We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worked well for our family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 Associates Drive, Dubuque, IA 52003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“worked well for our family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We booked this for 2 nights during our family trip to Dubuque. We needed a place with a pool for the kids and this fit the bill. The hotel offers a discount on price if you book 2 weeks in advance (make sure to check and make sure this is still valid!) through their website, so we got our rooms for around $77/night. The rooms weren't anything fancy, the beds were so-so, the shower worked fine and each room had a mini fridge and coffee pot. It would be nice if there was a sink outside the bathroom to use while the bathroom was occupied, but not a deal breaker. If you are a smoker, there are smoking rooms available here. Breakfast was great! Plenty of choices, and each day had a different "hot" dish. The first day we had breakfast burritos, the second day was scrambled eggs, sausage patties, and potatoes. There was cold cereal, oatmeal, plenty of bread items and bagels, yogurts, and your traditional waffle maker. There were 8 of us total and we were all satisfied with the food. The downside of our stay was the broken hot tub; however the kids still loved the pool and it was open until 10:30 pm for the kids and midnight for the adults. There was a fitness room available as well. The hotel is located on the west end of town, close to plenty of restaurants and shopping (all the major department stores plus a mall). The room was quiet, we didn't hear any noise from the hall or the street. I have to recommend the Carlos O'Kelleys next door for a great meal; there is also an Applebees within walking distance as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our hot breakfast and your kids got a chance to have fun in our pool.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    47
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
31
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Sioux City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hotel is very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful about tourist activities. The room was clean and the pool and hot tub were very nice. With discounts, the price ran $100 with taxes. The breakfast was satisfactory. The hotel is reasonably close to downtown Dubuque. So, we enjoyed our stay with them with no complaints.

Room Tip: Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, October 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here as a result of a Hotwire deal. When I saw that this hotel has smoking rooms, I was questioning whether we should just eat the cost and book somewhere else - we were traveling with our young kids, and all of us are sensitive to cigarette smoke. However, we stayed on the second floor and had no smoke smell, so that was a pleasant surprise!

The staff was very friendly, and our kids enjoyed the pool. I don't think it would be ideal if the hotel was fully booked - it's on the small side - but with our family and just one other couple there, it was perfect.

The rooms and corridors are somewhat dated, but ours was clean. The breakfast was extensive, and what we'd expect from a free breakfast - egg beaters and nuked sausage patties - but there was also oatmeal, yogurt, and fruit available.

Overall, I don't think I'd pay full price for this hotel, but for the price we paid, it was a good value!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write some nice comments . We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have stayed at this facility twice for our daughter's annual soccer tournament. Each time I have found the staff to be friendly, kind and very helpful. Unfortunately, the facility itself has seen better days. Carpeting in the halls desperately needed vacuuming (as well as the main stairwell), the bathrooms suffered from a musty smell as a result of no ventilation (for the life of me, I'll never understand why some hotels do not have exhaust fans). Bedding needs to be replaced, particularly extra blankets for the pull out couch in the "suite", which was full of holes and completely inadequate for a person to use. Bathroom floors and tub areas are deteriorating and wall paper is peeling. This facility desperately needs an overhaul to match the incredible service from the staff.
I also agree with another reviewer that the breakfast is "okay" and not well balanced in terms of healthy offerings.
The other disappointment, was the pool. Not the pool itself mind you, but the fact that we were overrun with baseball players who were running and diving into the pool from OUTSIDE of the hotel. Made for a miserable experience for my kids. This is not a reflection of the facility but of generally rude and inconsiderate guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are valued and I am glad to inform you that we will be renovating in 2015. We are glad to hear that our staff did a nice job and will pass along your comments to them. They all work very hard and enjoy hearing positive feedback.

We look forward to serving you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukee, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Not overwhelmingly great, but a nice hotel. Room was a little dated but clean. Staff was super friendly. Only let down was breakfast - definitely fair plus. Not many options if you're even remotely trying to eat healthy or low-calorie. I would stay there again, but wouldn't necessarily be "excited" to do so.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We just wanted to thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay and we are pleased you enjoyed the staff, they all work very hard to ensure each guest gets the best possible service.
However, we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the “be our guest breakfast” Your comments are valued and we are possibly thinking about adding fresh grapefruit and egg white omelets to our list of healthy items that already includes: Raisin bran, vanilla yogurt with fresh berries, granola , hard boiled eggs, oat meal with raisins & cranberry’s , Whole wheat bagels & bread, oranges , apples and bananas.
We look forward to serving you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We chose this hotel because it was cheaper than staying in Galena. We were not disappointed. The hotel is very nice, the room was quiet, clean, and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly. We had a standard room (two queen beds) which was quite large. We had no trouble with the smell of smoke because all the smoking rooms are on the third floor. The furniture showed a bit of age, but everything worked perfectly. The hotel is located near a major road, and two restaurants (a Mexican restaurant and an Applebees) are located next door. The free breakfast includes the usual fare.

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, ask for a room "as far away from smoking rooms as possible."
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We truly appreciate the nice comments about your stay and look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minooka, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My family stayed at this hotel while looking for a weekend trip to the Galena area. Since the trip was a bit last minute, pricing at most hotels in the area were outrageous. However, pricing at the Country Inn & Suites in Dubuque was still moderate and realistic for what we were looking for.

We ended up with a King studio giving us ample room for the three of us. The accommodations were clean, and overall comfortable, though the mini fridge did not work, a slight annoyance as our daughter is still young enough to take a morning and nightly bottle of milk. Of course we did not find that out until we went to give her a morning bottle only to find the milk at room temperature. On the other hand, the front desk was plenty accommodating and provided us with milk that morning and evening, which was a definite plus.

Overall, our stay was about on par with what I expected. Nothing stands out as outstanding, though nothing was very disappointing either. Given the same circumstances, I would most likely stay here in the future again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the refrigerator issue with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque

Address: 1315 Associates Drive, Dubuque, IA 52003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dubuque
#7 Business Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Dubuque
Dubuque Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.