We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't eat here again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chen Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chen Garden
217 South 25th Street, Fort Dodge, IA
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 60 Restaurants in Fort Dodge
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: Located at the Crossroads Mall. Chen Garden phone number is listed as 515-955-3886. http://www.shopsatcrossroads.com/stores.htm
Restaurant details
Description: Located at the Crossroads Mall. Chen Garden phone number is listed as 515-955-3886. http://www.shopsatcrossroads.com/stores.htm
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Won't eat here again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Service was terrible, food was not that fresh, and the staff is incompetent. I wish I would have read more of the reviews on here before going and wasting my time and money. Do yourself a favor and eat somewhere else.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Needs work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Food wasn't good. Looked dried out like it was sitting out for hours. Most of the foil pans had little food no one thought to replace them. Long story short I left.
C

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algona, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and crablegs on weekends!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stop here often when In town. Wife really likes the crab legs on weekends and I like the different shrimps. Very reasonable price. Used to go over to the casino for crap legs and were too soggy and the meat came out insmall pieces here the crab meat comes out in nice pieces.

Big variety of stir fries. Good place!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Dodge, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Poor Restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

- Restaurant is dimly lit, decorations are archaic, the food is buffet style and appeared to have been out for hours on end. There seems to be MSG in everything. Only positive appeared to be fairly fresh fruit but the rest of the food was scarey at best.If I had not been with others, would have left immediately. Afterwards, we discussed it and all felt it was not a place we would visit again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Below average place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I went on a Thursday and the food looked old and tons of flies everywhere. The taste of the food was average, but I have definitely have had better. It is not worth the money you will spend. The hibachi is something to try. It is probably your above average feature, but other than that I am not coming back or not if I am paying ;)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chen Garden also viewed

 

Been to Chen Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chen Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.