We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful 50th anniversary location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 Dodge Street, Highway 20 W, Dubuque, IA 52003-5203   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
“A wonderful 50th anniversary location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We hosted a dinner last Saturday evening at the Best Western Plus and many of our out-of-town guests stayed at the hotel. Diana was great at helping us plan the event, the food and service were great and the room was most welcoming. Thanks to all who helped with our celebration

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    105
    34
    7
    9
See reviews for
151
89
19
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hazel Green, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We recently had our class reunion over the weekend in the Executive Boardroom. The class committee thoroughly enjoyed working with the sales department to book the private dinner and group block accommodations for our classmates. The meal and service was top notch and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning an event.
My wife and I stayed overnight at the hotel and the room was very spacious and clean. We ate breakfast in the morning in Champps and the food was delicious. This is our second stay at this hotel and we could not have been more pleased with everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungendore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

It's a very comfortable hotel, excellent sports bar, guest laundry, free shuttle to downtown and helpful desk and waiting staff.

The covered pool and games area looks like great fun for kids and families.

Room Tip: There is a smoking floor and if you are not a smoker, make sure not to stay on that floor, as the sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Ansgar, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently stayed here with a group of family members for our daughter's wedding (at another venue). The staff could not have been more accommodating. The complimentary breakfast was yummy. My only complaints would have to do with the pool area. The water was quite cool, but the air temperature was very warm. But the children didn't seem to mind. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emporia, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed staying here. We arrived ahead of our scheduled reservation date, and Desiree accommodated us with a very nice room at a fair rate. The rooms are clean and comfortable and well-appointed with amenities. Champps Restaurant next door serves great meals and a superb complimentary breakfast. Desiree and Jalessa at the front desk answered questions about what to see in town. Dubuque is a charming community across the river from Wisconsin and Illinois, and spending time in Eagle Point park is a must. My wife was here on business, and we may not get this way again, but if we do we'll stay at the Best Western Plus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Even on Friday and Saturday evenings, lights out at 11:00! Pool closes at 11:00 with staff blinking the lights on and off. So our large wedding party hit Champps, but they close at 12:30. The party continued to a hotel room. There is a 'hall monitor' or some type of security guy that takes his job very seriously. He knocked on the hotel room door and actually told our group of adults to SHUT UP. The wedding party engulfed the entire third floor, so noise complaints was highly unlikely. Our party had to go into the parking lot to continue normal levels of conversation for a group of 20. The 'security' guy follows us outside and threatens to call the police. Seriously? Again, this was not a group of kids. This is no place to stay if you don't want to sleep after 11:00 pm.

The event planning coordinators were a delight to work with. The rehearsal dinner, wedding reception and dance were amazing. Very disappointed in the evening hotel staff. Church events and young families with sleeping children would love this hotel. Adult night owls....check elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are a preferred location for weddings, reunions, birthdays, meetings and many other special events. We host group blocks of all varieties regularly. Our groups are typically very pleased by their experience at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center. We always strive to exceed the expectation.

I would like to start by apologizing that your personal experience with us did not meet all of your expectations. We do take it very seriously when our guests are disturbed by individuals or groups of individuals staying at our hotel. While I realize you were attending a wedding and wanted to continue on with your celebration, we would hope that you would understand our responsibility to all of our patrons to enjoy their stay, including quieting others as needed. You mentioned that your group had one floor to themselves; however, there were many other guests on that same floor, including guests above and below your rooms that were not a part of your group. We received an extremely high volume of complaints from hotel guests after 1am. The reception ended at 1am and we were still receiving noise complaints on your group at 3am while our staff had made several reasonable attempts to quiet your group. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered; however, we have a responsibility to all of our guests to enforce our quiet time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, WI
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here. Our room was very clean and a good size ! Some of the hallways did have a smokey smell to them. Pool area was really nice. The Hot breakfast buffet was really good. It's about a 5 minute drive to the Mississippi river museum and other Port attractions. There are also several restaurants close by. If you are staying in Dubuque, this is a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tina G, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your response regarding your stay at our hotel. It sounds like you had an enjoyable stay with the opportunity to try out the hot breakfast buffet! Also, we have taken note regarding your comment about the smokey smell in the hallways. We have very few smoking rooms left; however, the smoke smell still seems to travel down the hallways. We are trying to find different venting options to help that. Thanks for commenting and we hope we can accommodate you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 3100 Dodge Street, Highway 20 W, Dubuque, IA 52003-5203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dubuque
#3 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#4 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently remodeled hotel in Dubuque, Iowa offers stylish accommodations and a deluxe hot breakfast complimentary 7 days a week. Escape to the picturesque Best Western PLUS Dubuque Hotel and experience friendly customer service to make any stay a memorable one. Champps Americana Sports Bar and Restaurant conveniently located right on site. Centrally located in Dubuque, the hotel offers a quiet, peaceful atmosphere and beautiful manicured landscaping. Hotel guests will be a short drive from the Mississippi River and Port of Dubuque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Best Western Plus Dubuque Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Dubuque
Dubuque Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Dubuque Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.