We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2080 Holiday Drive, Dubuque, IA 52002   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Worthington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel three times for two weeks each time, and every time the staff have taken great care of me and my colleagues.
The staff are friendly and helpful (Brandy and Shawn come immediately to mind). The hotel is well-maintained. The only critique I could make is that they are a bit heavy-handed with the chlorine in the hot tub.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Again, on behalf of the entire staff, I extend the sincerest of congratulations to you on your accomplishments over the past two weeks in Dubuque! You have all been such a wonderful group of people to accommodate and we value your business and loyalty to our hotel. We will miss you very much and do look forward to your return. Congratulations!
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    35
    18
    10
    4
See reviews for
41
34
2
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Council Bluffs, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in early December 7th and 8th for a 2 night reward stay. Asked upon arrival for a room upgrade with my Platinum status and was told that since I was staying on a reward night that the hotel policy doesn't allow for a room upgrade EVEN for Platinum. After being a Platinum for 2 years, this was the first that I heard of this.

I didn't feel like arguing after a 6 hour drive and just assumed that the hotel was probably full but later on in the evening their was only about 6 cars in the parking lot.

If you are a Platinum and want to be treated as such while in Dubuque, I recommend the Holiday Inn Downtown, where I have had no trouble getting upgraded plus there is a Managers Reception most nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I want you to know we do upgrade our Platinum Priority Club Members according to availability. We have reviewed your response and are checking the process of how these reservations are handled. Platinum Priority Club Members deserve special benefits and if an upgrade is available it should be granted upon arrival, reward night or not! Please be assured of this for your next stay in Dubuque. I hope to regain your trust in us as I feel badly that this procedure was not presented properly during your last stay.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Yay and thank you! My husband said this is a miracle after 400 miles....we are exhausted after packing up our Michigan Home and moving to Kansas City...Thank you Holiday Inn Express and Rachel! I just read that reviews must be 200hot plus characters...so I am just adding filler. Rachel came and fixed our air conditioner/ heater too.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
You are welcome! Thank you for sharing your gratitude towards Rachel and the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque, IA. We are happy we could accommodate you during this very important transition in your life and hope you are enjoying your new home in Kansas City. Look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a visit to Galena, Il. We were very impressed with the friendly staff (Rachel & Brandy, as well as GM Lynette Montes). Our room, hallways and breakfast area were very clean. We would stay at this hotel again on future visits!

Room Tip: Request top floor room on the entrance side (away from the highway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
So happy to hear you were impressed with our customer service and that you will be staying at the Dubuque Holiday Inn Express & Suites again! It was a pleasure accommodating you and we look forward to hosting you upon your return.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I won this hotel for $50 a night on priceline. We stayed for 2 nights in October. The hotel is located about 1 1/2 miles norht of highway 20 in Dubuque.
We arrived about 1:45p.m. and was told our room would not be ready for 30 minutes or so. A little disappointing but 3 p.m. is there posted check in time so really can't complain. When we did check in we were given a room on the third floor. (there is an elevator). The room had 2 queen beds. There was a dorm size refrigerator on the floor with a microwave on top of it - not the most convenient but it works (would have been better if they were on a short table).
The room seemed clean. There was a one cup at a time coffee maker in the bathroom.
The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast which was quite good. Scrambled eggs, sausauge, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, muffins, toast, bagels, hot cinnamon rolls, juice and coffee.
There is a small swimming pool and a nice size whirlpool along with an exercise room,and a room with a computer. We used the whirlpool twice. The first time there were 4 kids in the pool area with their mothers. The kids were throwing dolls, and some pool toys around - they ended up hitting us in the whirlpool - they also jumped in the whirlpool - splashing us in the face. Their mothers didn't say anything to them. This is not a reflection on the hotel - just wanted to let you know a lot of families stay there with kids as there were a lot of kids at the breakfast as well.
Check out was quick. Overall, this is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for acknowledging our guaranteed check in time is 3pm. Although we do try our best to accommodate each of our guests special requests, check out time is not until 12 noon which may make it difficult if the room type reserved has not departed. Please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival for future stays, if you did not do so for your previous reservation, and we can make note to try to have a room ready by the time you’ve requested.
I would also like to take this time to thank you for your suggestion regarding the short table for our mini fridge and microwaves. All of our standard rooms now have a mini fridge and microwave and we want you to know we are in the process of investigating equipping them with cabinetry.
Glad you enjoyed the breakfast while you were here as well. It is nice to know the variety of items we provide make an impression on our guests.
We understand the issues you described regarding the pool and take the pool policies very seriously. Please contact us immediately if this happens again as we would make sure these policies are enforced.
Again, thank for your business and we look forward to your return to the Dubuque, IA Holiday Inn Express & Suites.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This has become our regular place to stay when visiting family in Dubuque. Rooms and facilities and very clean and nicely furnished. Staff is outstanding. Brandi and Amanda at the front desk deserve special recognition. We had an issue with IHG reservations desk and Brandi was a star trying to sort it out. While I'm an IHG Platinum, I've become an infrequent guest because of their lousy customer service for Priority Rewards and reservations desk. But always make an exception because this property is terrific.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
First of all, as a Platinum member, you deserve special recognition! Thank you for “always” making an exception to stay with us at the Dubuque Holiday Inn Express & Suites. I would also like to apologize on behalf of the Priority Rewards and reservations desk for any subpar customer service experienced. You are very important to us and we want to ensure that you receive the recognition you deserve. Thank you again for choosing our hotel when you are in the Dubuque area visiting.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here in October because there were no hotels available in Galena. The room with the king bed and pull out couch had a lot of space, two flat screen tvs, and was very clean. The free breakfast was excellent. The pool is nice, fitness area is small but adequate. We ate at Sushi Thai which is in a little strip mall just next door and it was suprisingly good with a gret atmosphere and good service and prices. In the same strip mall,don't miss Yo Go Ice Cream place where you can build your own bowl of ice cream with many different flavors and toppings to choose from. Field of Dreams is worth checking out and about 30 minutes away. PIck up a brochure in the business center of the hotel. All in all, our stay was great.

Room Tip: The Kennedy Mall is close by with a huge book store and movie theater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Glad your stay was “great”! We appreciate your comments about the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Dubuque and the surrounding area. We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Lynette Montes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West

Address: 2080 Holiday Drive, Dubuque, IA 52002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dubuque
#5 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West. Dubuque s newest hotel located in the West End district. Our hotel is just minutes away from Dubuque s downtown featuring major attractions such as The National Mississippi River Museum, The Diamond Jo Casino, Grand River Center, Five Flags Civic Center, Star Brewery, and Dubuque Greyhound Park and Casino (Mystique). If you are traveling to Dubuque to enjoy one of our many fun filled events such as America s River Festival, Catfish Festival, Riverfest, Summerfest, and Dragonboat Festival, you ll find the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West s convenient location perfect for shopping and dining. While visiting Dubuque, you may want to take a short drive to Galena IL for additional shopping and sight seeing General Grant s Home and other historical sights. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West is designed for business travelers featuring High Speed Internet, 24 hour business center, large work desks in every room, and meeting room for groups up to 50 people. We welcome guest visiting McKesson, A.Y. McDonald, McGraw Hill, and Quebecor, Eagle Window and Doors, and Kendall Publishing and John Deere. In addition, our proximity to Loras College, University of Dubuque, and Clark College makes us the ideal location during your campus visit.Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dubuque West! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dubuque-West
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dubuque-West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.