We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B, Great Hosts, Incredible Breakfasts, Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marsh House Bed & Breakfast

Marsh House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grinnell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marsh House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Marsh House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
833 East Street, Grinnell, IA 50112   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Grinnell B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B, Great Hosts, Incredible Breakfasts, Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

I have stayed at Marsh House on a number of occasions and I have to say that it is absolutely wonderful! The house itself is a treasure, full of antiques and big comfortable rooms with all the amenities. Linda and her husband are fabulous owners, going out of their way time after time to make our stays enjoyable and to meet our needs, be it an extra bed for a Grinnell student needing to get away or a few more guests for their incredible breakfasts. We have found them to go out of their way to be flexible in terms of last minute changes in travel plans. Their rates are very reasonable and their policies more than fair. You will not find a better place to spend a day or a week in Grinnell , Iowa, than at Marsh House. We give it our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Just spent 3 days at the Marsh House.We have stayed at many B&B over the years and this was the best one yet. The house is beautiful and almost like staying in a museum. (the website pictures do not do it justice). We tend to be picky about accommodations but these were immaculate, extremely comfortable and above anything we expected. The breakfasts were good and we greatly enjoyed talking the with owners. If you want to stay in Grinnell , highly recommend the Marsh House. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

I am a 2004 graduate of Grinnell College and recently returned to campus for an event. My parents always used to stay at the Marsh House when they visited and we always loved it. It hasn't changed, in fact if anything its improved. Service is impeccable, the rooms and beds are amazing and the breakfasts are both huge and extremely tasty. If you are visiting Grinnell for whatever reason, there is no better place to stay. Linda will make you feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

I reserved a room for one night at the Marsh House. My partner I were on a five day road trip across America-- along our driving journey across Nebraska towards Grinnell, Iowa we encountered severe thunder storms. The Nebraska Highway Patrol closed traffic I-80 eastbound traffic leaving us stranded in Omaha, NE. I called Linda, the owner of the Marsh and explained our situation. She took note of our unfortunate situation; however, what she didn’t disclose to us was the fact she was going to charge us for that evening. So seeing the charge was surprising and disheartening.

I called to speak with Linda about the charge and she was immediately upset and frustrated that I would dare ask for her to return payment to my credit card. She proceeded to vent her frustrations to me about, “customers taking advantage of her… and that she needed to raise her prices, and how she is tired of losing sleep over the B & B etc.”

It was very clear that running the B & B is extremely frustrating and that had no compassion towards our situation. This was not gorse negligence, it was an uncontrollable act of nature and she resented me for asking for a refund. Personally, I think that this situation should have been pardoned. Moreover, when she began to take her frustrations of running a business out on me it was clear she was crying “victim.”
I have now had to turn in a claim of fraud to Master Card and they are in the process of investigating this claim.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marsh House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsh House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 833 East Street, Grinnell, IA 50112
Location: United States > Iowa > Grinnell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Grinnell
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Marsh House Bed & Breakfast Grinnell, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marsh House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.