We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge
3259 5th Avenue, Fort Dodge, IA 50501   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fort Dodge
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cozy and country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

First time here on a business trip. Rooms were comfortable, warm, and clean. Breakfast was good. The staff were courteous and prompt. I usually stay in Hilton's and Marriott chains and was pleasantly surprised with this country gem. Already booked here again for my return, this time for a 2 month stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
6
1
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The staff at Country Inn always make us feel very welcome. There's nothing like a cozy lobby, sincerely friendly smiles and helpful local advice to make a stay enjoyable. Leanna, Holly, and Jason make a great desk team. Each room was clean and neat. Refrigerators, microwaves, and fast wi fi are welcome perks, and the pool is beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have had an annual Thanksgiving gathering in Ft Dodge for the last 13 yrs. After trial and error at the other hotels in FD the rest of the group settled on this hotel and have stayed here for at least the last 10 yrs. The hotel is clean and neat--it got a makeover in recent years and now has updated linens. The pool area is clean as well, not huge but perfectly fine for us. Breakfast is hot and plentiful. What really sets them apart however is the staff--they are SO friendly! Some of us stay at my parents' house, and the staff doesn't blink an eye when we go over to the hotel to swim with the rest of our family. All in all this is a reliably great hotel--the best in FD for sure!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnolds park
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Upon arrival, the first thing I noted was the staff. Both were very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, without odor with clean furnishings. The breakfast was nice with many options (oatmeal, cereals, biscuits and gravy, etc) The wireless, cable, etc were all fine! It's one of the best options in Fort Dodge!

Room Tip: There is a gas station on the west side of this hotel. A slight odor was noted during my stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnfield, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Country Inn several times. It is always the same. Clean rooms,helpful staff. 100% no smoking. Hot breakfast,something for everyone. We always request second floor facing east. Easy check in and out. It's just a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: When we stay several days we always request the second floor. Nobody over you very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Nice sized, clean and well kept. The wing-back chair with ottoman was nice feature in which to relax after a long day on my feet. TV had a nice selection of local and cable channels in HD on a 32 inch flat panel. The breakfast had a selection of vegan friendly items (fruit, mixed cut fruit, oatmeal, bagels), but was occasionally not well stocked during my 3 night stay and of lower quality than other hotels.

Room Tip: |Rooms on top floor will be quieter due to thin floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyJepsen, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look at different options for our breakfast selections. We try very hard to find items that are suitable for all our guests. Again that you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This property is clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were very helpful. The beds were comfortable and the suite quite roomy and quiet. The small refrigerator was an excellent benefit. If I had to complain about anything, it would be the lack of healthy items in the breakfast space. Great place to stay. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge

Address: 3259 5th Avenue, Fort Dodge, IA 50501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Fort Dodge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Fort Dodge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Carlson so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Fort Dodge
Fort Dodge Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fort Dodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.