

The rooms are beautiful, it's true. We booked on booking.com at a price of 459 dollars plus taxes for an ocean view suite for 4. Room was comfortable and we were pleased until we got the bill where one hundred dollars was added on for service tax (15%) and government tax! The restaurant is not part of the hotel and refused to serve us (very impolitely) and 9pm as they 'were too busy'! The restaurant was actually empty apart from one large table of about 20 peoploe! We went to complain which is when we found out that the restaurant does not belong to the hotel! Breakfast is not included, but after the previous night's experience, we didn't have it there anyway! Very few facilities for the price, one restaurant and pool bar, one b ar. But a lovely beach and small pool. Lot of plane noise however. The showers in both bathrooms were awful, a trickle of water, and they forgot the twin beds ordered for my sons, so we managed. Quite isolated from the town, taxi cost 20 dollars. Very good eating places on the road opposite the hotel however. Hugely overpriced for a short stay when you are not using all the kitchen facilities (which are excellent and pristine clean). They should have rooms for short stays without all the facilities and at a lower price. Staff on the whole, welcoming but a bit lax about helping us with transport. View from the 4th floor was stunning!

Room Tip: As high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have stayed at The Royal Palm Beach 4 times and for the most part enjoyed our experiences there. We usually get a 2 bedroom unit. They are quite spacious with 3 flat panel TVs, beautiful open concept kitchen, living, dining area and a large deck where we enjoy and incredible view with snacks and drinks. Both bedrooms have lots of room and the master has the ocean view which is stunning to say the least. There are 2 washrooms which are each different and one is the ensuite with the master. The kitchens have recently been redone with beautiful granite counters and are very well equipped with everything you could possibly need which is great for us as we do like to make our own brekky and buy fresh seafood for our own dinners as well. We have enjoyed the manager’s night with free drinks and nibbles and won several good prizes during bingo night. The activities might be more enjoyable for adults if some people had better control of their children as sometimes they get quite out of hand and we have had to leave. They have a kareoke night which would also be fun if it didn’t turn into a kids night repeating the same ABBA song time after time, it gets to be a bit much and we have had to complain about it. However, you are in Sint Maarten so get out there and enjoy all the other stuff to do and explore the island folks. The restaurant strip directly behind the Royal Palm is incredible and you can walk to so many fantastic places its hard to choose. We would recommend The Pizza Galley, Lee’s and Pineapple Pete’s for starters. If you are looking for a peaceful setting with class and top notch service without the high price tag, then make sure to walk down a bit further to the Cafe on the Bay for one of the most romantic evenings you could have. We highly recommend this place. On your walk back make sure to stop at the Italian Ice Cream Carousel, it will blow you away!! All of the bars/restaurants have live entertainment and the quality of music is very high. There is a bridge right beside The Royal Palm which you will get use to. It creates traffic madness. It has designated times in the morning and evening when it is suppose to open but when one of the millionaires just has to get his yacht out to show off he pays $1200 for a “special opening” which drives the cabbies crazy. Just across the bridge is a fresh fish market where you can buy from the locals at reasonable prices. Just across the bay where the Flamiingo Beach resort is located (sister property) there is an interesting bar called The Red Piano which features some very talented pianists from all over. You sit around this grand red piano and throw cash in the jar and sing along and dance the night away. Incredible selection of distinguished drinks from one of the finest bars on the island. On Sunday nights you can walk along Kimshaw Beach, just beside the hotel, and enjoy a great live band playing old rock and roll all night and dance on the sand and bring your own drinks or enjoy really inexpensive ones from the bar there. And keep walking down to the Buccanneer Beach Bar and enjoy the beach “Fireball” where someone has made a gigantic steel globe with stars and faces in it and the fire is mezmerizing. Try and check at the front desk or with the shops to find out when and how many cruise ships are in port and that will determine your best days to head into Phillipsburg for a shopping spree you will never forget. Jewellry, electronics, cameras and fashions will blow your mind. And the vendors love to bargain with you so make sure you shop around a little before trying to bargain with them. And do mention that you are NOT on the cruise ship as they will treat you differently and you will be less pressured. Guys, if your wife is doing the shopping you may get offered a nice FREE Heinekin or two which comes in handy. I enjoyed 9 of them during one shopping spree with my “shopping queen”!!! Now to the beaches. Obviously you must go to Orient Bay at least once. it is truly and incredible experience. Take your bathing suit .... or not!! But DO NOT even think about trying to take your camera down to the Nude beach where you can walk up and down while trying not to stare too much. There are very large French Gendarm Guards on patrol so it is very safe. At the regular beach the water sports are plentiful, the water is incredible. Clear and great for snorkelling and the sand is wonderful. You can walk for quite a long distance ro pick one of the bars to enjoy anything you can imagine. We would recommend finding Chez Leandra’s Wraps (tell her Toronto Johnny sent you), she takes a bit longer but makes everything by hand and it is worth the wait especially since it is so inexpensive. Get a drink and enjoy the sights while you wait. While you are on the French side (where Orient Bay is) get over to the capital of Marigot. The market is out of this world with more hand made clothing and quality jewellry, great food and people watching. The village is loaded with very high quality art galleries and shops. You can take a day trip from here over to the island of Anguilla which was very enjoyable for us. It is a very beautiful island and is getting discovered by the rich and famous with lots of big names buying retreat properties there. I think we enjoyed this more than our day trip over to St. Barths. One word of warning if you are going over on the St Barths trip, DO NOT take a boat that looks like a twin hulled catamaran with a motor on it! The locals call it the vomit comit for a reason which we found out about too late!! Do go to the Grande Marche Market on your way into Phillipsburg for your groceries and cheap booze, you will be astonished at the wine selection and the prices are fair. ONE VERY IMPORTANT POINT ... DO NOT BUY YOUR DUTY FREE BOOZE ANYWHERE BUT THE AIRPORT WHEN YOU ARE LEAVING!!!. We have had the experience and it is not fun. They will confiscate it unless you can run back downstairs and have your bag pulled out and then repack your bottle in your suitcase and get back into line again. They have really done a great job at the new airport and have one of the most beautiful shopping malls once you have been checked through security. And the good thing is there are 3 duty free drinks stores with the same products and the same prices as they have in town. We were very peasantly surprised and do this all the time now. Before you go to Sint Maarten/St Martin, (SXM) listen online to one of their radio stations Island92. You will get some great information and while you are there if you tune in every morning just before 9.00 am you will get the daily marine and tropical weather report. Above all, be friendly to everyone, tip often when you get good service and relax and enjoy yourself. And you will see why this is one of our favorite islands.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the ocean at this resort so they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

We recently spent a week at the Royal Palm Beach Resort and were very pleased with the accommodations as well as the location. I had read other reviews warning people not to stay on the first floor. However, we were on the first floor and felt very safe and enjoyed the view of the sailboats in the bay. Birds flitted in the palm tree beside our deck as we ate breakfast out there. A sweet little cat joined us one evening for tea on the deck. Being an animal person, this was a perfect addition to a beautiful setting.

Our condo was very clean and well stocked with supplies for cooking if one chose to cook. We chose to enjoy some of the restaurants that were within walking distance. A fun place for dinner, with great live music, was right across the street at Lee's Roadside Grill. We also enjoyed dinners at Skip Jacks and Pineapple Pete's. We ate a couple of meals in the cabana at the resort. The food at the cabana was good, but don't go there if you're in a hurry as they definitely operate on island time.

The resort staff were friendly and helpful.

The drain in the master bath made a loud gurgling noise some of the time. When it happened late at night, that was annoying. We were thankful that it wasn't constant, but it did keep us from giving the resort a rating of 5.

There are some souvenir shops located on the property, and a mini grocery you should check out. We found items with small portions in the grocery. Perfect for a short stay. I found baggies of Splenda packets and was so thankful, since I had forgotten to take a small bag of them with me. They had fresh pastries available, and one day, we had a sandwich made there and took it to our deck and ate it oceanside.

There is a bigger grocery not too far away. We didn't walk there, but it is within walking distance. In addition to standard groceries, they have a salad bar and steam table with nice items. One day, we picked up some crab salad, mixed fruit, cheese and crackers and took that back to the condo to enjoy on the deck. So, whatever your dining style, you can find it pretty conveniently.

We would return to Royal Palm without hesitation. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Nice hotel, pool, beach, rooms, activities. Don't get a room on the first level as you will have no privacy.

Room Tip: anything but the first level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club
Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Maarten-St Martin
Location: Caribbean > St Maarten-St Martin > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.