We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tight slots - 90.5% Payout” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Jo Casino

Diamond Jo Casino
301 Bell Street, Dubuque, IA 52001
563.690.4800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 21 Attractions in Dubuque
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dubuque, Iowa is overflowing with things to do and see. Try your luck in Dubuque's state-of-the-art casino, Diamond Jo, or enjoy all the sights, sounds and tastes of the city. No matter your particular taste, Dubuque has it!
Palisade, MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tight slots - 90.5% Payout”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We travel to Dubuque 2-4 times a year. We've been going to the Diamond Jo since it was actually a boat that floated up and down the Mississippi and always enjoyed it as form of entertainment. The boat doesn't float anymore and as entertainment it's just become a desperate & depressing place. But worse is the payout has been steadily going down over the years. I remember when I thought 94% was a poor payout. This last visit the payout was 90.5%. We don't gamble at all in MN because the Casinos here have such a low payout percentage; Dubuque is getting to be the same. Clearly there are financial or management difficulties because once upon a time you could always find a cheerful Employee willing to help, not so much this last time. We didn't eat at any of the restaurants like we normally do because frankly, we just weren't having fun gambling and thus didn't stay long at all. We like the sounds of winning...even if we're not the ones racking up the wins. In the past we would have gambled some, eaten a meal and perhaps caught a show at The Mississippi Moon Bar. What happened to the Diamond Jo?

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback from your past visit at the Diamond Jo Casino. We apologize that your experience with us was unsatisfactory. We would like to thank you for your comments in regards to our slots at our casino. This helps us understand our guests more. Please know that your comments will be forward to the appropriate department. We are happy to hear that you have visited the Diamond Jo many times. If you would like to speak further of your experience with us, please feel free to contact us at your convenience; we would be happy to discuss your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    55
    33
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice Casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We also enjoyed Diamond Jo's when it was a boat. However, we did have fun in the new Diamond Jo Casino and thought the employees were nice. We did win at the tables but lost at the slots. All in all this is a nice clean casino with a great steak house and plenty of gaming options. Only drawback is there is no hotel attached to it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“always have and always will”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Loved the casino when it was a boat. They built a white elaphant and you're paying for it. Now that Boyde Gaming owns it I can tell you, if you thought it was awful before, you have no idea how bad it can be owned by Boyde Gaming.

the atmosphere was always snotty. Horrible customer service. Horrible employees very rude, esp at cash cage. Slots are horrible must be a case of changing computer chips to rip you worse than ever, but after meeting the person in charge of "gaming commission" greased palms must still be the thing with letting a casino rob nice farmers & their family & friends.

Don't bother to start your car, the gas you spend to get there adds to your certain loss.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Customer Service at Diamond Jo Casino, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding the atmosphere, customer service, and slots. We must apologize that your experience with us was unsatisfactory; this is not in line with our usual high service standards. Your comments have been forward to Casino Management. In the future, we encourage you to bring this to our attention immediately so we can rectify the situation promptly. Again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wrong photo.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Diamond Jo in the photo is just a few miles south of Minnesota on I-35. THe one in Dubuque is worth a visit even if you do not gamble.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, IL.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

They have spent a lot of money in making this a very nice Casino. They have slots and board games and a fairly nice buffet although I have eaten at better ones. This Casino is clean and has very friendly staff.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Jo Casino also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Jo Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Jo Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.