We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not spectacular!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Lake Cave

Crystal Lake Cave
Highway 52, Dubuque, IA 5203
563-556-6451
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 21 Attractions in Dubuque
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
Attraction details
Waterloo, Indiana
Top Contributor
443 reviews 443 reviews
275 attraction reviews
Reviews in 231 cities Reviews in 231 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Nice but not spectacular!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Great place to beat the heat but don't over expect. A small cave that kids will like but grown up's not so much. This cave has some pretty tight area's so you'll have to duck a little and make yourself small but it's not that bad. Overall it's average but if it's super hot outside than inside this cave is a cool place to be!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    16
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great family visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here for the first time today. We had a great tour guide and I was pleased my kids, 9 & 11, were very interested through the entire tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“An spendy reprieve from the heat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a smallish cave about 3/4ths of a mile of cavern with stalactites and stalagmites (sp?) The price per adult being 12$ it was a little more than i thought reasoable for the 30 minute tour but this was truly the only place we found in the Dubuque area that was able to cope with the terrible heat wave going on. Many of the formations have names and are of some interest to the armchair geologist. We did see one bat in the cave and it seemed content just to hang from the ceiling and look at us. The gift shop had reasonable prices for souvineers and our 3 year old found some rocks that he enjoyed. Overall I don't think that this is worth the price of admission (like most tourist traps) but if you do this once it's not so bad and if it's blazing hot outside it's a nice way to cool off.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A good place to come on a hot day, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have been to this cave before and there are some cool cave formations, however the tour guide, Al, could have been better. He didn't sound very enthusiastic about his job. I wish we had the cashier as the tour guide instead (he was friendly and very helpful). Al pointed to the various cave formations, such as the cave flowers, flowstone, soda straws etc but we didn't get the information on how the cave was discovered. He could have made it better by explaining the cave discovery first, then go over more history. Al, read your script, but tell it to customers in your own way so that its interesting.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Cool cave!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

The cave is a nice attraction to visit while in Dubuque. My tour group had a dozen people plus our tour guide and another fellow he was training.

We spent about 45 minutes walking through the cave, stopping every now and then to hear some history and facts. The only thing I did not like (which has been mentioned in other reviews) is that the tour guide has the flashlight. So he will point at something, talk about it and then pass the flashlight back. I think they need to invest in a few more flashlights so that the visitors do not have to keep passing the one flashlight back and forth. I used the flashlight on my cell phone quite a bit so that helped out a bit.

It is cool down there but you really do not need a jacket. I would recommend you wear old gym shoes (no flip flops). The floor of the cave is wet and muddy and their are puddles in quite a few places so your shoes do end up slightly wet and muddy.

The gift shop had a lot of nice things and the staff was friendly.

Overall a good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crystal Lake Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Lake Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.