We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caroline's Restaurant

Caroline's Restaurant
200 Main Street, Hotel Julien, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942
563.556.4200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 170 restaurants in Dubuque
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Although a bit pricey, I was able to find some meals for under $15. The food is always excellent, as is the service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Christine T,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent visit to Caroline's Restaurant.

Glad that you enjoyed the value, food, and service. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Team Caroline's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    143
    58
    26
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Post-holiday Funk?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the lovely Hotel Julien right after Christmas. Since it was frigidly cold while we were there, we decided to try Caroline's for breakfast since it was just downstairs from our hotel. I am skeptical of most hotel restaurants as I usually find they just don't try as hard; however, Caroline's special French Toast sounded really good. When we arrived, the hostess ignored us for a bit, and then seated us right across from a family, even though the entire rest of the dining room was open. We asked to be re-seated, and she accommodated. The wait staff that morning was all quite young and seemed nice, if not a little green in their service. I promptly ordered the French toast and was prompted told there were out (at 9:00?). Disappointed, I made due with "Belgium" waffles, and my husband ordered an egg fry. My dish was fine. Adequate. My husband's dish arrived with a rich slathering of what appeared to be CheeseWhiz. Disappointing. I wish we had braved the cold and found a fresher, more local alternative for breakfast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Amdanbo,

Thank you for your recent comments on dining for breakfast at Caroline's. Our sincere apology that the experience did not exceed your expectations; rest assured this was an isolated incident, and not reflective of the thousands that have dined at Caroline's.

Our Banand French Toast is one of the most popular menu items served. Each week, the number of servings anticipated to be served is calculated, and then baked. This effort is to ensure the freshest selection is offered to our dining guests.

Your comments will be discussed with our entire service and culinary team to ensure as much as possible that this situation does not repeat itself.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Team Caroline's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Delicious food here! I had some chicken, and it was great. I've also, on a different occasion, had eggs Benedict - wow!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear S_Arthur_Johnson,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding dining at Caroline's. It is a pleasure to read of your enjopyment of the food and service. The Eggs Benedict is always a popular selection.

See you soon.

Team Caroline's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Chicago, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Can't handle Sunday crowds.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We came for a late breakfast on Sunday Dec 29. We ordered off the menu, though I asked for pancakes instead of potatoes with my eggs. It took FOREVER to get our food, most of which just wasn't hot at all.

When passing through the restaurant to use the rest rooms, it was clear why. There were probably a dozen tables of eight or nine people, plus the "party area" was full with a shower.

The waiter apologized and gave us a coupon for a free appetizer with our next dinner, but since we live in Chicago, well.... I did appreciate his candor and apology, however.

The food quality is a little better than ok.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear kiemjp,

Thank you for commenting on your recent breakfast at Caroline's Restaurant. Our apology for the length of wait for your food order; we work at only reserving larger dining parties at certain times.

During the holidays, we stagger even greater times between reservations on the larger groups because someone may show up late, or it is often families getting together, so they may tend to linger enjoying their time together.

Breakfast at Caroline's is truly a treat that hundreds of guests enjoy; we are truly sorry that we failed to deliver a terrific experience for you. We have met to discuss the challenges that happened during the holiday season to improve for next year. Hotel Julien and Caroline's is a destination for so many when they are "home for the holidays". Your feedback will be used to strengthen what we do to ensure that this level of service does not repeat itself.

Sincerely,

Team Caroline's Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New year's Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent New Year's Eve at the Julien for dinner and dancing. Had a great five course meal with wine, then dancing more snacks and champagne. Great way to bring in 2014.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Pat,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your celebrating New Year's Eve at Hotel Julien Dubuque! There have been many guests sharing positive comments as yours about the full evening of dining, dancing, balloons, and champagne.

Have a safe and enjoyable 2014.

Sincerely,

Team Banquet-Hotel Julien Dubuque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Caroline's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caroline's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.