We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adobos Mexican Grill

Adobos Mexican Grill
756 Main St, Dubuque, IA 52001-6820
563-556-4407
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 161 Restaurants in Dubuque
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
“Best Mexican Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The food here is absolutely amazing! The prices are great especially compared to how good the food is! The service was very nice! Needless to say my boyfriend and I will not be dining at any other Mexican restaurants in Dubuque from now on! In conclusion I highly recommend stopping at Adobos next time you find yourself craving some good Mexican in Dubuque!

~Shelly

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Only Mexican anywhere near Dubuque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Adobos has fantastic Mexican food. Original menu, fresh salsa's with great tacos. Everything on the menu is delicious. All of the other so-called Mexican restaurants in town are horrible. Dubuque is lucky to have Adobos!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platteville, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in the Tri-States”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Pretty much whatever item you order at Adobo's is going to be among the best you've ever tasted in your life. From the multiple choices of delicious salsas and taqueria-style tacos to the amazing salmon plate and tilapia tacos, everything is wonderful. They have great seafood enchiladas, as well, although neither they nor the tilapia tacos are on the menu (just ask for them). Among the dishes I've tried here that were the best I've ever tasted are the enchiladas mole, enchiladas Maria (verde--get the chicken), tilapia tacos, tacos de carnitas, and anything with their chipotle, brown tomatillo, or diablo sauce. The Baja Burrito (also not on the menu) is also incredible as well as it's cousin, the 3-cheese burrito, which IS on the menu. Prices are reasonable. Servers are wonderful too. Keep in mind that it's a small, owner-operated business, so if there is a crowd, you may have to wait a bit. Usually they are not that busy, but they deserve to be. Definitely the best Mexican food in the Tri-State region and also better than any I've had in Madison or Milwaukee.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very plain inside, but there was huge party there and we waited almost an hour for our meals (2 kids, 2 adults). That was hard. They did bring the kids meals out sooner (basic quesadillas). But, our food was delicious, so it was worth the wait.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food - ok service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

The service wasn't great here but the food was reasonable for the price. They usually have good lunch specials too. If you work downtown Dubuque you should try it out.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adobos Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Adobos Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adobos Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.