We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2090 South Park Court, Dubuque, IA 52003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

On our recent road trip to explore Iowa we checked the map and decided Dubuque would be a good central location to hang our hat for a few nights. We wanted to explore the Mississippi River settlements, check out a state park and enjoy the wonderful scenery and shops. We got to town on a Friday around dinner time and started checking hotels. The Econolodge was the only hotel that had rooms available. What a pleasant and welcome surprise! It was clean, inexpensive and comfy! It appears to be renovated. The owner/operator was very helpful and accommodating suggesting good restaurants, etc. Good breakfast in the morning. We would not hesitate to stay again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dakor, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your time to review our property,
we are appreciate your help and support.we are working round the clock for making this property
nice and nice. your review will help and support

Thank you

manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
21
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for one Saturday night. There were some college homecomings and the Galena Country Fair in the area, and this was the only hotel in Dubuque that wasn't sold out weeks in advance (and it was sold out at least a week in advance). We had never stayed in an Econolodge, and frankly did not have high expectations, as our image of the chain was one of lower class. But our expectations were exceeded, as it turned out to be a decent stay. It's located several miles south of Dubuque, almost a rural area. But downtown Dubuque is only 5-10 minutes away, and easily accessible. We had a King Jacuzzi Room (only one available when we made reservation), and it was fine. This was by no means an upscale room, but it was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was fairly spartan, but fine for our needs. In general, the hotel is clean, the staff friendly, and it appears to be well managed. The free breakfast was average, but once again met our needs. It was a seller's market this weekend, and the rate at all of the area hotels was unusually high, so I can't say that $150 for an Econolodge room was a good value, but under normal circumstances the rate is probably reasonable and a decent value for what you get. Overall, a good choice if you're looking for a decent stay for a good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dakor, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking your important time to review your stay.

Thank you for your support

manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, WI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I pass through Dubuque a lot for business. Rarely have to overnight but did last night. Stopped here. I thought it was a very nice value. Clean, looks recently updated. Owner operated, which is always a plus. Nice variety at the free breakfast for lodging at this price. I'll stay here again when I need to overnight in Dubuque and don't want to bust the bank.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dakor, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your time to review your recent stay with us and we will continues build your trust in future.

Thank you
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwell City, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

There were 8 couples that went on this ride and we were all on motorcycles. When we arrived, the owner was there and was very polite and friendly and full of information about things around and places to see and good spots to eat. The hotel offered a free shuttle to the casino which some took up on friday and others on saturday. The rooms were clean and there was always coffee and juice plus they offered free popcorn and cookies at night. The breakfast included biscuits and gravy, hard boiled eggs, cereal toast, yougart and other breakfast items. It was almost like being home. I will say that with such a large group, we would meet in the lobby or in the breakfast area and everyone was kind and considerate to let us do so. Would reccommend anyone stay there and access to the property was great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dakor, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your time to review your recent stay with us

Thank you

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwell City, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a very good stay at Econo Lodge in Dubuque. We were on a bike ride with 8 couples and got reservations right away when we called. We talked to the owner and he was so friendly and helpful for us. When we arrived, they were also friendly and immediately brought out the popcorn and cookies. Since there were so many of us, they let us congregate in the breakfast room in the lobby both nights. They were more than kind and accommodating to us. The rooms were very comfy and clean and the beds were comfortable.. A very good stay!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dakor, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your time to post your recent stay review with us


Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Hotel and room were in very good condition. Paint looked fresh, room very clean. Room was decent sized as was the bathroom. Location is south of town but just off intersection of Hwy 151 and 52 so it is easily accessed. I am a meat and eggs for breakfast kind of person, and they had no meat and hard boiled eggs only. So I rated them down for that. However, they had a waffle iron (and hot syrup) and a decent selection of rolls and donuts, so if you like that kind of breakfast the Econo Lodge would be a great deal for you. (I'd actually give them 3-1/2 stars, but not 4.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dakor, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for your time to review your recent stay and share with other people this is very important for us and for our staff. this good value award for our service.

Thank you
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stay in Dubuque several times a year. This will be our new "regular" property. Our normal hotels were either booked or the rates were very high for a one night stay. We had a double queen room and paid $79 on a Friday night in the height of summer.

The room was a nice size with a microwave, coffee pot and refrigerator and most importantly, was very clean. There was some wear in the room (wallpaper border coming off in some areas and the furniture looked older), but nothing major or anything that would keep us from being comfortable. I had read from other reviews that there was not an elevator, so I called ahead and they put us on the main floor as two people travelling with us have trouble climbing stairs.

Outside, there's a gas grill and charcoal grill along with picnic tables. We have discussed how next time we'll save money by bringing dinner with us. The breakfast was very nice. Waffles, biscuits and gravy, donuts, cereal, etc. They had the breakfast available until 10, which is very nice.

Most importantly, the owners of this hotel work the front desk and breakfast area. They are extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful. They make this property memorable. There were four in our room and he called to make sure we were comfortable and see if we wanted the family room that was still open. We were fine, but later when I mentioned we might be interested for future trips, he showed me the family room with three queen beds. We will definitely take book that room in the future.

We will stay here again and recommend it to other travelers who are looking for a good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dakor, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your time to review our property.
and share your experience with other people

Thank you
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque

Address: 2090 South Park Court, Dubuque, IA 52003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heartland Hotel Dubuque South
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Dubuque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.