We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Save Saved
You added Hotel Julien Dubuque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Julien Dubuque
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001 (Formerly the Julien Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Dubuque
new england
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a beautiful large room at a very reasonable price with free parking. and located on main street with easy access to other restaurants. Breakfast was very good. The hotel has a lot of old world charm with history. The staff were very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear abkovacs,

Thank you for sharing of your experience at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Appreciate your recognizing the large space in some of the guest rooms. The recent renovation allowed for the expanding of guest room space by reducing the number of guest rooms overall.

We appreciate your recognizing the staff for their service and the noting of the free parking.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    145
    38
    20
    14
See reviews for
124
311
26
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've had the good fortune to stay at the Hotel Julien twice now, during trips to Dubuque. This is our go-to hotel when we visit the Dubuque/Galena area (only 15 minutes from Galena). The suites are spacious, well appointed with a fantastic European style shower. I have been able to find Groupons for this hotel for $99 per night. It is always clean and always a positive experience. While this is not walking distance from the casino, it's close by, and it is a (nice, long) walk to everything downtown Dubuque offers. My only complaint is that the bar across the street can get loud on weekends (people talking/shouting outside) if your room faces West. I will definitely be back though! My wife and I did also eat at their restaurant which was good, but nothing remarkable.

Room Tip: Do not pick a room that faces the street (West) if you are staying on a weekend there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear roseleif,

Thank you for being a returning guest and for sharing your review on Hotel Julien Dubuque. Glad to read of your enjoyment of the hotel and the surrounding neighborhood.

Hope to see you again soon!

Team Hote Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here.
The room was beautiful and a good value for the money. We thought the restaurant was a bit pricey. The fridge was well stocked and the price for a bottle of wine was fair. The exercise room and the pool were clean. The staff were helpful not overly friendly... but they knew their stuff. We would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: eat breakfast else where. The breakfast is too expensive Room 606 was very quiet facing south with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Tosatraveler13,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

Glad that you were able to enjoy the old world charm and the modern amenities of the guest room. A lot of hours and details went into recreating the hotel with its rich heritage in mind, while ensuring the traveler of today would be pleased.

Hope to see you soon.

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a lovely find in Dubuque. We stayed here on a weekend trip to Galena. The room was beautiful. The hotel has a lot of old world charm but the room was modern with a flat screen tv and a great bathroom. There were 3 weddings going on the night we stayed and the hotel was full, but you would never know, the hotel was very quiet. We found a great restaurant, gelato/coffee shop within walking distance. Also very close to the Port of Dubuque. Free parking in the back of the hotel. Only downside was the restaurant for breakfast was noisy and there did not seem to be enough servers. Overall a very excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear happytrails42,

We want to say thank you for taking the time to share of your experience at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

The furnishing in the lobby are replicas of the past look of the hotel. Numerous photos were reviewed and hours of research were conducted to work towards an exact appearance of the past. Glad to read of your enjoyment of it.

Our apology for the restaurant concern; it is a very busy dining room at many times of the day.
See you soon!

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

From the first this hotel did not disappoint. Easy to find - the large Hotel Julien sign on the roof was hard to miss. Free parking - lot behind the hotel was also easily accessible. Sign in-very efficient. The best parts are the combination of a well done renovation of a historic building and a terrific downtown location where you can park your car and walk to restaurants, night spots and shops. Our room, 423 faced the river - terrible daytime view of roof of bldg. addition with a/c units-etc, but at night it was great with city lights visible to the east. Next time I would beg for a room much, much higher up. There are 8? floors. Restaurant in hotel was just average-food wise, but our server, Anna, was excellent, One question - any ghosts? Table lamp turned off at midnight, was on again at 3:00 a.m. - perhaps it was not turned off completely (had a swivel switch)

Room Tip: go high and east side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Beck W,
Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque.

Glad that you were able to enjoy the old world charm renovation. Yes, there are 8 floors to the hotel, with guest rooms on floors 3 through 8. The Al Capone Suite is the only guestroom on the 2nd floor of the hotel. The Al Capone Suite features two full sized bedrooms king beds private bathrooms, one includes a whirlpool, full kitchen, dining and living rooms.

It was great to read of your enjoyment of the neighborhood. Great for people watching and just hanging out. Anna will be thrilled to read of your recognizing her service.

Hope to see you soon.

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is the hotel that Al Capone possibly owned, and definitely stayed at!
Our room was beautiful, there was a large bath with a huge frameless glass shower. Everything was spotless, the mattress was good, and the hotel restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced--not cheap, but not excessive.

Downsides: No valet service, no grab-bars in shower, and no liquid 1/2 and 1/2 in the room

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear susanandlarry,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Glad that you enjoyed the appointed bathroom amenities and guest room.

Caroline's cooks will be most appreciative of your recognizing their service.

We look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, il
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We made a reservation on line for Sat., Sep.28, 2013. When we retired to our room about 10pm we found that we were directly above a loud DJ at a wedding reception. We called the front desk to complain and found they could do nothing at that time. In the morning we learned from the person at the front desk that there were several complaints and they could do nothing do resolve our complaint except hand me the GM's business card. I would have thought a hotel of this 'quality' would have a plan in place for dealing with customer's complaints. I guess they do:act polite, stall, and get them out of the hotel. I am still waiting to hear from the manager, although I did get an email asking how my stay was. I would recommend you stay at a Holiday Inn at half the cost staffed with people that can resolve problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear James P,

Thank you for commenting on your stay at Hotel Julien Dubque. Our sincere apology for the music that caused a restless night; please know that if we had the ability to move you to another room, we would have in a moment.

The "interior" room types are all located on the 3rd floor of the hotel, thus the reason as to why your room reserved was on that floor. These rooms all feature expanded living spaces with the many amenities of a suite, though are priced at a discount due to the lack of window views.

We value every guests' comments. We grow through caring guests as yourself.

Thank you.

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Julien Dubuque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.