We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1315 Associates Drive, Dubuque, IA 52003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Dubuque
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Very nice place to stay with being close to downtown yet out side of the busy area of downtown. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Only complaint was that the beds are starting to show some wear and could use an update soon. The hotel was very clean and room was spacious. The free cookies available Friday night was an added bonus too bad they were out by the time we got in Saturday evening around 8:30. Has two good restaurants with in waliking distnace: Applebees and Carlos O'Kellys. Carlos even offered delivery to the lobby of the hotel per the info. card in the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    36
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
25
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

I wanted to compliment the staff at the Country Inn. When we checked in Shannon was VERY helpful. I have not experienced that kind of service when traveling out of state before. The entire stay was wonderful hanks to Shannon's help the first night.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie City, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Dubuque Country Inn. Our room was super clean, as was the pool. We always enjoy the continental breakfasts that Country Inns provide, but the breakfast area and spread here was particularly nice. The staff was extremely friendly. A special shout-out to Sara, who was especially friendly and accommodating. We plan to return to Dubuque soon and we know where we will be staying. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Front-desk staffer was very helpful in obtaining down-free pillows when requested, though I wish this was a choice when booking the room. Nice, comfortable and clean room. TVs haven't been updated from CRT screens. Didn't do breakfast at the hotel - headed over to Galena for brunch.
Location is within 30 minutes of Galena if you're looking for a more affordable place to stay when exploring Dubuque and Galena.

Room Tip: A stand-by upgrade to a whirlpool suite was very affordable when using the Carlson Club site to book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

No complaints at all from this stay. We played at the casino next door then decided to stay instead of driving home. The clerk was very courteous with our 2 a.m. check-in, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was pretty standard, but on real dishes/glasses/silverware. There were also little to-go breakfast bags in case guests wanted to just get going on their way. My husband slept in, so they let me fix a plate and bring it to our room, then gave us a late check out with no extra charge. Very accommodating hotel, very nice staff. Definitely would recommend this one.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This facility never lets us down - it is always the same: clean, beautiful and very helpful and cheerful employees. The breakfast area is immaculate and the lady that manages it does a super job. You would think it is her own kitchen the way she keeps it well stock, clean and very presentable. I would highly recommend this hotel - we come here every year for a craft show in Galena and always chose this facility, as we always know we will be comfortable and very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea5832500, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive comments concerning your recent stay and our hotel. I will let the staff know how they have affected your stay. We will see you on you next visit to the Dubuque area.

Andrea Erickson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We'd been here before and were wowed..this visit was more disappointing.

Went down for breakfast an hour after they started serving and all the hot foods were depleted. Waited about 10 minutes..nothing was put out, so I made a waffle, bot..no syrup. The woman working was grumpy and really seemed to ahte her job. We asked her if there was more food coming and she said "pretty soon..it takes time, you know"...oops, sorry for bothering you grumpy lady.

The air conditioner in our room made weird noises all night...but otherwsie the room was clean and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea5832500, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for letting us know the concerns you had with our breakfast staff. This is a highly rare occurance. Our breakfast normally get the highest praise from our guests. I apologize for the behavior you encountered during your recent visit. I will take this up with the entire staff . We strive on a daily basis to provide exception service to each of our guests, and I can assure you this matter will be taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque

Address: 1315 Associates Drive, Dubuque, IA 52003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Dubuque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Dubuque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Carlson, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Dubuque
Dubuque Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque Iowa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dubuque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.