We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L.May Eatery

L.May Eatery
1072 Main Street, Dubuque, IA 52001
563.556.0505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
L.May Eatery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 172 Restaurants in Dubuque
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 10th & Main
Description: A new romantic bistro on the historic 1000 block of Main Street in Dubuque IA. L. May Eatery serves fusion cuisine and pizza in Dubuque, Iowa in a romantic candlelit atmosphere. Enjoy our impeccable service table side or at our full bar. We also have an extensive wine list with anything from a quality glass of pinot to a great special occasion reserve bottle.
DeWitt, Iowa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Always Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

L. May never disappoints. From the amazing spin dip to the mouthwatering filet to the fantastic chocolate moose, we had a terrific meal. You can always count on great service as well at L. May.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! And thank you for continually supporting L.May. Cheers, Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    84
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The menu has shrunk, disaponted.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and I visited the place on 8/30/2013. We read reviews on the tripadvisor and also were very intrigued by the menu. Once we were seated we were given a dry and boring version of the menu advertised on the website. We were disappointed. We tried couple of appetizers (three shrimps for about $ 9 and some dip with pita bread. They were both spicy which was not mentioned on the menu. Once we read that the restaurant is recommended on the tripadvisor site we showed the menu they advertised to the waitress and the skinny version of it in the restaurant and we left the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for visiting L.May. We understand that you might have seen our recent menu instead of the current menu at our restaurant, we are sorry for the misunderstanding. We typically offer a new menu each season and we try to offer a menu varied enough to please every pallet. The Fiesta Dip and the Chili Lime Shrimp do have a bit of heat to them, we're sorry if these menu items did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your feedback and please visit our site for our current menu at http://www.lmayeatery.com/menu.html. Thanks again, Lea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wedding dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The wait staff were professional, the food delicious and the venue very accommodating for our wedding party. The menu offered something for everyone in our party.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are so glad we could be a part of your big day! Congratulations. Cheers, Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, innovative food; wonderful service; attractive setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Loved our dinner last night! Between us, we had watermelon brochettes and deviled eggs to start, then duck with a blueberry sauce and eggplant parmesan. Portions on the entree were very generous, indeed the duck could easily have been shared if one of us were not vegetarian. The waitress was extremely knowledgeable and patient, pointing out various gluten-free options as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank your for your review of L.May! We're glad you enjoyed your experience. Cheers, Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Dubuque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a wonderful meal. Everything was delicious from appetizers through dessert. Can't wait to return and introduce more friends to this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMayEatery, Owner at L.May Eatery, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for visiting us while you were in town and yes we hope you stop by again! Thanks, Cheer, Lea (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L.May Eatery also viewed

 

Been to L.May Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L.May Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.