We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved our girls weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4055 McDonald Dr., Dubuque, IA 52003 (Formerly Dubuque Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Savanna, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Saved our girls weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a girls weekend planned at Hilton Garden Inn. They ended up messing up our reservation and we refused to stay there. Last minute we called Comfort Inn. Trish..the desk clerk at Comfort Inn...was able to set us up with 2 King Suites. She saved our girls weekend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
24
16
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prophetstown, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

When another hotel messed up our reservation, we called Dubuque Comfort Inn came to the rescue!! They were able to take care of us at the last minute and with GREAT customer service! Trish was helpful and pleasant! We had great rooms and a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Clean, updated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Found the comfort inn after a group of friends needed 2 rooms. They were able to get us 2 next to each other last minute and upgraded us to suites! They are going through a remodel right now. Everything was very nice. Great location by the mall and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Exterior is a little rough and the hotel is between a lumber yard and another hotel,but was nice inside.Clean rooms and helpful front desk check in was fast.As always with choice hotels free breakfast and wifi in the rooms,and the price is right.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Hill, MA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel seems to have the bases covered very well. It seems to be in fine condition, has a helpful and concerned staff (Kelly was especially helpful at the desk), and the sleeping conditions were just great.

I was passing through Dubuque on a motorcycle tour and checked in here late one afternoon. They had a fine welcome waiting for me with a very quiet first-floor room.

Internet WiFi service was competent.

There are not many dining choice in the area, so be prepared to take a little drive.

Breakfast was more than what is usual with hotels these days, and included some really great, fresh scrambled eggs.

This would be a fine choice for those visiting Dubuque, but bear in mind that it's about three miles from the center of the city and the Mississippi River.

Room Tip: The hotel was undergoing renovations in early September 2012, so make sure you get one of the newly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and there was NO ONE at the front desk without any way to contact anyone. We waited several minutes and then heard a phone ringing. A person I could only assume was an employee came to the desk, phone to ear, and proceeded to have a prolonged conversation on the phone without the slightest acknowledgement to us, standing right there. I say assume it was an employee because there was no name tag, no uniform, no indication whatsoever that she worked there. Quite the opposite, in fact. Unkempt and unprofessional in appearance to the extent that bra straps were blatantly visible. Coming from a hospitality background, this shocked me. I've been to very nice economical properties within the same comp set as this hotel and this hotel definitely was sub-par from the very first and most crucial part of a stay -- the first impression at check-in. That being said, the employee was pleasant and friendly once off the phone.

The floor we were on had a hall full of no smoking signs on the doors we passed by, yet completely reeked of old cigarettes. Our room itself smelled clean, and while I found one stained hand towel in the bathroom and most lamps and the hairdryer in want of a serious dusting, overall the room appeared clean. The beds were comfortable and the room was spacious.

My companions went to use the pool and hot tub and reported the next morning that there was a definite film of some sort across the top of the pool, green mold/mildew ringing the pool itself, abnormal amounts of dirt at the bottom of the pool, and some sort of white flecks (described as looking closely like mosquito larvae) floating in the hot tub. I for one am glad I did not partake of these particular amenities.

We will be returning to the area frequently in the next year and are looking for a 'home' hotel if you will; this will not be it. It would be very helpful to have some sort of indication of who employees are with the assistance of a uniform and name tags -- even just a solid polo and khakis would do well to take this hotel to a more professional and cohesive level.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Located on side of expressway. Nothing to write home about exterior wise, but the comfort level fantastic! Clean, very comfortable pillows and beds. Suite worth the extra couple of dollars w/ king and queen beds. Bathrooms on small side but not bad, very clean. Has small divider between beds that gives a tad more privacy. Great staff/manager, unbelievably helpful and considerate. FREE breakfasts are hot meals, you can make your own waffles. Good and satisfying. Pool and hot tub are intimate tho small. Pool stays open until 12 am for adult swim. Nice! Truly a good deal for the dollar. Kids and animals welcome but you do not hear them! They were there and I did not hear them except while I was waiting at elevator. Does it get better than that? I even purchased pillows, they were that comfortable, and made only for Choice hotels! Wonderful stay/hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 4055 McDonald Dr., Dubuque, IA 52003 (Formerly Dubuque Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dubuque Comfort Inn® is conveniently located near many area attractions, including America's River at the Port of Dubuque, Diamond Jo Casino, Dubuque Greyhound Park & Casino, Five Flags Civic Center, the Dubuque County Fairgrounds, Sundown Mountain and the Kennedy Mall. This Dubuque, IA hotel is just minutes from Loras College, Clarke College and the University of Dubuque. The Finley Hospital and Mercy Medical Center are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Dubuque
Dubuque Comfort Inn
Quality Inn Dubuque, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.