We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No issues, good price, clean, good breakfast, great pool hours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 Associates Drive, Dubuque, IA 52003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Dubuque
Ankeny, Iowa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“No issues, good price, clean, good breakfast, great pool hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Very good stay. Front desk was friendly, room was clean, and free breakfast was very good. Once of the nicest things about this hotel was the pool hours; open until midnight for adults!! I get tired of the hotels that close the pool on grown adults at 9/10pm.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    55
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
46
37
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bayside
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This hotel was great. The front desk person was very nice upon check in. She gave us some items that we had forgetten at home, no issues. Very very clean, beds were nice. Pool was nice, kids enjoyed themselves. Not huge but good size. The pool room was not overally hot which was nice. The only negative thing was some of the paint was peeling on the pool wall, but no real problem. Room was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have no complaints whatsoever. I feel that those who complain are just nit picking. The room was comfortable, clean and modern. It also had a microwave and refrigerator free of charge! The beds were comfortable and the breakfast ample. I also liked the idea of a free newspaper and they have free boosk for both adults and children that you can take with you to read and return at another Country Inn if desired. As a teacher, I appreciate the hotel emphasizing reading.
I enjoyed the free coffee in the lobby and my husband enjoyed the fresh and delicious cookies.
The parking lot was fine and spacious. I will go back to stay. Also, it is a great location for the Mississippi River, a half hour away from Plattsville Wisconsin where the mining museum is located ()which is very interesting I might add) and close to Galena. I will be back.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are near the quaint lobby and breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were lucky the windows opened as we were booked into a smoking room and they couldn't move us to non-smoking. They kindly offered and did spray the room a couple of times. Breakfast was good with variety. We were four women traveling back and forth from Galena. I don't know if they weren't trained on location of highlights of the area or whether they choose not to be. We wasted time and were upset about that issue. Pool was OK.

Room Tip: If someone is purchasing your room, be sure to remind them if you want non-smoking. The smoking flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Our stay was just "ok" at this Country Inn in Dubuque. The bed was soft and comfortable. The room was large and quiet. A bit outdated decor in the room.
The parking lot is in need of repair. The Jacuzzi tub was relaxing. The knob kept falling off in the Jacuzzi and you could see dirt/grim where the knob once was. The pool is open after 10pm for adults only, but a little disappointed that is was closed for maintenance while we were there. Our room was serviced by house keeping on our second day/night stay. The complimentary hygiene supplies were not replenished, and seemed like it was irritating for the front desk hostess when I asked for shampoo. Would not stay in the King Jacuzzi suite again, and just get a regular room. We have stayed at many "Club Carlson's" and this was our least favorite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a two room suite and was greeted professionally and friendly as usual.

We did use the laundry facilities here and the clerk was more than accommodating to us. The washer does not require quarters but the dryer did and I had to dry each load twice.

Pool was on the small side but nice that it has table and chairs. Jacuzzi was clean and hot.

Our room was a bit outdated in décor. And I do like to see a white bedspread. But everything was super clean and the mattress was very comfortable. We had a smoking room but it did not smell.

We could hear the doors open/close in the hallway, but our bedroom was in back so that was not a problem.

Our living area was set up so that the loveseat actually faced the tv- a bonus.

Had micro/fridge and sink area.

Carpets could use a little cleaning, just a stain nothing that stuck to our feet or anything like that. Windows opened and air worked well at night.

Bathroom was clean and the water pressure was pretty good.

Breakfast was one of the best I have had at a country inn by far. It is small, but the layout moves you right along and they did have a conference room opened that was attached and that gave plenty of seating.

The same clerk that checked us in was hustling and I mean hustling along with another co-worker to keep everything full and replenished. Donuts were fresh and they had a good variety, not just powdered- but jelly and custards among others. There was sausage and all the regular fixins. This is probably the only time I left with a full stomach from a hotel breakfast.

Overall I would stay again.

The entrance and hotel are easy to miss. When you leave you can only go one way and we kept missing our turns and had to make a couple of U turns- so pay attention when you get close. Our GPS didn't do the trick.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Clean facilities, nice room. A refrigerator was included in the room. Breakfast each morning included a warm entrée, not just bagels, toast, etc. One day was French Toast with ham slices, biscuits and gravy with sausage patties and the last morning scrambled eggs with chopped up ham to make breakfast burritos. Staff was pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque

Address: 1315 Associates Drive, Dubuque, IA 52003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Dubuque
Dubuque Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.