We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An elegant, comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Julien Dubuque to your Saves list
Hotel Julien Dubuque
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001 (Formerly the Julien Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An elegant, comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband I stayed for just one night as part of a mini vacation along the Mississippi River in Iowa. The hotel was a nice departure from the usual dependable but monotonous chain hotels. The fabrics and furnishings in our room were lovely, and the public spaces including the lobby and the lower level ladies' room are beautifully done.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Bets54,

Thank you for sharing of your experience at Hotel Julien Dubuque! We appreciate your noting the restoration work and the public space appointments.

A great many hours of research was conducted on old photos to verify that the restoration would return the hotel to its historic past.

We hope to see you soon! Make it a two day trip, so there is time to take a tour of the hotel to share the histrory of her treasured past.

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    200
    55
    25
    21
See reviews for
171
437
30
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is an unexpected delight! Beats the boring chains for sure. The hotel is close to everything you need. This beautifully restored hotel is definitely worth the trip. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, the service was good. The restaurant was also good. The hotel is right on the Mississippi River with a good view. I'm a picky traveler and don't often feel that I have an exceptional value unless I stay at a five star and pay an exceptional price. Dubuque is a beautiful River Town and this hotel just tops off the visit. You walk into the lobby and go back in time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Marcia K,


It was a pleasure to read of your enjoyment of Hotel Julien Dubuque. Glad to know that we were a surprise that you were not expecting to find, as well as the unknown secret that Dubuque is.

Thank you for the kind words about the lobby and the decor.

Please return soon!

Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, ND
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

What Service! I would highly recommend this establishment to all. All staff was extremely attentive to providing excellent service. The facility is well maintained and clean. Location is convenient to the downtown area for walking distance to available nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Neli M,

Great to read of your enjoyment of Hotel Julien Dubuque and the surrounding area! Thank you very much for sharing such kind words about the staff, the hotel, and your opinion of the hotel conditions.

All the staff work tirelessly hard to provide thes best in hospitality in the Midwest!

We look forward to your visiting again soon!

Thank you!

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was traveling through Dubuque a couple weeks ago and was recommended this hotel by a friend. I was extremely satisfied with my stay and experience. This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have stayed in for some time. Staff was excellent, and rooms were top notch. I especially enjoyed the view overlooking downtown Dubuque and the Mississippi River.

One thing that I especially liked about this hotel was the location. Located in the downtown area, there were many bars & food places within a couple blocks. Many different choices. I did not eat in the hotel ( was looking for someplace a little more casual) but did have a few drinks in the hotel bar later that night. The bar patio has the same look as most rooms, great overlook of the River and downtown. Also, bar service was some of the best I have had in recent memory of any hotel stays.

I would highly recommend this hotel when staying in Dubuque. Price, the location, amenities, and overall quality is second to none.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Chris O,

Thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Dubuque and Hotel Julien. We appreciate your kind words shared, and glad top read of your venturing out to the neighborhood.

The surrounding neighborhood offers quite the variety of dining, entertainment, gambling, and relaxing options to enjoy.

Hope to see you soon again,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braidwood, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

checking in a extra $50 put on my mastercard if something is broke in your room when you leave ? going to our room keycard into room to find a worker hiding behind door real nice place NOT. AND THERE IS NOT A REAL PERSON THATS TAKES RESPONDIBLY THERE .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear robert 6,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. The majority on branded and independant hotels reserve a dollar amount on a traveler's credit card to cover any potential incidental charges as room service, faxes, honor bar refreshments and the like.

In researching your concern about the associate being in the room, a final check is conducted on the room for cleanliness and for resticking of the mini-bar and snacks. It seems that our staff member made a poor assumption that it was another associate that was entering the room, and not yourself. My sincerest apology for this conduct; all guest concerns are reviewed and handled accordingly.

Thank you for staying with us!

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was my first time staying at Hotel Julien and I loved it. The hotel has a rich history but also all of the modern amenities. The room was great and had everything we needed including a stocked wet bar/refridgorator . The hotel is in a great location because it is downtown and within walking distance of several restaurants and bars. But, Hotel Julien has a great bar of its own with a wonderful, very comfortable outside deck overlooking the river. The deck is awesome and you don't want to miss it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear BradB49816,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Hotel Julien Dubuque. Glad to have read of your enjoyment of the neighboring restaurants and bars. And that you had time to relax on the patio of the Riverboat Lounge.

Hope that you can return to make it your second time to visit Hotel Julien Dubuque.

Sincerely,

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel Julien is a very nice property and centrally located. We booked out trip via travelocity and, unfortunately, it took quite a while for the reservation to show up in the hotel's computer system. The staff just didn't have the wherewithall and creativitiy to get us checked in and into a room so they made us wait 30-minutes until it showed up. We were in a king room that was really spacious and had a seperate sitting room, but it didn't have windows. I thought this was super weird, but it was a pleasant room, and I honestly, didn't miss the windows. There was a sky light, so it wasn't completely cave-like. I would stay here again, but the service was a little to be desired.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jeanne,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Hotel Julien Dubuque. Our apologyf for the delay in the time that it took Travelocity to forward your reservation request. Reserving rooms through third parties at times may slow the process.

We would suggest that you book directly through the hotel's website or call the hotel to reserve. All rates viewed via third party and the hotel should all in in line.

Glad to read of your enjoyment of the interior king room. This room type is only available on the 3rd floor of the hotel. Comments have been read that anyone wanting total darkness love this room location.

Thank you for staying with us! Hope to see you soon!

Team Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Julien Dubuque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.