We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowza! Very impressed with Hotel Julien!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Julien Dubuque to your Saves list
Hotel Julien Dubuque
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001 (Formerly the Julien Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wowza! Very impressed with Hotel Julien!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

My husband and I checked in earlier today for a weekend at the Hotel Julien, and I am very impressed with the room and the facilities. Whirlpool Suite is beautiful! Excellent bed, great amenities (nice TV, free wireless, super comfy robes), lovely bathroom, great two person whirlpool. Views of both the river and the city (a corner room with windows on two walls). Hubby went to the workout room and I went to the pool right away. Both were excellent. Workout facilities were clean with very nice machines (treadmills, ellipticals, weights). Pool was small but very pleasant. I book lots of hotels online, and I'm typically a little disappointed (the online pictures always seem a bit nicer than the real thing!). This is not the case for Hotel Julien. I am totally impressed, and this is where I will stay anytime I visit Dubuque!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    200
    55
    25
    21
See reviews for
171
437
30
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Top rating in all areas. Beautiful decor, friendly service, clean, spacious and unbelievably affordable. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed at the Julien because we didn't want to drive home after a night at the casino. Figured we could make it 3 blocks and we did. Beautifully refurbished hotel with nice amenities. Very comfortable bed, nice roomy bathroom. Only druther is that we would have liked a Mississippi view. Had breakfast at my favorite local coffee shop. Cafe Manna Java.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Plain state
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Loved everything about the hotel. Great check in very friendly. Pool was awesome no one was there had everything to ourselves loved that. Room service was very efficent and food was hot and good!
Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Last year I had my wedding reception at the Hotel Julien. They just underwent a major renovation and the results are absolutely amazing. It had that boutique hotel feel. It is just so classy and elegant. They did a wonderful job with the interior decor. Everything is high class. I got rave reviews from my wedding guests about their hotel accommodations. My husband and I stayed in the Capone Suite - it is spectacular. We gave a lot of tours of our room, best accommodations we have ever had. Stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

If you were planning an arbitrary spring break trip to Dubuque, you might not expect to find an awesome luxury hotel right in the midst of all the sights and activities, but that's exactly what we got when we stayed at the Hotel Julien. A historic hotel, it has been restored inside and out to become a really great place. From the moment we walked in to the opulent-looking two story lobby until we checked out of our beautiful room two days later, everything was perfect.

Our Executive King room was spacious with a huge comfy bed, view toward the Mississippi River, and really pretty decor (throughout the entire hotel there are neat historic/reproduction art pieces that really tie in nicely with the river history. Very cool addition to the historic vibe of the place). The bathroom was quite spiffy, from the French door entryway to the glass-walled shower and fancy Aveda products. Overall it was very comfortable, down to the fluffy bathrobes in the closet, and we were able to feel well-rested staying here.

Amenity-wise, we saw the whole range and loved each bit of it. We made full use of the spacious hot tub in the airy pool room; having spent the day skiing at nearby Sundown Mountain, our muscles needed it. The restaurant, Caroline's, was quite good, but I'll review that separately. The lobby was very pretty with lots of comfy chairs, views of Main Street, and a few neato touch-screen computers for guest use, though there was also free wi-fi throughout.

Finally, they just opened a spa at the hotel, and we got fantastic hot stone massages. The whole spa is gorgeous, decorated in soothing deep hues and natural-looking elements. Even the pre-spa "relaxation room" was awesome, with the most comfortable chairs ever in a dimly lit space with fireplace and soothing soft music. We almost didn't want to get up for the massages, but were glad we did. The expert massage therapists melted away tension from our prior ski adventure and left us feeling amazingly refreshed.

This whole trip was a bit of a splurge for us, but when you add it up, everything was of the utmost quality and at really reasonable prices. The Dubuque trip was great, but I literally can't think of anything that wasn't fantastic while we were inside the walls of the Hotel Julien. I'm not sure when we'll be back up this way, but I do absolutely know where we'll stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Great location in the heart of downtown within walking distance of restaurants, shops, the port, and Fenlon Place Elevator. Historic building built in 1914 but very well maintained. Lobby and rooms certain give you a feeling of luxury. Comfortable bed. Elegant and very clean bathroom. Definitely a great choice!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Julien Dubuque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.