We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great job of remodeling.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Starlite Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Starlite Village to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Starlite Village
1518 3rd Avenue NW, Junction Hwys 169 & 7, Fort Dodge, IA 50501-2202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fort Dodge
Leawood, KS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great job of remodeling.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

The remodeled motel was great. We had rooms in the back section which was completely redone with all modern fixtures, tile, lighting, etc. We were there for a Class Reunion and all commented on the upgrades.
Will stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    14
    16
    7
See reviews for
27
8
3
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

Room was very clean. Bedding was clean and white. Plenty of towels in the room. Nice layout with plenty of room. My bathroom was pretty good sized for a hotel. Looked as if the bathroom was recently redone. Young girl at front counter was very nice and helpful. Very convenient location for me because it is not in the middle of town. I was only looking for a room to stay in, not really here for any local events.
Pool area is huge. Pool is shallow and the hot tub is a bit on the small side but was comfortable. They do still allow smoking in pool area, however they do have the ashtrays placed where the smoke didn't bother me to bad.

If you have any complaints about this hotel you probably should just stay home.

  • Liked — Everything was great. The attached steak house was magnificant!
  • Disliked — Smoking in pool area.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

Our welcome to this hotel was lovely.We arrived the day before Thanksgiving so the place was very busy,all the staff made every effort to make sure all our requirements were dealt with,The room was spacious,clean well kept,warm(pretty cold outside)We adored the pool area,where we could sit and chat with our friends,The breakfast was a good mix of hot and cold food,covering most peoples tastes

  • Liked — the welcome we recieved by the staff
  • Disliked — nothing not to like
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottumwa, IA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

The pool was freezing. The hot tub was broken. Roof leaked above pool due to the rains. There was a party going on that the staff would not control so we did not get any sleep. Would not stay here ever again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Illinois
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

Stayed for 2 nights here, for a wedding. Rooms were on par with a super 8 and were clean but furnishings old and getting worn. Pool area in center is LOUD at night until it closes (pool closes 10 weeknights and 11 weekends). And, smoking is fine in pool area so for nonsmokers, it's not enjoyable to be in a big smoky area. Lobby by check-in desk has fireplace that's warm and inviting. Buford's restaurant offers free breakfast for guests which was very good and plenty of choices. At night their drinks are fine and low cost.

  • Liked — Free breakfast in morning
  • Disliked — Smoking allowed in pool area - huge indoor area in center of hotel.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
148 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2006

We stayed at the Best Western as it was the only one with a vacancy duing Fort Dodge Days. This is probably due to its being at the edge of town. There was a wedding reception in progress and there was at least one little league team staying there. There were lots of kids in the pool (just like another reviewer noted) but the noise really died down after 11:00, the pool closing time. The room was OK and the bed was comfortable. The shower/bath area was VERY tiny. Breakfast left something to be desired, probably due to the high occupancy. The sweet rolls were all gone (replaced with a loaf of bread) and the staff was kept busy refilling the eggs and sausages. No hot water for hot chocolate or oatmeal or tea. Our room was a smoking room, but there was no ashtray. Upon going to the desk to request one, the clerk commented that they "don't put ashtrays in rooms any more" as she handed one to me.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

Had a few problems. Requested a smoking room. No ashtrays. Had to wait until front desk personnel was free as housekeeping never answered their phone. Requested two extra pillows. Brought pillows 30 minutes later. We had to put on our own pillow cases. No towels at pool. Complimentary breakfast is only from 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Not quite enought time to sleep in and eat. Should at least extend it one hour. For $100.00 per night with tax, service could have been a little better.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Starlite Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Starlite Village

Address: 1518 3rd Avenue NW, Junction Hwys 169 & 7, Fort Dodge, IA 50501-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Fort Dodge
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Fort Dodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Starlite Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Starlite Village Hotel Fort Dodge
Best Western Fort Dodge
Fort Dodge Best Western
BEST WESTERN Starlite Village Fort Dodge, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Starlite Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.