We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and good food too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bolingey Inn

The Bolingey Inn
Penwartha Road, Bolingey, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bolingey
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and good food too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed in Bollingey for a week in July 12 and dined at the Bollingey Inn three times.

On each occasion, the welcome was warm and friendly especially from Rebecca - she told us to mention her:-)

There's a large menu with many specials and each time the food was tasty, with good ingredients (especially the veg) and very filling. They also catered for the ridiculously fussy demands of our two children aged 10 and 6.

The pub itself has loads of character and good beers and is well worth a visit if you fancy somewhere a lot less busy than in neighbouring Perranporth.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    23
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great local village pub with great atmosphere & food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We came across this village pub when looking through the recommendations on tripadvisor website, it came up to all our expectations with friendly staff and great food. Make sure you are hungry when ordering food or ask for a smaller portion. We had Sunday roast and it was very nice..
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Hostelry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

On a recent visit to Perranporth we visited the Bollingey Inn on two separate occasions both times the food was superb the staff are very helpful both with advice regarding the food but also on the local area. We had problems finding a local inn we could eat at as we have two dogs Luckily for us we came across the Bollingey by chance we will certainly be going back

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great little pub, set away from it all - brilliant food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great food and helpful staff, worth a visit - we visited 3 times in one week!!!
The specials board had more than enough to choose from. Fresh local products, like fish and steaks were excellant.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

What a great place to relax, eat and not be treated as a tourist. The food is fabulous but make sure you are hungry as the portions are large. Plenty to choose from, both the standard menu and the specials board, we couldn't stop eating there for our two weks in Cornwall. Dietary requirements well catered for just talk to them the staff are really friendly and will do whatever they can to ensure your visit is a good one. It is small but perfectly formed and everyone is welcoming including their regular customers. Local produce, value for money, excellant cooking, excellant service - what more could you need. We will definately go back the next time we visit Cornwall.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bolingey Inn also viewed

Perranporth, Cornwall
Perranporth, Cornwall
 
Perranporth, Cornwall
Perranporth, Cornwall
 

Been to The Bolingey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bolingey Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.