We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice of India

Spice of India
2 Holt Road, Horsford, Norwich NR10 3DD, England
01603 891891
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 restaurants in Horsford
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Best !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have eaten here many times over many years and never been disappointed. The atmosphere is always pleasant. The food is outstanding, but also the welcome here is warm and genuine. The service is attentive and friendly, the waiter even took the opportunity and time to demonstrate origami with a paper serviette, brilliant. This all made for a very good evening. Will be returning soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    53
    29
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the best curries I've had in ages...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Eleven of us from work went on a Monday night... I confess, I wasn't expecting much - stale popadoms left from weekend, reheated veg curry, poor atmosphere in empty restaurant. I was wrong! Guess I should not pre-judge.

The restaurant was surprisingly busy! Feel a bit guilty as we were noisy... oh well! The food was great, and clearly freshly cooked. The service was friendly and efficient - contrary to many of the other comments on the site.

Good stuff, would happily eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Dinner with four people starters mains and wine was all brought with perfect timing. Friendly waiting staff and I have to say the best Indian food I have ever tasted!!
Friendly venue to locate and park at, warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere.
We had a great meal out and my wife and I would come back here with or without friends again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I recently met 3 friends for a meal when visiting from Australia as we had all enjoyed a meal there on my previous visit 2 years before. My friends go there regularly and we are made very welcome, even when chatting away after the meal we did not feel pressured to leave!
The food is very good and well served by efficient and friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, genuinely the worst service ever..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited here tonight as staying in the area and fancied something different from chain restaurants. Found this place and thought it looked pretty good, decor is nice enough and the restaurant was busy so good signs. That's where it went downhill, now I need to be specific here, I can't name and shame as they don't wear name badges but it's the slim waiter with the balding and shaved hair, with a beard and chunky specs. Wow, this guy needs a course on customer service and quickly. Amongst generally surly, bad tempered and rude service he did a couple of things which stand out. My wife asked him about portion sizes and his answer was so rude we were both taken aback, then I watched as another table asked if they could take food home, as he took there plates away (and passed our table) he was actually bad mouthing them to himself! He spent the rest of the evening storming around with a face like thunder, as another reviewer said, you feel uncomfortable being there. I have to say the food was great which is why they haven't got 1 star from me, but the service is just so bad. If your the owner reading this, seriously, invest some time training this guy, or send him on his way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice of India also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Spice of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.