We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A layover in Dubuque” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Dubuque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Dubuque to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Dubuque
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3434 Dodge St, Dubuque, IA 52003   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Chippewa Falls
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A layover in Dubuque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We travel through Dubuque frequently and usually stay at the Hampton Inn. It's conveniently located outside downtown and on a major highway. You can get to any place in a few minutes. The staff is always very helpful and friendly. The rooms are nice and you have all the amenities you would expect.Breakfast was a good way to start the day. If you're interested in dinner out, I'd go to a couple of places downtown. Both I. May Eatery and Pepper Sprout are wonderful.
pepper sprout

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    78
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
115
97
18
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Stopped in Labor Day evening.
Got a good price from a very helpful man at the front desk.
The room was nice and beds comfortable.
The free breakfast was way above average.
Besides, Dubuque is an interesting Mississippi River city and is worthy of a visit.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor not far from the pool and it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

The Hampton Inn of Dubuque, Iowa, was a great experience. It's located off Dodge Street, one of the main roads through the city. The rooms were clean and fairly large. Having the small concession area and the guest laundry were also convenient. Dave, the front desk attendant, was very knowledgeable regarding the local area, polite, and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I booked this hotel for one night after reading the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. I was looking for a quick weekend getaway and knew nothing about Dubuque, Iowa. It turned out to be a fun destination and the hotel was great! When we arrived, I mentioned that I had never been to Dubuque and wasn't familiar with the local attractions. The front desk attendant (Dave - he was awesome!) took the time to tell me all about the top things to do and provided me with a map, directions, and lots of brochures. We enjoyed all of the sites that he recommended. He really went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. Additionally, the price was very reasonable, the room was very clean (I have pretty high standards and was very pleasantly surprised!), and the free breakfast was great. We stayed one night and wanted to stay a second, but the hotel was completely full. I can see why!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay Wi, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Great hotel with very comfortable beds. Close to all the attractions. Great staff. We will be back. Continental breakfast had lots of choices. 55" smart TV in the lobby linked to all the attractions Dubuque has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We were planning a last minute trip to see Galena Il and could not find an hotel for that weekend. We read a review about the Hampton Inn in nearby Dubuque ( just 20 min away) and booked a room there. Great choice. The room was quiet and very clean. Front desk was very helpful. Breakfast was a more than we expected. All around a perfect place to stay. Movies and shopping and restaurants nearby. Price was also inline.

Room Tip: Second floor even numbered rooms will face the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Beach, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Never did I think I would do a get-away weekend to Dubuque, Iowa but the trip proved to be wonderful. The first hotel I booked proved to be inadequate as their wi-fi wasn't working. Something we all need these days so I drove a couple blocks to the Hampton Inn. The man at the desk was the BEST. His name tag merely said Dave but he was truly a font of information about the area and his directions were easy to follow so I saw much of the city without any difficulty. The hotel was also virtually perfect. The room was cool despite the outside temperature and breakfast exceeded the normal Hampton level. If I ever go to Dubuque again, you can rest assure I will stay at the Hampton.

Room Tip: The side facing the back is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dubuque

Address: 3434 Dodge St, Dubuque, IA 52003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dubuque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Dubuque Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Dubuque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.