We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Family Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark

Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark
Dubuque, IA
866-690-4006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 21 Attractions in Dubuque
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
Attraction details
Waterloo, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thanksgiving Family Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was our 3rd time staying at this Resort. It has a little of something for everyone and is proximity to almost everything. The view is great, there's a great restaurant inside an nightlife for the grownups is very close. What more could anyone ask for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    15
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice stay for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is very clean and well appointed. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The kids loved the waterpark and the arcade. The fact that Tony Roma's is part of the facility is a big plus. That alone has brought us back for more hotel stays and we will return often in the future. This is the perfect short getaway for families in the winter.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
227 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
608 helpful votes 608 helpful votes
“Good enough for kids and pre-teens.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

PROS: convenient for hotel guests; there are arcades right outside the waterpark but still within the hotel; attractions geared towards children up to pre-teens and their parents; spa, very small lazy river; 6 hoops in the basketball pool; 2 slides plus a 3rd one that uses a tube; ample seating; comfortable temperature;

CONS: rusted components of the metal parts for the different structures, especially in the 2 storey play area for the kids;

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortonville, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We came for a weekend to spend in Dubuque. Close to everything, we walked right out onto the Riverwalk. Rooms were clean and had everything we needed. Had a view of the Mississippi River.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We originally planned one night in Dubuque, but there was enough to see that we signed on for a 2nd night at the Grand Harbor. It was a great value at this time of year. Others must think so, too, because we had to give up our king bed room on Friday night for 2 doubles due to reservations. The rooms are clean and fresh with great views! The concierge and check-in staff are very friendly and helpful. Parking is convenient. Two elevators make your stay easy. There is a Tony Roma's on the 2nd floor and Diamond Joe casino and the Mississippi River Museum are right across the parking lot.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark also viewed

 

Been to Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Harbor Resort and Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.