We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and all mod cons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boll Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Boll Holiday Cottages
Save
You added The Boll Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
Brook St, Alva FK12 5AW, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Alva
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent location and all mod cons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Central location for anywhere you want to visit in Scotland, most places a day trip. Well located and comfortable accommodation. We have used it for friends visiting and they have always been very happy and highly recommend it. Owners don't hassle you but are there if you need anything.

Room Tip: I think it is the biggest cottage, the one overlooking the duck pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
4
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great little place to stay for a week or two, everything you need for a comfortable stay in a lovely part of the country. if the weathers good i highly recommend borrowing the owners BBQ and eating outside!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

What can I say.Brilliant in every way.Maria and Colin made us feel so welcome that we really felt it was our home while we were there.Very central to everything and the views were awesome.
We also loved the duck pond and and it was so peaceful and great walking distance to nearby pubs.
The cottage was light and airy and had a great feeling of space.
We certainly hope to return to Boll Cottage one day.Which is home from home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A heartfelt thank you to Maria and Colin (and Colin's mum!) for a peaceful and beautiful place to call "home" as we brought my Mum's ashes home to Scotland and Logie Kirk just up the road ... Boll Cottage was simply perfect. Look forward to a return visit very soon ... the 1 degree last morning made it almost impossible to go!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Boll Cottage is fantastic accommodation with everything you need for a great holiday. Very clean and comfortable. Maria and Colin made us very welcome. The upstairs bathroom was great with 2 teenage girls. The views of the hills were great. Peaceful but also within easy reach of Stirling and surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at The Boll Cottages for a long weekend in August Bank holiday. The accommodation was spotless and perfect for our needs.
The views were stunning but mostly Maria was an exceptional host who greeted us as we arrived she was warm and friendly and made us feel very welcomed.
My foster children who are 2 and 4 loved it so much that they called it 'their house' and keep asking when we are going back.
I am from the area so know it well but the literature in the cottage about surrounding attractions was very informative.
I will definitely return to stay here as I can visit all my family who live close by and it still feels like home. Great for families and small dogs welcome, which is an added bonus!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have been using The Boll Cottages for a number of years and I cannot recommend them highly enough. The Cottages are well maintained, well equipped and beautifully clean and Maria and Colin (the owners) are extremely welcoming. The Cottages are a home from home. They are in a beautiful setting with the Ochil Hills in the background and wonderful views to Stirling Castle and The Wallace Monument. The location is very central with Glasgow and Edinburgh in easy reach. If you prefer the countryside then it is an easy drive to Loch Lomond and The Trossachs and the beaches of the East Coast are also easily reached. For the golfers, as well as a number of local courses, Gleneagles and St Andrews are also within easy reach. There is something for everyone. I certainly am looking forward to going back again in 2013. Thank you for taking such good care of us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boll Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boll Holiday Cottages

Address: Brook St, Alva FK12 5AW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Alva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Alva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boll Cottages in Alva consists of five properties. Four of the properties - Ben Ever, Ben Cleuch, Silver Glen & Mill Glen - are centered around a cobbled courtyard. The fifth property, Boll Cottage, is situated overlooking our duck pond, complete with resident ducks and the occasional swan. Please view the separate gallery of photos. We also own a detached 3 bedroomed house in LEUCHARS 5 miles from ST ANDREWS & only 2 miles from Tentsmuir Forest & Kinshaldy Beach. All our cottages are suitable for children and pets except Boll Cottage. All of the cottages are tastefully decorated and furnished to the same high quality and come fully equipped with all the necessary implements, appliances and utensils to ensure that your stay is as comfortable as possible. It is worth noting that the courtyard and ground floor accommodation is all at the same level which is particularly important to anyone with impaired mobility. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boll Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.