We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Hotel Julien, Dubuque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Julien Dubuque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Julien Dubuque to your Saves list
Hotel Julien Dubuque
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001 (Formerly the Julien Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Jackson, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love the Hotel Julien, Dubuque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have stayed twice and have been completely happy with our stay. We have stayed in both the double queen room and a king suite. Both were beautifully decorated and super clean. The beds are fabulous; great linens and bath robes. The rooms super quiet. We ate breakfast in the onsite restaurant- Caroline’s and thoroughly enjoyed that as well. I would absolutely recommend Hotel Julien for your stay in Dubuque!

Room Tip: We stayed in the King suite room 602- great view in 2 directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    199
    55
    25
    21
See reviews for
170
435
30
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in their Capone suite for a long weekend. It is worth the value. Don't count on great river views although that improves on higher floors. Restaurant was very accomodating to our various needs.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Since Galena's hotels were all booked, we ventured 15 minutes west to Dubuque. This hotel is classic with an antique lobby, yet the rooms are modern with Keurig coffee pod machine, large showers, flat-screen TV and comfortable beds. My one small complaint would be extremely limited closet space (only 3 hangers worth). I would definitely stay here again. Great location on Main Street with a few good restaurants, and close to Highway 20.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Julien, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your review! Dubuque is a great alternative when traveling to the Galena area. We are so close and have so much to offer in the downtown area. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Had stayed here before and was delighted. Not any more! Rooms (suite) was unacceptable in that it was never cleaned. Maids came in and made the bed and left clean towels but kitchen counter had crumbs all over and dirty dishes were never removed. Bathroom floor was never wiped up in 3 days. Original shower had no shower head and we were ,moved to another room with no telephone in bedroom. When they finally straighted it all out I was told that I would be comped for all the inconvience. When I went to check out I was told that no one had said that. Restaurant was due to open at 6 am but when no one showed up it was "oh well" Staff was nice but they didnt have a clue in how to run or maintain a Hotel. I dont like to use the word dumb but I believe everyone was playing that game. Sorry, could take a lot but not dirty rooms.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere where you trust the management! Not there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Julien, General Manager at Hotel Julien Dubuque, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
It is our goal with each guest to exceed your expectations, I apologize that we did not do so during your recent visit. When concerns are presented, we do our best to accommodate our guests and make them comfortable. As you know, we did provide consideration to your account for your concerns as several staff members tried to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible. We will continue to focus on our guest's experiences and making them enjoyable at Hotel Julien Dubuque.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is a wonderful renovated historic hotel in downtown Dubuque. The room that I had was a king suite with a large bath including a large shower, nice shower head (almost as good as Holiday Inn select which is shower head heaven), a living room and sitting are in the bedroom. The staff was friendly and efficient without being overbearing. The hotle is convenient to downtown restaurants, walking distance to casinos and local night spots. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Stay here, there are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is very nice. We stayed in a King executive suite overlooking the river. Our room was very clean, bed was very comfortable, towels and robes were top notch. Food and beverages were great throughout our stay. Hotel is in a great location for all activities. Easy walk to shops, casino and several restaurants. The only reason I didn't give this hotel five stars is because of the air conditioning system(blew out warm air when you turned it up, so we had to keep the temperature very cool). The other complaint would be it is hard to get the front desk to answer the phone. Tried twice in the evening during our stay and couldn't get an answer when called hotel a few days before the trip. Front desk personal was very friendly, but may have been short staffed. Would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful historic hotel with an updated feel. Aveda products. Comfy beds. Large rooms. Great restaurant for breakfast. Had hard time with parking as there were 2 wedding receptions going on. Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Julien Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien Dubuque

Address: 200 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001 (Formerly the Julien Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Julien Dubuque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience this remarkable full service boutique hotel, offering the area's most elegant accommodations, cuisine and impeccable service. After a $30+ million complete renovation, the Hotel Julien Dubuque is now a true landmark of luxury and sophistication. The hotel's contemporary elegance and sumptuous comfort complement the grandeur of the historic Old Main District, which is home to many of the incredible sights and cultural experiences the region has to offer.Whatever journey brings you to the Hotel Julien Dubuque, we invite you to set aside a little time to take good care of yourself.Potosa Spa & fitness facility, located on the lower level of the Hotel Julien Dubuque, is the definition of an exceptional boutique hotel spa: Steeped in service, designed with tranquility in mind, true to the culture and history of the area, and restorative for mind and body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Julien Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Julien Dubuque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.