We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for an overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Dubuque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Dubuque to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Dubuque
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3434 Dodge St, Dubuque, IA 52003   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Perfect for an overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is your typical Hampton Inn. That being said, what is not to love? Everything was very satisfactory. Beds were very comfortable, breakfast was tasty, everything was clean, everyone was very friendly. There are a lot of restaurants and shopping nearby. The location is great because it is just off a main road, but it is away from the bustle of the immediate downtown. If there could be one drawback of my stay, it would be that the desk clerk was slightly more into watching the Olympics than he was into being attentive to guests. But it was the Women's Gymnastics... I can't blame him for that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    88
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
126
107
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chatham,illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I just wanted to let you know what a fantastic Staff and Property you have. I stayed with you this past Weekend,which was my third stay with you. At check-in, Heather, the GSA remembered me from last Year and welcomed us back before I mentioned my name. She also knew that I worked at a Hilton before giving my name. Impressive!
Our entire stay was fantastic. I was there to fish a Bass Tournament on the River and again Heather stepped up to the Plate. She was aware that I would need a power source to plug the Boat into and directed me to a Parking location where I could do that. She also assigned a Room close to it so we could keep an eye on everything.
Check out morning we were leaving at 4:30am. Seeing that we would not be there for Breakfast, your Night Audit Person, sorry I dont recall her name, made Coffee for us which she really did not have to do but it was appreciated! One of your Staff, I assume the Breakfast Hostess, came up to me and asked if we would like a Muffin or Fruit since it was early and the Breakfast had not begun yet. I told her that it was too early for me to eat and that I would get something later. A few minutes later, she approached me with a Bag to take with me.
Like I mentioned before, I work at a Hotel and was greatly impressed with the service and thoughtfulness of your Staff! What a fantastic Group you have.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, MO
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

From the moment I walked in to the lobby, until I checked-out, I almost felt like I was at home. The front desk clerk greeted me warmly and was anxious to tell me that my booked rate was incorrect. She lowered it due to a discount I had failed to request. That was very impressive. The breakfast area was large and roomy, the halls wide and well lighted, and all common areas very clean. My room was very nice and I really liked the new shower enclosure over the old bathtub with a curtain. There is a shopping center right next door and across the street so it was easy to walk over to find something to eat. The fitness room was clean, bright, and a towel was already draped across each piece of equipment so I knew it was ready to use. Everything about this property was welcoming. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights as a home base for motorcycle riding on the Great River Road and NE Iowa. First off, the location is very convienent to Dubuque, shopping and dining. Not far from Galena which was a lot more expensive and had nothing available. I'm glad we had to look elsewhere. This was THE cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in ! The pool area was spotless and the temperature of the pool and hot tub were perfect. The room was immaculate and very well maintained. The staff were wonderful, friendly and very helpful to someone not from the area. If I had to complain about anything it was the powdered eggs for breakfast but those were just one item in a pretty good selection of items. Over all, this was a very clean, quiet, friendly hotel that I highly recommend and would stay at again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed this hotel. Rooms clean and homey. Nice large dining area. We celebrated in the breakfast area. The clerks were very helpful. The tv in the lobby was fun to watch the olympics with my family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Had a great one night stay on a short family trip. Very clean, comfortable room. We requested and got a handicapped room, which was great for my elderly parents. Good continenal breakfast with a few hot items. Hotel stay was a pleasant end to a short trip down the river.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Love Hampton Inns because of their excellent quality and service. This one is no exception. Very friendly and courteous staff. Clean and quiet rooms. Comfy beds prevented my typical hotel room morning backache. Close to a lot of good food and shopping My son is considering UW-Platteville which is 20 miles away. If he opts to go there we will definitely stay at the Dubuque Hampton Inn when we visit.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Dubuque

Address: 3434 Dodge St, Dubuque, IA 52003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#2 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Dubuque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Dubuque Hotel Dubuque
Dubuque Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Dubuque Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Dubuque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.