We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vinny Vanucchi's

Vinny Vanucchi's
180 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001
563.588.9600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vinny Vanucchi's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 178 Restaurants in Dubuque
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: West 2nd
Transit: Cab Service.
Bellevue, IA
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food is nothing special. Very blah. Service was a little slow. Much better Italian restaurants to be found.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    61
    30
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I had the baked dish...very good. The other 3 in our party liked their meal too. The family style salad was very fresh and good. Garlic bread very good...maybe bit to much butter (for me). Price wS fair and service was great. Would def. Go back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“An Italian treasure in downtown Dubuque, IA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a nice restaurant to have dinner in while visiting Dubuque, IA. We asked one of the gentleman working at the front desk at the Hotel Julien if he had any recommendations and he stated that we might enjoy VInny Vanucchi's down the street. Thank you for the tip!

We walked down the street and were seated promptly upon entering. We lucked out and made it before a small "rush" and were seated in the front by the window. I had Rocky's Raviolis withe the marina sauce and it was spectacular! You could taste and smell the fresh herbs in sauce. My wife had the special which was pasta with a spinach cream sauce and it was very good as well. Dinner comes with a nice salad for the table to share as well as some very good garlic bread. We decided to have the chocolate cake that is shown in the picture below and it brought our great meal to an end.

Will definitely return here in the future and recommend Vinny's to others. The only negative that I noticed was that we visited on a Sunday evening and there was basically one waitress to serve multiple tables. She did a good job but one could tell they could have had another wait staff on to help out. We did not go downstairs or visit the bar on the other side of the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We went to the restaurant for our 30th Anniversary. The food was very good and the atmosphere was very nice. The garlic bread was very good but dripping in butter-that's probably what makes it so good:) Service was wonderful and prices were reasonable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Very good menu selection, good beer and wine choices, and everything I have tried there is great! Nicely restored old storefront buildings house this quaint restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vinny Vanucchi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinny Vanucchi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.