We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"What I liked"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Key Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gold Key Motel
1570B Hwy 65 N, Hampton, IA 50441   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Hampton
University Park, Iowa USA
1 review
“"What I liked"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What I liked was the new owners who go all out to make your stay a good one. There were no stairs to climb,no trains to shake the walls and toot their horns:) I was able to pop corn, get a cold drink, watch flat screen TV, and check my emails all from a clean, comfortable and affordable room. What I liked was that I couldn't find anything not to like.
Rick U.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Owner at Gold Key Motel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
One of our favorite things about running a motel is helping our guests to feel happy and comfortable, and it really makes our day when someone tells us that we're making that happen! Do come again, and don't forget to request your favorite room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My family and I needed a place to stay while driving across Iowa and landed here. It was very quiet, clean and affordable. The staff was also very nice. The fridge and high speed internet was nice as well. Most hotels near the interstate seem too packed and over priced. This was a few miles (about 12) from the Interstate, which I think helped add to the quietness of it. Great place to stay, I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Owner at Gold Key Motel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We're glad you stayed with us, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have a friend that comes into town few times a year. It's nice to go there to visit him with no hassles and enjoy our quiet, private time. I look forward to my next visit. I'm very happy that you are so fair on your prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Owner at Gold Key Motel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We're so glad you feel welcome and comfortable! We want all our guests to feel at home here, and we always enjoy seeing the familiar faces come through our door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I travel to central iowa on business a few times a year and I have stayed at the gold key frequently. They have a homely feel to the rooms more so than the normal name franchises. The staff know your name and offer snacks gratis that you would otherwise be over charged for. They work great with a late nite or early morning check in. The fees are also very fair.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Owner at Gold Key Motel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We LOVE it when our guests feel at home! We look forward to seeing you again - we'll save your favorite room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

What a great place to stay! Nice , clean, neat rooms wwith everything you need for a one day stay or weekly visits. Have stayed here many times its always quiet and the people running this are so nice and helpful. Other motels in area have train issues and are overpriced and not worth the cost. The cost is very reasonable and close to town and acces to all major roads. I would recogmend this hotel to anyone traling to this area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B, Owner at Gold Key Motel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! We enjoy visiting with our guests to find out how we can make things better with each stay. We are continually striving to improve our facility and services, and we find that the little things DO make a difference. Come again - we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gold Key Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Key Motel

Address: 1570B Hwy 65 N, Hampton, IA 50441
Location: United States > Iowa > Hampton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old-fashioned service never goes out of style here! We're a small, locally owned & operated motel, without the fancy amenities, but with charming alternatives - borrow books, bake pizzas, buy snacks/ice on the honor system, grill steaks, sit on benches, pet the dog, and just generally make yourself at home. Don't come here if you really want to stay in chain hotels with pools, jacuzzis, and exercise rooms. You can wander around and look at the gardens, though, and check the patio table for fresh veggies to grill with your meat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gold Key Motel Hampton, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Key Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gold Key Motel to your Saves list