We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crust

Crust
299 Main Street, Dubuque, IA
563.582.6889
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 172 Restaurants in Dubuque
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We ended up at Crust after a day of travel. It was the perfect place to meet and renew friendships for our reunion and restore our energy. Such a welcoming atmosphere! Our group occupied a large table and were well attended by an excellent wait staff. We enjoyed the pizza and other Italian menu items. A nice dining experience and close to our hotel.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    65
    28
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to Crust. It was kid friendly as they allowed them to color on the paper table clothes. The interior is very nice and the bar is a perfect place for a drink. We all ordered pizza. The kids nothing ordered pepperonni but neither finished a slice and both our kids are big eaters. I ordered chicken, spinach and peppers and my wife ordered a specialty pizza both of which came with an excessive amount of cheese. Overall, the next time we visit Dubuque, we will not eat here. I did see a wrap with chips that looked very tasty; wish I would have ordered it.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Pasta Dinner I Ever Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at this restaurant. I can honestly say that I had the best pasta dinner I have ever had. They had a pretty good wine list, the service was excellent and the food was just delicious.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Crumbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Went two nights in a row and was good both times. It didnt cost much but the wine was expensive though there were many choices. The servings were large so they supplied the two of us for lunch the next day. Service was attentive and polite.

Ps. If your an artist this place has paper tablecloths and crayons, something that always pleases me.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First time to Crust...may return, but will try something else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We visited Crust for a date night. Atmosphere was nice. Noise level was quiet (restaurant wasn't very busy). Wine was a generous pour at a resonable price. Complimentary fried dough balls were a pleasant surprise; however, once they cooled they weren't as good. We didn't ask, but the waitress offered to refresh the dough balls with warm ones while we waited for pizza to cook.

We ordered Bruschetta. It was okay, but not great. Wasn't very flavorful and the bread reminded us of melba toast. It was very golden and crunchy and bit burnt around the edges.

Our main course was a pizza. Crust was descent. Flavor of toppings was average. Barely any sauce (and we both like sauce on our pizza).

We may return to try the sandwiches, but probably not another pizza or the bruschetta.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crust also viewed

 

Been to Crust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crust, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.