We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely horrible.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grundy Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grundy Center to your Saves list
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grundy Center
2101 Commerce Dr, Grundy Center, IA 50638   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundy Center
Iowa, United States
1 review
“Absolutely horrible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was in town for business at the local hospital. Arrived at 4pm on a Friday expecting to sleep until my shift started at midnight. No luck--kids running up and down the hall screaming. I figured since it was probably a kids birthday party, I let it go. Got off work at noon on Saturday, was up all day listening to kids screaming, blowing whistles and running up and down the halls. Going on 36 hours now with no sleep despite calling the front desk, I am not very happy. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was a problem-free visit and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We were a large group staying here as part of a family event and we were treated very hospitably. Room size was big and the handicap access shower was easy to use. The restaurant next door had above-average food and it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was my first stay at an AmericInn and I was very pleased. The dollar value was excellent and the facility was clean with large rooms and friendly staff. In addition there was a restaurant right across he parking lot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

AmericInn does happen to be Grundy Center's only motel, but that's not what makes it the best one! It's the best because it's locally-owned by folks who still care about hospitality and it's staffed by good people who take pride in their work and their property.

The rooms aren't fancy and don't offer much of a view, but they are spacious, clean and quiet. There's plenty of free parking, an awesome (handicap-accessible) pool and hot tub, nightly cookies at the front desk, onsite laundry facilities, and a complimentary breakfast complete with waffles and biscuits and gravy.

There's a restaurant and bar (Johnny Ray's) adjacent to the motel parking lot, and a Dollar Store on the other side, so although the motel is located on the edge of town, it's both convenient and safe.

The Grundy Center AmericInn is a country town treasure... I highly recommended this property!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Point, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. For some reason, I thought this was a new hotel....maybe new to AmericInn, but not a new hotel. Our room one the first floor was recently carpeted, but the bed and pillows were not the greatest. Staff was friendly, breakfast was the usual fare with waffles and sausage gravy.
I would stay here again, but I would ask for more pillows.
The restaurant next door was good and convenient.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunkletown, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was my first experience at an AmericInn. We were in Iowa to attended a funeral. This hotel offers a real homey feel with wonderful midwestern hospitality. Certainly a great value per dollar. Compared to where we're from Grundy Center is a real small town but what surprised us most was that this hotel parking lot was filled up every night. Lots of area construction workers and traveling sales people. The only real complaint we had was that housekeeping didn't service our room during our 2 night stay. Yes we were in the room most early mornings. She even greeted us with a warm hello every morning but never asked about the status of our room...too bad she missed the tips we left her! Again we were fine and weren't in the mood to chase her down. Otherwise, an excellent stay and we look forward to staying here again when we come back to visit the folks.

Room Tip: Park Place restaurant right down the road next to the park/waterpark in Grundy Center is AWESOME! Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

This hotel was a well maintained, a nice mid-range hotel choice. We were in the area for a family wedding, so it was our best option in terms of location. I have to give the staff kudos for their friendliness and professionalism. There were so many people checking in that day, the front desk clerk was getting worn out. She commented "I'm starting to sound like a broken record today", but otherwise showed no sign that all the inbound traffic was starting to get to her. I also liked the fact that the cleaning staff was comprised of English-speaking locals, instead of foreign-born river swimmers.

One evening my siblings and I were sitting around the lobby talking, when the night clerk came in. She chatted for awhile with the person she was about to replace, then that clerk left. The night clerk then came over to apologize for disturbing us with her "drama". It was very nice of her, especially since we hadn't heard anything she said, or noticed any drama. The only drama of the evening occurred when some of the wedding party came home from the bars, and it took some work to convince one to go to his room. His friends handled it, the staff did not freak out, so we appreciated that.

There is a laundry, and detergent available either at the front desk, or at the Dollar General store next door. The store is open on Sundays. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is a restaurant/bar across the parking lot.

My only complaint is there was a certain "ick" factor to the carpet in our room. It was definitely ready for a shampoo. Room 109, in case the management is reading this. I doubt I will ever have a reason to go back to Grundy Center, but if I did, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Americinn.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcenteramericinn, Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grundy Center, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Thank you for the great review - We are always pleased to know that the guests had a good experience at our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grundy Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grundy Center

Address: 2101 Commerce Dr, Grundy Center, IA 50638
Location: United States > Iowa > Grundy Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundy Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, AmericInn Hotels and Expedia so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grundy Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Hotel & Suites Grundy Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.