We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in Dubuque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 Greyhound Park Drive, Dubuque, IA 52001   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midwest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Value in Dubuque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Just returned from a two night stay in Dubuque at the Hilton Garden Inn. We booked through the hotel and got the Stay and Play package which included lodging, dinner at Houlihan's, free drinks, and money to gamble with in the casino. The staff was so friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet. The location, while not technically right in the downtown, was easy to get to and close to all the Dubuque attractions and to the highway which took us to Galena for the day. We have stayed in several hotels in Dubuque, but this has become our favorite. We absolutely will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubuquehilton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
Thank your for the review! The Stay and Play Package that you are referring to is a great value for the hotel stay, Houlihans for dinner, and casino for slot play. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    95
    22
    10
    15
See reviews for
56
122
17
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

My family from several midwest cities met in Dubuque for the weekend. We ate in the attached Houlihan's Restaurant on Friday evening because of the different arrival times. The menu was varied enough to meet the tastes of 15 children and adults. The food and service was excellent. We ate breakfast in the Hotel breakfast area. There was a breakfast buffet that included prepared to order omellets, pancakes and waffles. Breakfast was much better than most motels in this price range.

During the course of the weekend, we often gathered in the very large lobby / meeting area. There were many comfortable sofas and chairs out of the main traffic flow. The area included a fireplace which made it seem more like a resort.

The rooms were of sufficient size for several kids to gather in to play with the Wii that we had brought with us. There were connecting rooms which was nice. The rooms, like the entire facility were clean and well kept. The hotel looked like it was brand new, but is actually has been in existence for over 5 years.

There is an indoor walkway to the Mystique casino. We saw many people walking back and forth from the hotel to the casino. The hotel advertised live popular entertainment that was in the casino. We did not take advantage of the casino

The children spent one afternoon in the pool. It was clean with plenty of towels and chairs for supervising adults. The area included a hot tub which we did not take advantage of.

Some of the adults used the fitness center on Sunday morning. It had the requisite tred mills and bikes and again like the entire hotel, was very clean.

The entire staff from check in clerks to housekeeping to restaurant staff were pleasant and helpful when needed.

There was a hockey tournament in town and the hotel had many 9-13 year old boys staying. We never had any issues with noise or inability to use the facility.

We took advantage of the business center to do some web browsing and printing out of directions. Worked well.

Overall, a very clean hotel with employees who cared about customer service. The facility was a perfect place for families with kids from 1-20 to meet for a weekend. With a pool, restaurant and casino attached it met the needs of our family visiting Dubuque.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubuquehilton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review!
The Hilton Garden Inn is perfect for lounging in the very open, large lobby.
I am also glad you enjoyed Houlihans restaurant and bar! With the Mystique Ice Arena so close we aim to have a large range of menu items for all age groups.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

I stayed on Wednesday the 23rd and thoroughly enjoyed it. Under one roof is a clean, modern inn complete with a business center, pool, workout room, Houlihans restaurant and Mystique casino. Talk about plenty to do ...

If you are in the tri-state area do yourself a favor and stay at the HGI! The GM, Ken Haugen, will ensure you enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubuquehilton, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, March 3, 2011
Thank you for the review! I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and used our business center, pool, ect. I will let the Housekeeping Department know of their superb work in keeping the Hilton Garden Inn in top shape! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Close to great entertainment, shopping and attractions
Great staff

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I always Stay at the Hilton Garden When we come to town, Every one Is so nice and helpful. Never had a bad experence.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
Thank-you for your comments regarding our hotel! We apprieciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Ken Haugen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

The Hilton Garden Inn in Dubuque, IA, is one of the best hotels I have ever had the opportunity to stay at. The hotel was very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The staff was welcoming and willing to do what ever they could to make my stay there the best it could be. I would recommend this hotel to everyone who appreciates great service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
Wow! Thank-you for the kind words! I will share them with my staff and we certainly look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Ken Haugen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Green, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

My family and I stayed at The Hilton Garden Inn in Dubuque IA. This hotel was a great choice to stay at. The hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly and greeted us every time we walked past the front desk. Our kids played in the pool area for hours.

The hotel is right next to a casino and the Mississippi River. There are walking trails leading from the hotel all along the river. I can't wait to go back this summer with my husband to walk the trails and visit the casino for a show.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHaugen1, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
Thank-you for your review of our hotel. We strive each and everyday to provide service and an outstanding product for our guests. We look forward to seeing you soon, if you need any help with our future booking, please call me personally!

Thanks again,

Ken Haugen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown

Address: 1801 Greyhound Park Drive, Dubuque, IA 52001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#3 Business Hotel in Dubuque
#5 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown Hotel Dubuque
Hilton Dubuque
Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Dubuque Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.