We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of your way customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper Sprout

Pepper Sprout
378 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6944
563-556-2167
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 174 Restaurants in Dubuque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Out of your way customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was visiting Dubuque for the first time training for a new job and searched Yelp for the best place to hang out - I was able to easily walk to Pepper Sprout from my hotel in downtown Dubuque and was greeted by a cheerful bartender Russell - the menu is quite beautiful and very seasonal with local produce and great quotes to remind yourself to slow down and enjoy ~ I have odd food allergies and the chef came and spoke with me and created a wonderful meal that I could eat and not worry about - I started with a watermelon caprese that was perfect for a hot summer evening - and then a pasta dish with roasted veggies and shrimp. The joint getting hopping a little later and you can meet many locals who in true Midwestern style are very friendly - I met the local book shop keeper, the chamber of commerce president an American Trust loan officer etc... if I was moving there I had a great new circle of friends to hang out with and a beautiful place to meet new people and have great food! A must if you are in Dubuque

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    20
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dickeyville, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fun place, tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

2nd time for me at the Pepper Sprout and as good as the 1st time. Employees are courteous, efficient and know their customers and the menu. Weekday evening and the place was FUN. A good mixture of ages and laughs galore. Bartender was very helpful in suggesting a beer to my liking. Ate light but the Duck Napolean was outstanding. Great appetizers by the way.
Haven't gotten deep into the menu yet but it is a guarantee. After looking at the meals served and then tasting, it is obvious the kitchen staff love their work and keep serving works of art. Thanks to the Pepper Sprout

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Md
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best kept Secret on Main Street .... look for it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had six diners at this lovely restaurant, two weeks ago. Although on Main Street, it was not easy to find; so remember it is close to the Julian Hotel. The waiter was perfect, in every respect! Our food was delicious and presented with artistry. Rhubarb pie was a real treat, as the grand finale. Dubuque is a beautiful and active Iowa river town that nobody should miss visiting. The architecture, four colleges/ universities, and art venues give this town of 65-80k an unexpected charm and excitement that should be explored. Top off the visit with a tremendous meal at Pepper Sprout.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Julien (AWESOME!) and ate here for dinner. It was the Summer Menu and the food was excellent. My wife had the Asian glazed salmon with seasonal vegetables, which were excellent. Unfortunately, they were out of the asparagus, which she really wanted. I had the beef tenderloin, which melted in my mouth, with spinach and cheddar mashed potatoes and the seasonal vegetables. Excellent! The meals came with salad and bread. The bread was tasty, very fresh and warm.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pepper Sprout Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Second trip to the Pepper Sprout, last time was fall. The menu changes seasonally, and my Wife & I both agreed it was better in the fall, ( great use of pumpkin, etc...) The baked brie appetizer seemed different from the fall when we dined last (again- use of in seasonal products?) This trip I had the ribs special, while tasty, it was nothing spectacular. What I like about the PS is it's unique entree choices, I thought it missed the mark for me this time. I'll be back though, still a cool venue (great 70's rock playing ever so softly in the back ground) great wine selections. It's a bit spendy, but worth it if you like to try new things.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepper Sprout also viewed

 

Been to Pepper Sprout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepper Sprout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.