We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bed & breakfast on Dubuque bluffs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hancock House B and B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubuque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hancock House B and B
Save
You added Hancock House B and B to your Saves list
1105 Grove Terrace, Dubuque, IA 52001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Dubuque B&B and Inns
Coralville, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful bed & breakfast on Dubuque bluffs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Beautiful, clean, and comfortable rooms with excellent service and friendly hospitality. Near the Mississippi River and a short drive from a unique shopping experience in Galena. Would definitely return and highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
52
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I chose this location after searching all over the internet. The reviews were fantastic so I decided to go ahead and book and i'm glad I did! We were celebrating a late Valentines Day gift and early Anniversary gift, turns out we'd also be celebrating an engagement on the last night! It was our first time staying at a B&B, and it was a great introduction! The rooms were each so unique and clean, the breakfasts were fantastic, and their porch over looking the area was well put to use! Thank you for a fantastic stay! We are already talking about going back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mazomanie,wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here overnight while our son played hockey at the Mystique Ice rink. What a beautiful home and very friendly gracious hosts. Wonderful breakfast. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon Hills
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My wife picked this place on the internet. We're glad we stayed. There is a great view from the Hancock House of Dubuque and the river. The couple running the Hancock House couldn't have been more hospitable. The breakfasts were great. The room was very nice and comfortable. I would highly recommend this B&B when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our road trip down the Mississippi River. This house was one of the most beautiful we saw on our whole trip through the states. We didn't get off to a great start as we stuffed up our drive times and arrived much later than expected. The place was a little difficult to find but we called Chuck and Susan and they kindly waited for us to arrive.The room was great. We stayed in Mr Hancock's room and it was huge; plenty of space for all our luggage and the bed was very comfortable and big. I have never slept under a doona (or duvet as I believe its called in USA) as fluffy as the one they had there. The bathroom was fine, well stocked and clean and the water pressure on the shower worked fine (something I was worried about being in an older houses). The room and house was very clean and the view from our room was beautiful. It was very humid but we had air conditioning in the room which we were very thankful for. The next morning our homemade breakfast was delicious, we had more than enough to eat and drink, and we met another guest which was great. In fact we chatted all morning and it was nearly lunchtime before we knew it. We really enjoyed our stay here and sincerely hope we can come back one day (fingers crossed!)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in one of their suites and we absolutely loved our stay. Chuck and Sue are phenomenal hosts and were very gracious and helpful. Their breakfasts were unique and very tasty. The bed in our room was so comfortable, we wanted to take it home with us! Chuck and Sue plan on moving out of state sometime, so we will be sad to see them go, but we hope that the next owners will be just as fantastic innkeepers as the Huntleys are! We look forward to a return visit and trying out some of the other unique rooms.

Room Tip: The views are great in almost all rooms. The double whirlpools are a must have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

This B and B is charming, with a great view out over the town of Dubuque. The Library was perfect for my mother, who has trouble climbing stairs, and she found antique children's books on the shelves. This room has a jacuzzi tub as well. My husband and I stayed in Mr. Hancock's room, which has a nice, deep clawfoot tub and a bay window view with chairs and a table for contemplating the town and river beyond. The flowers on the grounds are pretty, and the wide and welcoming front porch has wicker furniture, where the guests meet and chat. The hosts were very friendly, and the breakfast next morning was at a long and well-appointed dining table, where all the guests ate delicious homemade pancakes and three kinds of syrup! This hotel is for sale, and I hope it will maintain its excellence with whoever the new owners turn out to be. They will have big shoes to fill.

Room Tip: Great view: Mr. Hancock's room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hancock House B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock House B and B

Address: 1105 Grove Terrace, Dubuque, IA 52001
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hancock House B And B Dubuque, Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hancock House B and B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.