We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They served us breakfast room service at Hotel Julien” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caroline's Restaurant

Caroline's Restaurant
200 Main Street, Hotel Julien, Dubuque, IA 52001-6942
563.556.4200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 161 Restaurants in Dubuque
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Platteville, WI
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“They served us breakfast room service at Hotel Julien”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This restaurant is in the ground level of Hotel Julien. We had breakfast delivered to our room. We ordered French toast made with thick slices of banana bread complete with carmelized bananas and hot maple syrup. To die for! We have also had appetizers and lunch. We enjoy this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Mr. and Mrs. 5,

Thank you for sharing of your room service experience at Hotel Julien Dubuque while enjoying selections from Caroline's Restaurant.

The Banana Bread French Toast is one of the most popular menu offerings.

We hope to see you again soon!

Team Caroline's Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    86
    35
    18
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were seated at a table 6 inches from another couple when there were lots of seats available...but Sherry cheerfully moved us to a lovely booth. My husband had the lobster Mac and Cheese. He declared it truly yummy! I had bouillabaise. It too was wonderful. Husband wished for a little something more in the salad... namely radishes. We will come again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear alcat3,

Great to read of your dining experience at Caroline's Restaurant inside Hotel Julien Dubuque. Sherry will be very appreciative of your recognizing of her service while enjoying the ever popular Seafood Mac and Cheese.

We hope to see you again soon! Come any day of the week!

Sincerely,

Team Caroline's Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A taste of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I had the Mainstreet Platter and it was a taste of heaven. I don't remember the last time that I had a breakfast entree that tasted so good!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear NicoleGM,

Thank you very kindly for your review of breakfast at Caroline's Restaurant. Glad to read of your enjoyment of the MainStreet Breakfast!

Hurrry back for lunch or dinner!

Sincerely,

Team Caroline's Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Night in Dubuque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Read the reviews and decided to try out Caroline's on a Sunday night. Service (Anna) was superb, appetizers and food was outstanding and the wine was great too. We had the Seafood Mac n Cheese and the Prime Rib, both were just great! We were looking for a little higher quality night out, and Caroline's was perfect for this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Ziggyzz,

Great to read of your dining experience at Caroline's Restaurant inside Hotel Julien Dubuque. Anna will be very appreciative of your recognizing of her service while enjoying the ever popular Seafood Mac and Cheese.

We hope to see you again soon! Come any day of the week!

Sincerely,

Team Caroline's Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“THE Breakfast Spot in Dubuque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Every time we have had breakfast at Caroline's the food has been excellent as has the attention paid by our server, Jody. They make their Eggs Benedict to perfection. Their Make-Your-Own Omelet is another tasty meal. Everything offered on their menu is worth consideration. We have become regulars; it is so good. The atmosphere is elegant yet relaxing. Clearly a cut above the normal breakfast dining places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HJDMananger, General Manager at Caroline's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear George H,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your breakfast experiences at Caroline's Restaurant. It is great to read of your enjoying the Eggs Benedict or the Build Your Own Omelette, a couple of the top sellers on the menu.

Jody will be more than grateful for your recognizing her service. Your kind words are appreciated.

Please join us for lunch and dinner too!

Hope to see you again soon!

Team Caroline's Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Caroline's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caroline's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.