We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crust

Crust
299 Main Street, Dubuque, IA
563.582.6889
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 178 Restaurants in Dubuque
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Strange meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Not wanting too much to eat, I ordered a goats cheese salad and was surprised when it was served on a pizza base.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    68
    32
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waverly IA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We always look for restaurants that serve unique & exceptional pizza, not the stamped out chain variety. We were not disappointed! Excellent!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Crust is one of my local favorites. I really like to make my own pasta from their selections of great pasta, meats and sauces

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“In historical downtown Dubuque”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A little bit of Italy, with some international dishes.
Offer gluten, vegetarian and vegan menu.
Friday evening, very busy, no reservation unless with a large group. 30 minutes wait and you have to stay in the bar area if you want to sit.
Carry NO non alcoholic beer ( any ).
Our waiter was pleasant.
My "home mussels" ( do they have mussels bed in the Mississippi ?)had exactly 10 mussels.
The broth was excellent. There is no bread available, however you are given a basket of little balls of pizza dough .
Because of the very high ceilings ( might have been a wharehouse ?) the noise level is very very high.

Prices are okay.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Desert and drinks.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had desert here since we were staying across the street at the Julien Dubuque Hotel. There were 7 of us and everyone loved their desert. We arrived at 8:55, even though they were closing at 9, the host and waitress were both polite and pleasant. The flourless chocolate torte is to die for!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crust also viewed

 

Been to Crust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.