We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Julien Dubuque to your Saves list
Hotel Julien Dubuque
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001 (Formerly the Julien Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fairfield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quite lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Julien Dubuque Hotel for our 40th anniversary and we only have good things to say about it. The room was nice, we liked the old style and the spaciousness of the room. The bathroom was also very nice and the staff was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    225
    67
    35
    23
See reviews for
199
533
36
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here with a Living Social deal and had a Junior Suite. The room was very nice and spacious. The shower/bathroom area was quite nice. The hotel in general was clean and comfortable. Breakfast at the restaurant left something to be desired; the coffee was not good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

What a treat to stay at the Hotel Julien in Dubuque, Iowa, recently!
Named for the city's founder, the hotel encourages connecting with the region's vibrant Mississippi River past through design, decoration and historic photos. A 30-million dollar restoration has made it a truly remarkable hotel with the latest amenities including an indoor pool, spa, fitness and business centers, and rooms that are elegant and comfortable. The beds are grand and welcoming. Plush bathrobes are provided to guests.
I really appreciated the ample and well-designed lobby that offers many comfy places to sit and wait for friends while looking out at Main Street or checking email on the hotel's computers.
The hotel's top notch restaurant, Caroline's, served probably the best omelet I've ever eaten. The vegetables it contained were bursting with flavor. Delicious.
My only regret was not having time to explore Dubuque further using the hotel as a base. River towns along the Mississippi are fascinating because of their wonderful history and Dubuque has plenty of that as well as attractions like a tram that offers a view of the city from the bluffs above it. My experience at the Julien makes me want to plan just such a future trip!

Room Tip: The hotel is a favorite hot spot on weekends, so rooms higher up might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is an excellent historic facility. Rooms are on the small side, but tastefully decorated, and quite comfortable. Location is perfect for downtown attractions, bars, and restaurants. Walking distance to riverfront attractions in good weather. In-hotel restaurant is excellent for breakfast, I haven't eaten there other than breakfast. Bar (I forgot the name) is good, always friendly bartenders. Front desk will sometimes give guests a "two-for-one" coupon for the bar. Now the complaint, in three different stays over the past few months I have twice been charged for mini-bar items I have not taken. Upon calling back, the front desk willingly removed the charge. I'll stay here again, when in Dubuque, but I will certainly CHECK MY CREDIT CARD STATEMENT, after the fact.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is beautiful. The furnishings are really impressive and comfortable. The rooms are very clean, comfortable, and the beds linens are really nice and plush. The robes are really nice, warm and soft. The bathroom was beautiful, nice double shower and the towels are really plush and soft.

I would highly reccommend this hotel to anyone, it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Our room was very elegant, clean and comfortable. The bathroom included a double walk-in shower and Aveda products. Plenty of pillows and a comfortable bed. Snacks and a wet bar are there for your convenience. Altogether, I would highly recommend this rivertown hotel! Walk to some really nice restaurants, the Mississippi, boutiques and parks. Staff very welcoming and gracious; lobby is very urban and chic.

Room Tip: Rooms odd numbered face the riverfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I recently visited there as a quick getaway. I've often passed this hotel when I lived near Dubuque years ago and heard about its long history. Supposedly owned by Al Capone one can even stay in his suite complete with vault. However any room one will find most satisfactory I believe. They recently completed a multimillion dollar renovation to restore the hotel to a circa 1915 splendor but with modern amenities. I must admit this was the vibe we found we went there. The place has jazz music of a far gone era playing in the lobby area, there is a pool and exercise room, spa with treatments and very nice restaurant to boot. Also the hotel is close to the riverfront and offers shuttle service to the casinos in the area. Our room had a bed so comfy we didn't want to leave! I would recommend this to anyone just looking for a getaway and maybe taking in some history, everything was immaculately clean as well. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Julien Dubuque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.