We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 Associates Drive, Dubuque, IA 52003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Wellsburg, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

My daughter and I stayed here 3 days while visiting Dubuque. All staff was pleasant and helpful. One bed, upon check-in, was not to our satisfaction, but was quickly changed without hesitation. No one bothered us by calls or knocking so we could rest as much as we wanted. The indoor pool was lovely. When we checked out, I complimented the staff and said it was wonderful to stay there. The Clerk had the correct response "That is how it is suppose to be" and she was right!! I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACErickson, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write such a warm and positive review of our hotel for our future guests. We hope to see you again, if your travels bring you this way.


Sincerely,

Andrea Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    47
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
31
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010 via mobile

Clean rooms. Nice hotel next to Applebees and Carlos O'Kelley's. Girl checking me in could have been less rude though.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACErickson, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
Thank you for choosing the Country Inn & Suites for your recent stay in Dubuque. We strive on a daily basis to provide excellant customer service to each and every guest, so I apologize for the poor attitude of our desk staff. If your travels bring you to the are again, please consider us for your overnight lodging.

Andrea Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We loved this hotel. We have three youngs boys and one room was large enough for all five of us. The breakfast was very good. The hotel is super clean.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

I stayed in one of the suites with an expansive living area. I was there with family and we enjoyed the additional space in the room. The beds were somewhat comfortable, but the hotel is conveniently located near several restaurants and bars. It is also one of the closest hotels to Sundown if you are looking to go skiing.

The breakfast is good the first day, but can get very tiresome if you stay more than two nights. Unlike other similar hotel types, the breakfast doesn't really rotate except they do offer waffles and packets of almonds on Sunday mornings.

My cousins always enjoy the pool and the breakfast area can be great for catching up with family & friends when not being used.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

The hotel is a good value but was lacking in certain areas. The breakfast was free but terrible. Far too many people in a too small space and the quality and variety was poor. Biscuits and gravy in a crock pot one day and the rest was waffles but there was only one waffle iron for the entire hotel. We ultimately decided to eat out instead of taking the free meal. Lastly, the walls and ceiling are paper thin.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

This was a one night stay.

Room was clean and spacious.
Decent breakfast, and complimentary High speed internet.

Friendly staff.

Not a whole lot around the area, mostly chain restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

I stayed here one night with my wife. The hotel was perfect for us. We don't like real big places and this was the right size.

The desk staff here was very friendly, both at check in at check out. They simply went out of their way to make sure that we had all the information we needed to make our stay lovely.

Thank you.

  • Liked — The friendly staff!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque

Address: 1315 Associates Drive, Dubuque, IA 52003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#7 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Dubuque
Dubuque Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.